3/8 DC +3.5=50 +4=67 +5=65 +6=67 +7=70 +8=74 +9=88 +10=97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
DC seems to be having a good day.
He is now back in the blue.
Below, is what I had asked this morning in yesterdays condo, just in case it was too late in the day and no one saw it.:
I don't like these yellows after so many days of blue and green.
Could it be that he hasn't totally cleared the bounce from 48 hours ago?
Or could he be having a bounce from the 1 green number yesterday?
It's only been 4 shots at the new dose. Maybe I should increase it to a s1.25 or go back to 1.25 units?
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

yesterdays condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38403
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185

Kinda late, but I'll bump you too! I believe I've read that when a decrease doesn't hold, you should revert to the original dose immediately. But what is "doesn't hold"? Good luck.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185

This is what I was referring to, from the tight regulation guidelines:

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101

Just when the numbers are coming down, I go and give a fur shot.
I don't know how much that will affect tomorrows BG. Not too much I hope.
DC is doing good. He's eating well and still very playful.
I'm still unsure if I should go back to the prior dose or not?
What is considered to be not holding a reduction?
I assume you have to clear a bounce first and now this fur shot comes into play.
Does anyone have any thoughts on this?
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 QUESTION

DC's BG is now 38.
Maybe I shouldn't be considering going back up with the dose.
I guess it's going to be a long night.
I'll feed some MC and test again in a bit.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 QUESTION

Good morning Noreen. For a number in the 30's HC is recommended.
You need to retest 15 minutes from your last test.
Any number in the 30's is an automatic reduction....no increase here. :-D
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 QUESTION

Miriam and Putty said:
Good morning Noreen. For a number in the 30's HC is recommended.
You need to retest 15 minutes from your last test.
Any number in the 30's is an automatic reduction....no increase here. :-D
I was considering going back to the dose he was @ a few days ago because I didn't think he was holding this reduction very well.
Obviously I was wrong. Must have been a bounce or something yesterday night.
The food I gave him was 12%, is that MC or HC.
It's his favorite and I know he'll eat it. He won't always eat the gravy from the higher carb foods.
Does that mean he should have another decrease? He's only been at this new dose for 3 days.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45

You can always add a little Karo to his food if he does not like gravy. You should give him a small amount of food now to get him out of the 40's and retest in 15 minutes.

Are you sure you gave a fur shot because this certainly does not look like one.

You need to reduce when the numbers are in the 30's.
Let's see what other's think about when to do a full .25 reduction or just shave but with such a low number so early in the cycle you may have to do a full reduction.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45

Miriam and Putty said:
You can always add a little Karo to his food if he does not like gravy. You should give him a small amount of food now to get him out of the 40's and retest in 15 minutes.
I just fed him some more MC. He's still licking at the gravy.
I think his ears are sore from all the testing the past few days.
He's starting to hide when he's sees the tester.
Are you sure you gave a fur shot because this certainly does not look like one.
It was definitely a fur shot. I ran out of the short needles and only had the longer ones.
When I started pushing the insulin in DC moved and the needle came out and the insulin was on my hand.
You need to reduce when the numbers are in the 30's.
Let's see what other's think about when to do a full .25 reduction or just shave but with such a low number so early in the cycle you may have to do a full reduction.
The decrease 3 days ago was from 1.25 units to a f1.0 unit.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45

Poor DC...do you have anything to put on his ears for pain?
Putty hides sometimes when he sees me picking up the meter. Once I take out the treats he gives in.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45

Miriam and Putty said:
Poor DC...do you have anything to put on his ears for pain?
Putty hides sometimes when he sees me picking up the meter. Once I take out the treats he gives in.
I have Lidocaine gel, but I don't know if it's safe for cats. And I have Polysporin.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45 +3.5=50

DC is now up to 50.
It took me a while to find him for the last test.
Should I feed again or wait a bit?
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45 +3.5=50

You can give him a tsp of lc or mc to keep him from dropping. Test again in 30 minutes....sorry DC.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45 +3.5=50 +4

DC's numbers are coming back up now. He's at 67.
I think he should be ok for an hour without testing.
I'm going to try to rest for an hour and then I will test again.
Hopefully my internet stays up. It keeps going down.
 
Re: 3/8 DC AMPS=241 +4=185 PMPS=101 +2.5=38 +3=45 +3.5=50 +4

Miriam and Putty said:
Much better to see DC in the 60's. See you in an hour. Have a good rest.
Hopefully he won't have to big of a bounce this time.
I like the 60's much better than the 30's.
 
Re: 3/8 DC +3.5=50 +4=67 +5=65 +6=67 +7=70 +8=74 +9=88 +10=9

I am very sorry for not updating. I tested DC and came to post, but had no internet.
We've been having issues with it the past few days. They actually came out and fixed it this morning.
I am now up and running, hopefully with no more issues.
DC did well through the night or wee hours of the morning.
His numbers gradually went up. It was great to not have him drop again.

here's a recap of the BG for those of you that missed it:
AMPS = 241
+5 = 185
PMPS = 101
+2.5 = 38 Earned another dose reduction
+3 = 45
+3.5 = 50
+4 = 67
+5 = 65
+6 = 67
+7 = 70
+8 = 74
+9 = 88
+10 = 97
 
Re: 3/8 DC +3.5=50 +4=67 +5=65 +6=67 +7=70 +8=74 +9=88 +10=9

Congrats on the dose reduction! Choco just earned one today as well. Numbers look great DC!!! Awesome job Noreen!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top