3/7 mocha pmps 65 +2 72 +3 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38257

WCR: ... ok ... Peter just wants to double check to make sure we reduce this morning .. he said if we would have tested a bit sooner we could have kept her above 40, so, do we still reduce to a skinny .25? We don't want her moving down if she really shouldnt .. I guess I should say because we tried surfing her with LC instead of MC or HC at that 48 last night ..
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56

ok well we ended up shooting .1, but it was ten minutes late .. so .. not sure what kind of numbers we will see today!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56, dose question (again, sorry)

I agree, WOW, GO Mocha!!!! Woohoo.

Can't help with dosing, but I know people that come in with say a 42 - if they had checked minutes later they would have earned a decrease but don't get one. So it must work the same way? And if you don't take a decrease you lose it don't you? So Bump.... lets see what the experts say.
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56

Wow, just wanted to stop by and see how Mocha is doing, and I think she is doing great! Way to go Mocha! I'll be interested in seeing what the experts say, as the same thing has happened to me - if only I had waited a few minutes.
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56

Good morning, Devon & Mocha ;-)
Goal is to keep them on insulin as long as possible to help the pancreas out, so when you can shave the dose versus full reductions is good. It looks like Sienne suggested to do this yesterday (maybe you did not see it)
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd shave the dose to a skinny 0.25u.

Anyway, you shot the .10 & we shall see what the day brings.. not much reducing after this & I am so very excited for Mocha, you & Peter.
Mocha is doing exceptionally well..
Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56

Fundamentally, I'm not sure how much difference there is between a skinny 0.25u and a 0.1u. You can always add more if the numbers don't look the way you want.
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56

Thanks guys .. peter is the one who draws up mocha's insulin and he showed me on the syringe that he really doesn't think he could get a different amount between the .25u and the .1u .. He also said he doesn't know if he will be able to do any less then .1u .. I just take him at his word ...
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat --DANCING WITH HAPPINESS!!!
Look at Mocha Go!!!! Devon & Peter, you are doing an amazing job!!--
Paws & Fingers crossed for the 0.1U to work today :mrgreen:
Mocha girl excellent numbers!!! We are watching :-D :shock:
Big Hugs!!!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56

Devon: I've had that happen, too, where I missed a test and Gracie dropped below 40 and the wise ones all suggested that I reduce so I think you did right. I don't know how folks do a drop or two...and how many are in .1? Anyway, seems like looking at alot of kitties SSs who go OTJ, their last dose was .1u and not a drop so....hold on!!! Great shooting, Peter!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45

I'm not going to count this 45 as being the first time under 50 on this dose because I know she has shed action from her last dose .. I fed her MC which she gobbled up .. I am not looking forward to testing her today... she is FEISTY! Howled the whole way out to the kitchen and then let a rip roaring yowl before I got the poke done ... Poor baby .. I know she just wants to be done with this .. I don't blame her!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45

Awwwwwww, Poor Mocha.
Mocha Checkers is tired of the poking too. He says bad words to his mama. I hope you don't talk like that to yours.
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45

Oohhhhhh...I'm so sorry!! I don't blame you...I've done this as well; you know it has to be higher shed action. Poor Mocha baby!!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40

Well I'm glad I got that +3.5 even though she was NOT happy .. I fed HC gravy and hope she will come up .. will test again at +4 .. she is howling over and over again .. she can be SO LOUD!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45

PeterDevonMocha said:
I am not looking forward to testing her today... she is FEISTY! Howled the whole way out to the kitchen and then let a rip roaring yowl before I got the poke done ... Poor baby .. I know she just wants to be done with this .. I don't blame her!

I think Mocha is trying to tell you something. I hear a lot of kitty's get more annoyed with testing before........not sayin nothin. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40

I just popped in from work to check on Mocha. :mrgreen:

I would love to see her get a few cycles in on 0.1 before we take off the training wheels (anti-jinx), but she might not let us. Let's see how the rest of the cycle goes. What time do you shoot tonight? (and are you Eastern or Central time?). I'll check on you before then.
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40

Wow it looks like fantastic things are happening here. GO Mocha GO!!!! Just don't go any lower today though . OK?
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

Ok well the gravy did the trick and brought her up .. she is still grumbling throughout the house .. Probably really cussing me out! :lol:

Libby, we are eastern time .. we shoot at 8 p.m. .. I'm hoping we can hold her on this dose awhile longer too ...
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

Steamroller Mocha surges on! AbFab , my dear!

I've been counting drops for a while now. It really depends on what you call it, I too don't think there is much between .1u and .25u I draw the last dose I was using and then just squeeze out a drop. Peter may want to practice counting drops. To be consistent I squeeze it out until it just starts to slide off the bevel. .25u is 5 drops, .1u is 4 drops (just a hair of light showing between the plunger and the 0 line), .05 is 3 drops (at the 0 line), 0 is 2 drops (full on the 0 line) and I can still squeeze out one more drop from there. :roll:

So if you are having a hard time stepping away from the insulin, you have several more steps to take to be on the safe side. After that what was it? Waving the empty syringe over her head?
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

wow ann, thanks for letting us know we can go lower then 0.1 .. I will have peter make up a syringe or two tonight and practice ..
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

This is so exciting!!! especially at a time when we all need to see something so very positive!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

flip_cat :RAHCAT flip_cat :RAHCAT You guys are bringing so many smiles to our household! Yay!!! This is so exciting!!! Wait `til I get home and tell Marco about Mocha`s day! :-D
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

So excited for Miss Mocha!! You guys are doing GREAT!!!

Plus, I'm learning about dosing drops of insulin... thanks for chiming in, Ann!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

good, I'll be home by then. Can you post a late cycle spot check, maybe +10?

FYI, I'm not really thinking about measuring drops. I'm thinking either you shoot or you don't. Most cats don't even hit 30s on such a low dose, and the fact that she not only hit the 30s, but didn't bounce at all from it (and went to 40 on the next cycle despite a dose reduction) means she has a working pancreas for sure.
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52

FWIW - Zoe got VERY vocal about her testing when we got down to the low doses and she would hide from me at testing time.....I'm just sayin' :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps 56 +2 58 +3 45 +3.5 40 +4 52 +9 65

eeeks .... nailbite_smile your posts are giving me heart palpitations! I can grab a +10 if you like Libby .. she had some freeze dried chicken at her +9 test ..

Mocha finally calmed down today .. and ended up passing out with her baby ..

well darn, I was going to add a pic of mocha and her baby but can't figure out how ...
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps +10.5 83, shoot tonight?

Ok, I'm guessing we will still shoot tonight at this number? I'll still post her pmps number of course, but I'm thinking she isn't going to drop much in the next hour and a half ...
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps +10.5 83, shoot tonight?

:lol: your so funny.. suddenly you think greens are even high :lol:
So excited for you, lets see what Libby says!!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps +10.5 83, shoot tonight?

Also extremely excited. I tell everyone about Mocha...vets, friends, etc etc!!!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps +10.5 83, shoot tonight?

Awesome, Mocha :mrgreen: This is so exciting!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps +10.5 83, shoot tonight?

Even though it sounds crazy, I truly believe that Mocha's dose is too high. Lack of bounce means functioning pancreas. On top of that, she is getting lower than most cats do on a dose of 0.25, AND you had to resort to HC to bring her up (which is also very unusual at this low a dose). And she is fighting/hiding from tests and shots, which is something several of our cats have suddenly started doing when they are done with insulin. For Lucy's last shot, I had to pull her out from under the bed. She had NEVER hidden from a shot before.

That said, I am also a recovering insulin addict. I know exactly how you feel because I have been in exactly your shoes. I remember Jojo and Jill telling me that Lucy was ready. In my heart, I knew they were right, but I had to wait until she gave me a preshot reading I was comfortable with starting an OTJ trial on. Lucy wasn't going as low as Mocha is, though. If you shoot, she will most likely earn that reduction very soon. If you don't shoot, she will probably still do just fine.

Jill still teases me about how long I held on, but I did what felt right to me. You can do the same. Mocha is ready whenever you are (but if you wait too long I will send someone to steal your syringes! That's the same promise Jill made to me). :lol:
 
Re: 3/7 mocha amps +10.5 83, shoot tonight?

Paws & fingers crossed for this great goings on at Mocha's condo--
We are gonna throw you the BIGGEST PARTY EVER!!!!!!ANTIJINX!!!!!!!!!
Hugs from Us!!!!! flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Re: 3/7 mocha pmps 65

Ok .. mocha came down to a nice 65 tonight for her pmps ... Having mocha hiding for shots/tests isn't that unusual in this house .. we chase her down every single day, twice a day for shots ... That being said ... We still need at least one more night on the juice ... nailbite_smile

If she earns her reduction tonight, then tomorrow morning ... well .. I just can't bring myself to say it .. but if she floats along tonight without earning that reduction, we are good with that too ...
 
Re: 3/7 mocha pmps 65

I know how you feel too...
I remember that last night like it was yesterday.. Jill & Libby both told me it was time for Baby to try an OTJ Trial & I WAS NOT READY :lol:
I cannot recall who.. but someone said "Stop & Step away from the syringes"

** Here is my link too :lol: Baby OTJ

Devon.. once you experience Mocha being OTJ & having the freedom.. your life back.. believe me.. you will not want to ever be shooting again!
Embrace the little miracle life has given you, I pray every furmommy & furbaby can experience it one day!
 
Re: 3/7 mocha pmps 65

Wow Devon. This is a long time coming!!!! It's so exciting. I came over here to see her action for today and WOW. You've got the go-ahead from Libby and Lucy. I'll be back here tomorrow to see what you do!!!! Merlin and I are rooting for a green night for Mocha.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top