3/8 Chuck 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3;68 +4;71 +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
Niiice!!! I'm planning a smidge increase tomorrow morning, if he doesn't start bouncing today. Trying for 0.15U -- good thing I had LASIK last summer so I don't have to search for reading glasses to find that little dose...
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U

Depending on what happens today you might want to go ahead with the increased dose tonight. That'll give you 5 cycles at the increased dose before you have to go back to work on Monday.

Good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U

I think I'll skip the increased dose tonight, because he's at 207 pre-shot. I'll test in a couple of hours and see where he is. Then, at 3/9 AMBG, I can decide to bump or not.
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U

If you have a dropping number, then I wouldn't want to do the increase either. Too bad, you can't exactly tell if the PMPS is a dropping number or not, but I know that feeling. Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow ;-)
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2

Oops, he's headed down, down, down! +2 is 84. I gave him about 1/2 tsp high carb food because I don't want him to drop much more or he'll be bouncing again.

Edited to add: I wasn't planning on testing him again tonight, but will do so at +4 to see where he is...

Is there any chance at all that these higher numbers are caused by something other than diabetes? I noticed a couple of weeks ago that he had a "scab" kind of thing on his front leg. Last night when I got home from work, there was a tuft of fur with the scab thing attached to it on the bed -- he's basically been on a downward trend since then... Could an "injury" have caused the higher numbers? He didn't limp or give any indication he was having a problem with that leg...
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2

I think I would get a +3, since he is diving so fast. Or even a +2.5. Good thinking on the HC. You want to be sure that helped put on the brakes before he gets too low.
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

Just did a +3 of 70, gave a little more HC FF. Guess I'll be up all night again, testing...
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

at least until he starts surfing or bouncing. That's not TOO fast a drop from +2 to +3 so at least he is slowing down some.

Chuck has a special flair, doesn't he? :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

Libby and Lucy, sent you a PM... One more test tonight to see if he's climbing? At +4? I'm so tired this week, I really need to get some good (uninterruped)sleep... Have kenneled the baby brat for the night, so he won't be chasing Chuck or eating his food, and the middle brat will go in the bedroom with the baby brat soon.
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

you can feed a bigger amount of high carb food if you want to try to bump him up enough to sleep.
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

it's not ideal to abort the cycle by feeding more HC, ideally you would see if you can get him to surf on lower carb. However, if you think you're not going to be able to stay up, then getting his numbers up before you crash would be best. Does that make sense?

With Lucy I basically never slept when she was dropping, but with Jazzy I learned that sometimes I just couldn't trust myself to stay awake. It's fine as long as you make sure he's safe first.
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

I'll get the +4 in about 1/2 hour. I do free feed, so I'll put more food down for him (the middle brat currently has his face buried in Chuck's food under my computer desk -- go figure, same food in the kitchen, but he has to eat the food here)...
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

sounds good.

We know Chuck is capable of some big bounces, and that he could even be going from red to green and back to red again in one cycle. A night like tonight is a great opportunity to get the data to see what he is really doing between cycles on those days and nights when you can't monitor.

That data can help us get to the bottom of why he is hitting those black numbers. Too much insulin? Too little insulin? The best way to know is to test and find out for sure. Then we can know what to do with his dose. It beats guessing.
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

+4 is 68. Not confident enough that he'll be rising soon to go to bed yet. I'll wait until +6 for the next test -- that should be nadir for him. I'll then have to test at +7 or +8 to be sure he's rising... Then, shoot, as long as I'm up all night, I might as well test at +10 or +11. Guess I really don't need to sleep... While I LOVE seeing the greens, I'm not comfortable with his reaction to them since he was over just 200 4 hours ago.
 
Re: 3/8 Chuck AMPS 398; 0.1U; 207 PMPS; 0.1U; 84 +2; 70 +3

+4 is 68. Not confident enough that he'll be rising soon to go to bed yet. I'll wait until +6 for the next test -- that should be nadir for him. I'll then have to test at +7 or +8 to be sure he's rising... Then, shoot, as long as I'm up all night, I might as well test at +10 or +11. Guess I really don't need to sleep... While I LOVE seeing the greens, I'm not comfortable with his reaction to them since he was over just 200 4 hours ago.
 
He's starting up a little, 71 @ +6 which is about nadir for him. If I don't sleep through alarms, I'll get a couple more tests in tonight. Dose increase is still questionable at this time, will see what he does AMBG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top