3/8 bailey uk amps 349 can i increase dose at pm

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there Anna ~O) :cool:

Below is from the TR protocol
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
You are on the 8th cycle at 1.5u right now I think you can safely take the dose up to 1.75u tonight.

I hope everything else checked out OK at the vets today.
I'm glad you were able to artfully dodge her dosing recommendation ;-)
Slow and steady is the best approach to increases.
 
Hi Anna :-D
Not sure if we met yet, but I've been watching your work with Bailey and I am so impressed! What an awesome bean you are :-D It's so great that you are starting to see some 'Bailey' behaviors again :-D
Good luck on the dosecrease and have a fabulous day!
 
thank you guys.will up the dose tonight to 1.75 and start the process again!
hes home from vets abutmiserable but shes checking for pancreatitis etc.ive checked today for ketones again and all ok.
I just smiled,nodded when she said up it to 4 ........................and then got in the car and thought "no chance" ;-)
im off out tonight to the theatre.out tonight for the first time in 4 weeks.my friends coming to sit with bailey fr a few hours so im not worrying but she wont be able to do tests.i will do one at pretest,a couple throught the night and then tomorrow I can do lots as im off.lets see where we are then!
I WILL get my boy right come hell or high water!!
 
If Baileys numbers are dropping tonight (I would advise getting a +11 to compare to tonight's pre shot test), or if her pre shot is below 200, I might hold off on the dose increase until tomorrow morning, if she will not be tested in the first few hours tonight.

If she's in the 300s or more and you're only going to be out until say +3 or so, then I think the dose increase will be fine as long as you can test a little extra later. I would recommend the +11, the pre shot, a test before you leave, and a test as soon as you walk in the door from your evening out. I hope you have a good time with your friends :cool: .
 
Hello again, Anna!

Hopefully the dosecrease will get Bailey some nicer numbers soon!

Don't worry about your vet "poo-pooing" on us. We've been poo poo'd on by the best (at least they thought so) and when their patient does great (or even goes off the juice completely), we get to watch them eat crow. :lol:

As for us being a bunch of crazy cat ladies on the internet that you don't know, we plead GUILTY!! We're proud to be crazy cat people, and while it's totally understandable that nobody should take all their advice from any one source (which includes only one vet), by joining together with this group of people, you're getting the real life, day after day, year after year benefits of Real Life Experiences...and people here are constantly looking for new research, new idea's and just generally what's "out there" for our diabetic cats.
And the cost of all this advice?? Zero, Zilch, Nada, FREE....although pictures and stories of healthier, happier kitties are always a welcome "paycheck"!!

I really don't understand how vets can be so wrong, so much of the time. They ARE supposed to have some basic medical knowledge and to me, that would mean that even if they didn't keep up to date on the latest treatments, that when it comes to such a powerful hormone as insulin, starting low and working up slowly just seems like that would be a good idea.

Good luck with the dosecrease! You're doing great with Bailey!

Edited to add...It looks like you might have added Bailey's +3 (21.8) on the US chart? It's showing 21.8 (so a GREEN number when it should be 392 and pink) and there's NO number in the World side for +3...or the spreadsheet is just acting wonky

Also, you've got some missing PMPS values as well as the U dose from the last PMPS dose
 
youre right chris.i get that the vets have many an illness to deal with and that diabetes Is a complexed illness but my mums been a nurse and like she said if one of her patients had been started on a new drug she would make sure she read up on everything there is to know about it! wouldn't you think that a vet whos put one of her 'patients' on a drug she knows nothing or not much about would read up on it! it shocks me.ive learnt so much about it over the last 2 weeks and im no vet im just a mamma to bails who loves him lots and wants him to get well again!!!
ive sorted spreadsheet out.it does go abit wonky occasionally.ive done a +11 test as ive got in but hed just eaten half an hour before.meowing,meowing for food.hes not eaten much today after being at the vets so it was good to see he was hungry so I had to feed.thats probably why its a ridiculously high reading.
 
Yup.........you're in GREAT hands here and Vets just like doctors are trains as a broad spectrum in the medical field and that's why we get second and third opinions. Doc's can also be wrong, hence the word 'diagnosis' which at times is their best guess based on their individual experience. Sometimes people who deal first hand in a disease or illness are more knowledgeable then those who spend $$$ in school or have a degree. Not that they are not good Docs or Vets but they may not deal with the specific illness often. My old Vet was like that, admitted being old school.......well, if I followed his old school ways then Davidson would not be here and Harley would be pissed since they are a team. I fired that Vet and the new one is VERY open to learning from me what I have learned HERE............so read and listen with open eyes and teach yourself by making good notes, reading up on this stuff and seeing the results............IMO there is NO SUCH THING AS TOO MUCH TESTING.

Your're doing well and keep it up

Shawna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top