3/7 KARAMELLE AMPS 366 +4 326 +8 293 PMPS 296 +2 294

JoM

Member Since 2023
Yesterday 3/6 KARAMELLE AMPS 243 +4.75 171 +7 131 +9 131 PMPS 184 +3 226 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
We had a beautiful day yesterday but.... Im having some problems. First, as i was going to post about this this morning, when Karamelle has higher numbers, like this morning, she eats really well and finishes her portion, sometimes asking for seconds. But when they come down like they did yesterday, her appetite is clearly a lot less. I did manage to get enough into her yesterday, but had to throw out some food and leave some raw in a bowl for her to eat later overnight, which I know isnt that great of an idea. I did put an ice pack under the bowl tho.

Second issue and one thats very upsetting, is that one of my other cats has suddenly decided to terrorize Karamelle. It started happening a few days ago. Tulip usually stays upstairs for the most part only coming down occasionally. But lately shes been coming downstairs and intimidating Karamelle. She sits right by her and stares. It upsets Karamelle and she will start making noises, then Tulip gets riled up and its a howling match. No actual fighting yet, but it could come to that. Karamelle is already on Prozac because she was attacking my youngest cat Julie. That has stopped now but unfortunately Julie is now terrified of Karamelle. One of my other cats Oscar, has also started some weird behavior of wanting walk all over the kitchen counter. Tulip follows him. She doesnt like him either. I swear in the 26 years Ive had cats (and sometimes Ive had up to 14 (used to be in rescue), Ive never had such turmoil in my house.

I have 6 right now, but one is in a room away from the others. He used to stalk Karamelle too, but hes in there because of medical issues and being semi feral. its easier to manage him in there. its a big room with lots of windows and light. He seems to like it in there.

The encounters with Tulip, especially are upsetting Karamelle. I had to chase Tulip back to my bedroom and shut the door this morning so I could test Karamelle in peace. She was high after coming down so nicely yesterday. it could be just a bounce, or it could be stress. I just dont know. But one good thing is her appetite was great this morning.

I am considering putting Tulip on prozac as well. She has low level CKD tho and i dont want to do anything to jeopardize her health.

Sorry for the long rant. Just needed to vent. But I am curious about Karamelles eating when the numbers go up and down.
 
Once you know how to handle low numbers and how much of a food bump she gets there’s no reason to puck up food 2 hours before shots. That’s just a requirement for cats new to insulin. Sorry Tulip is tormenting her. Stress can raise bg as you know. Wonder what is bothering Tulip. Max was ravenous only when his bg was between 30-55. They instinctively eat when the bg gets low.
 
Yesterday 3/6 KARAMELLE AMPS 243 +4.75 171 +7 131 +9 131 PMPS 184 +3 226 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
We had a beautiful day yesterday but.... Im having some problems. First, as i was going to post about this this morning, when Karamelle has higher numbers, like this morning, she eats really well and finishes her portion, sometimes asking for seconds. But when they come down like they did yesterday, her appetite is clearly a lot less. I did manage to get enough into her yesterday, but had to throw out some food and leave some raw in a bowl for her to eat later overnight, which I know isnt that great of an idea. I did put an ice pack under the bowl tho.

Second issue and one thats very upsetting, is that one of my other cats has suddenly decided to terrorize Karamelle. It started happening a few days ago. Tulip usually stays upstairs for the most part only coming down occasionally. But lately shes been coming downstairs and intimidating Karamelle. She sits right by her and stares. It upsets Karamelle and she will start making noises, then Tulip gets riled up and its a howling match. No actual fighting yet, but it could come to that. Karamelle is already on Prozac because she was attacking my youngest cat Julie. That has stopped now but unfortunately Julie is now terrified of Karamelle. One of my other cats Oscar, has also started some weird behavior of wanting walk all over the kitchen counter. Tulip follows him. She doesnt like him either. I swear in the 26 years Ive had cats (and sometimes Ive had up to 14 (used to be in rescue), Ive never had such turmoil in my house.

I have 6 right now, but one is in a room away from the others. He used to stalk Karamelle too, but hes in there because of medical issues and being semi feral. its easier to manage him in there. its a big room with lots of windows and light. He seems to like it in there.

The encounters with Tulip, especially are upsetting Karamelle. I had to chase Tulip back to my bedroom and shut the door this morning so I could test Karamelle in peace. She was high after coming down so nicely yesterday. it could be just a bounce, or it could be stress. I just dont know. But one good thing is her appetite was great this morning.

I am considering putting Tulip on prozac as well. She has low level CKD tho and i dont want to do anything to jeopardize her health.

Sorry for the long rant. Just needed to vent. But I am curious about Karamelles eating when the numbers go up and down.
Sorry to hear about all the turmoil amongst the kitties in the house. Sure doesn’t help trying to keep it calm so you can test and manage diabetes :(
I hope you can figure out what’s bothering them so you have an easier time. Sending you support:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Once you know how to handle low numbers and how much of a food bump she gets there’s no reason to puck up food 2 hours before shots. That’s just a requirement for cats new to insulin. Sorry Tulip is tormenting her. Stress can raise bg as you know. Wonder what is bothering Tulip. Max was ravenous only when his bg was between 30-55. They instinctively eat when the bg gets low.
Thats so weird. Karamelle seems to be the opposite. She definitely eats better with higher numbers and not so great with the lower ones, although shes never been as low as 35-55. I havent really had an issue with the 2 hour hold of food before the pm shot. Shes usually sleeping after I feed around 4:30-5:30. Then she gets her test at 8pm-ish, food then shot at 8:30pm.
 
@Staci & Ivy @tiffmaxee I suspect Tulip thinks Karamelle is getting way too much of my time that should be hers. Tulip is a real velcro cat. Just now she sat and watched while I tested Karamelle and put down her food. Then I picked her up and petted her in my lap. Shes purring up a storm. Rather than getting upset with her, I think i need to try and rectify this with a little extra attention for Tulip (like she doesnt get enough already, lol).
 
@Staci & Ivy @tiffmaxee I suspect Tulip thinks Karamelle is getting way too much of my time that should be hers. Tulip is a real velcro cat. Just now she sat and watched while I tested Karamelle and put down her food. Then I picked her up and petted her in my lap. Shes purring up a storm. Rather than getting upset with her, I think i need to try and rectify this with a little extra attention for Tulip (like she doesnt get enough already, lol).
I’m sure it’s hard on all of them when the household balance shifts for various reasons they can’t understand.
Good plan to give Tulip extra love since she’s asking for it in varied ways :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Does Tulip get a treat too after Karamelle is tested? My non diabetic watched too (he was my velcro cat) but he was right behind Neko in line at test time, for his share.
 
Does Tulip get a treat too after Karamelle is tested? My non diabetic watched too (he was my velcro cat) but he was right behind Neko in line at test time, for his share.
Tulip really isnt interested in treats. Shes never been very food motivated. She has a difficult past. I got her a little over 5 years ago about a month after she was rescued off the street. She was 3lbs and her bloodwork was almost all solid red (all elevated). Shes come a long way, (over 9lbs now and thats hefty for her as shes a very small cat) but has always been an extremely picky eater. Shes an anxious cat and extremely needy. The only cat she likes is the newest and youngest cat, Julie. She was actually attacking my 19 lb cat Oscar at one point. (hes a pushover and wouldnt fight back) Shes stopped that now. She eats a prescription dry from a microchip feeder and will eat some weruva, but usually only at the last feeding of the night.
I'll work something out. Thanks for the suggestion tho. :)
 
Sounds like it’s jealousy over attention. Maybe make a point of giving her extra attention after Karmellas test and while she’s eating?
That way she will look forward to testing time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Does Tulip get a treat too after Karamelle is tested? My non diabetic watched too (he was my velcro cat) but he was right behind Neko in line at test time, for his share.
I had to laugh, after i wrote and said Tulip doesnt like treats, I opened a bag of Vital Essentials rabbit bites (that Id gotten for Karamelle but hadnt used yet) and gave her one and she gobbled it up and asked for more. ;)
 
First, as i was going to post about this this morning, when Karamelle has higher numbers, like this morning, she eats really well and finishes her portion, sometimes asking for seconds. But when they come down like they did yesterday, her appetite is clearly a lot less.
Excessive Hunger is one of the "clinical" symptoms of diabetes. Cleo is ravenous when she's really high and also when she's really low. She's less hungry when in normalish numbers.

Kudos to you for helping all those kitties. :bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top