3/7 PERVIS AMPS 101

Status
Not open for further replies.
He is doing so great. 24 hours without insulin and he is 124 this morning. I would skip for now. One thing you could do is "chase" the number. Feed him, wait 2 hours and test. See if he rises enough to shoot (I would wait for something in the 180 range) sometime during the day and then give him a drop. It will throw out your 12/12 schedule but that is pretty well gone for now.

So we consider a cat in remission if they range from 40-120 without insulin for 2 weeks. He is getting close to the start of a countdown. Some people think small frequent meals are a good idea to help support the pancreas so, if you are feeding him just twice daily, you might divide that amount into several small meals.

To give a drop - pull up an amount you know you can measure. Let the insulin put drop by drop and count the number of drops. When you want to dose a drop, pull up that amount and let the drops out, save one.

Looking good!
 
He is doing so great. 24 hours without insulin and he is 124 this morning. I would skip for now. One thing you could do is "chase" the number. Feed him, wait 2 hours and test. See if he rises enough to shoot (I would wait for something in the 180 range) sometime during the day and then give him a drop. It will throw out your 12/12 schedule but that is pretty well gone for now.

So we consider a cat in remission if they range from 40-120 without insulin for 2 weeks. He is getting close to the start of a countdown. Some people think small frequent meals are a good idea to help support the pancreas so, if you are feeding him just twice daily, you might divide that amount into several small meals.

To give a drop - pull up an amount you know you can measure. Let the insulin put drop by drop and count the number of drops. When you want to dose a drop, pull up that amount and let the drops out, save one.

Looking good!
Thanks Sue! I'll test him around 10:30. You're right, his schedule is off anyway. His Lantus is scheduled to be delivered tomorrow.
ADDED: I have been feeding him 3-4 times a day.
 
Up to you, but he looks like he is going in remission (anti jinx) with ProZinc. Do you have to buy the Lantus? Do you have enough ProZinc left to see him through if he just needs drops for the next few weeks?
 
Up to you, but he looks like he is going in remission (anti jinx) with ProZinc. Do you have to buy the Lantus? Do you have enough ProZinc left to see him through if he just needs drops for the next few weeks?
The Lantus is bought and paid for, just awaiting delivery. He has about 1/3 of a vial of ProZinc left, so I think we're good on that end.

His numbers might drop a bit more too. I have been crushing some 1-2 small higher-carb treats :( on top of his food because he's not fond of the FF food. I'm going to get some Fortiflora, Also, his post-testing treat is a tiny bit of higher-carb food (Natural Balance Chicken and Liver Pate). So, if I can get him off the bad treats that would be a plus.

:bighug:
 
You might go over to the Lantus forum and read some of the stickies. The tricky part is that it is dosed completely different than ProZinc. It will be a new protocol to learn - the dose is based solely on the nadir, not the preshot. I am not sure what kind of dose they would suggest you start with, as he is getting drops of ProZinc. You might post over there and see if they would recommend you switch when he is in such low numbers and at such low doses.
 
You might go over to the Lantus forum and read some of the stickies. The tricky part is that it is dosed completely different than ProZinc. It will be a new protocol to learn - the dose is based solely on the nadir, not the preshot. I am not sure what kind of dose they would suggest you start with, as he is getting drops of ProZinc. You might post over there and see if they would recommend you switch when he is in such low numbers and at such low doses.
I was reading the stickies last night. I'll pop on over there and post. Thanks!
 
I just measured N. Pervis and he's at a 53 with no shot today. I gave him a few treats to bring him up a bit and he's due to eat soon, but I haven't fed him yet. Gotta run out and buy some more test strips though. I've got to run to do some work in the office.

Let me know if there's something you think I should do with that low reading.

Thanks!
 
53 is a normal number if there is no insulin present. He is bringing himself down which means it is very likely that his pancreas has started to work. Sometimes it is a start and stop and start again thing, but regardless, he is looking very good.
 
53 is a normal number if there is no insulin present. He is bringing himself down which means it is very likely that his pancreas has started to work. Sometimes it is a start and stop and start again thing, but regardless, he is looking very good.
Woo–hoo to that. N. Pervis is tired of all that glucose testing, so he had a little chat with his pancreas and told it to get back to work. :cat:
 
Yes, it is! Did you notice he's not getting any insulin either? I've only been testing him 1x/day since his BG seems to have leveled out. I didn't mean to go silent, but thought everyone had plenty of other threads to respond to on the message board :cat:. I'm hoping he can stay at those levels to get to a remission status.
I did! I did notice that!! Keep testing... So happy for you:joyful:
 
Looking really good! So our definition of remission is 14 days between 40 -120 (on a human meter) without insulin. Think he is entering the countdown phase. :smuggrin:
 
Ooh NP!!! Those numbers are fantastic!!! Just another week and you'll be official!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top