3/8 Alfred AMBG 97, +2 149 - Do we need to Decrease Dose??

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
This is a bit of a tough time for us as we just started hometesting on Monday and both have crazy schedules this week. As you can see, we've skipped several shots with Alfred, and are skipping again this morning b/c I am out of town and Dave will have to be out most of the day and we don't want him going too low. I know we only have a few days of data to work with, but should be decrease the dose? I'm sorry I'm not catching on to all this as quickly as I'd like....I just assume this large fluctuation of numbers isn't what we're aiming for, right?

Dave will be able to go back around lunch and test.
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97 - Do we need to Decrease Dose??

Hi KJ, Alfred's numbers might be all over the map because of the skipped doses. If you see a low PS that you're not comfortable with, you could always try stalling the dose to see if he comes up any before shooting. Consistency is key. I can't give advice on dosing, but if he was my kitty, I'd hold the dose for a few days and collect more data. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97 - Do we need to Decrease Dose??

I think what you're seeing right now is the bouncing affect that happens when a kitty is newly put on insulin. I don't have the answer that you're looking for, and I'm sure that an experienced person will come by to help you. I'd love to have that 97 for my own kitty, Blackie. :lol: You lucky people, you! :lol:

This does get easier with time. Just hang in there. We've been at this almost 3 years now, and it's part of our daily routine now. Sometimes, she'll even jump up onto the table to get her test. Wish she'd do that all the time, though. :lol: Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97 - Do we need to Decrease Dose??

I don't think you have enough data yet, to shoot. If you have time and haven't fed him yet, I would stall and see if he comes up enough that you feel comfortable shooting.
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97 - Do we need to Decrease Dose??

Thank you for your replies, Angela and Courtney and Dyana.

I'm just sorry that our schedules don't allow for more stalling or testing this week. It seems like bad timing for me to be gone when we aren't totally established in a routine yet. But we're doing the best we can, right?
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97 - Do we need to Decrease Dose??

You are doing the best you can. Maybe we can discuss decreasing the dose a little so that you can shoot BID. I have to log off now, but we can maybe discuss this later tonight.
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97, +2 149 - Do we need to Decrease Dose

KJ and Dave

For some reason, I thought the inability to monitor was only going to be a short time and didn't realize it was going to be a week. So I agree with Dyana that we should take the dose down. We'll discuss and be back before
his PM test. Good thing you are in AK! Gives us a little more time. We can make a suggestion and see what you think.
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97, +2 149 - Do we need to Decrease Dose

Hello KJ and Dave. Welcome to the group!

Dyana asked for some experienced eyes on Alfred's spreadsheet. As you've probably read in the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - WHAT IS THE INSULIN DEPOT?, Lantus is a depot drug. One dose *can* affect up to the next three days (6 cycles) of action.

IMHO, the insulin depot from the higher 3u and 2.75u doses have had some influence on the numbers you've seen over the last few days. However, between skipped shots and the depot created from those higher doses... the depot from those higher doses should no longer be at play after today's cycle.

If you were available to monitor closely this week, I'd be inclined to stick with the 1.25u dose. However, given your circumstances, if Alfred were mine I'd drop the dose to 1u BID and continue to get as many spot checks as your schedule allows. If he continues to throw preshot numbers less than around 150 - 180, I would consider dropping the dose to 0.75 unit BID.

At this point, you really haven't had a chance to collect enough data to shoot low preshot numbers safely and with confidence, but as time goes on that will change.

Just my thoughts based on data collected through this morning's AMBG... others may have their own.



PS --- You're doing a great job testing him! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97, +2 149 - Do we need to Decrease Dose

We are so tremendously grateful for your thoughts and for you all sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate timing that we're both having such a crazy schedule this week. I think we will decrease to 1U tonight and just keep to try getting as many tests in as possible. I'll be home next week and can monitor far more closely. Dave and I (and Alfred) thank you! - KJ
 
Re: 3/8 Alfred AMBG 97, +2 149 - Do we need to Decrease Dose

We can see where he goes with the decrease and adjust next week when you are back.

Enjoy your trip!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top