3/8 Chuck -- 256 evening PS -- 1.0 U

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Active Member
This (210 at mid-day) was the lowest pre-shot I've ever shot, but the drop was nice and he's feeling good...

ETA: He had a pretty good day number-wise...

AMPS 351 -- 1.0U
+4 135
Mid-day PS 210 -- 1.0U
+3 113
+5 71
+6 137
PMPS 256 -- 1.0U

I know in all reality that he'll never go back into remission, so I'm striving to just get good, consistent numbers. I'd be tickled pink (make that green!) if he'd consistently be below 300 pre-shot and in the upper 80-90's mid-cycle...
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck -- 210 mid-day PS -- 1.0 U -- 113 +3; 71 +5

Hi Susan! Sue said I should get to know you, since neither of our cats seems to have read the FD book on how to be a good sugarcat. :lol:

Yeah, my Lucian doesn't seem to understand the concept of 12 hr cycles. @-) I see on Chuck's SS, he runs like my Lucian does, all over the place! With Lucian, it's anywhere from +8-+12. Seems to do a little better with an increase, but I'm still learning PZI after 1yr+ on Lantus and Levemir.

Have you noticed whether Chuck stretches out his cycle a little with a higher dose? I didn't look at your dosing and don't know if you are sticking to 1 dose or using a dose dependent on BG. Guess I should pay more attention. :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck -- 210 mid-day PS -- 1.0 U -- 113 +3; 71 +5

Nope, Mr. Chuck never stretches out a cycle with a higher dose, he just nosedives into the 40's and 50's.

I've tried just about everything -- sticking strictly to a dose, dosing dependent on BG, 2 times a day, 3 times a day, you name it, we've tried it this go round. I tried bumping him up last month; +6 he was at 159, +8 he was at 45, next pre-shot was over 500. So, it's been a struggle to find a dose and schedule that helps him. This one, even though I tried it before, seems to be working this time around. I'm seeing fewer and fewer red numbers and more yellow and blue -- but, I've probably jinxed myself now!!

Chuck did great on Lantus the first go round, 12 hour cycles were great. I was able to get him into remission about 6 weeks after starting Lantus. Was in remission for almost 5 years, and now back on insulin for just over a year. The vet here wasn't sure about Lantus, but that's what I was familiar with and that's what we started with. Then, when that didn't seem to be stabilizing him, we switched to ProZinc. I'd not had any experience with it, and had to unlearn the Lantus protocol, plus my vet just keeps shaking his head and saying I've never seen an 18 year old diabetic cat. He did try to get some help from a feline diabetic specialist at a state university, but, basically, they just keep shaking their heads and saying what do you expect -- he's 18. I point out that he's 5 years older than when he was first diagnosed, but...
 
Well, Lucian will be 16 in June. He was on Lantus for the 1st 7 months and it was a disaster from the getgo. Put him on Levemir and he did great for about 5 months, then the bottom fell out. Switched him to PZI a couple months ago and he's done better than ever, with exception of duration issues. But he has been slowly lengthening his cycles and only has an 8hr cycle every couple days now. Although it seems to be slow going, he is stretching out. I've been letting him lead me. When the numbers say shoot, I shoot. Of course, he has all the experienced people just shaking their heads, cause they don't know what to do with him. :lol:

Nice to know I'm not the only one here having to deal with this. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top