3/7, Falafel, AMPS 206 +2 186 +4 219 +6 198 +8 234

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/confused-about-test-feed-shoot-lantus.287444/

Question: Do these numbers mean I should be shooting a higher dose? Seems like she's just coasting around the same values. Going to the vet for a follow up tomorrow, I was thinking about moving up from 0.5 to 0.75.

Also could be too early to tell (still unsure about what SLGS means), let me know what you think.

Falafel does have some other issues right now that the vet wants to wait on investigating (dental, heart, kidney) until her BG is more controlled.
 
Lantus is a depot style insulin, meaning it can take 5-7 days before the depot is build and you can see what the dose can do. Hopefully numbers will get better as you wait. Lantus teaches you patience. :) When following SLGS for dosing, you stay with the same dose for 7 days, unless she goes below 90.

I would not wait on investigating other issues until she is controlled. For many kitties, bad teeth can cause them to be hard to control. If she needs a dental, a dental veterinary specialist may be the way to go. They are used to more complicated kitties. Neko's first dental, her numbers were way worse than Falafel's (think 400's). Any heart issues should be investigated ASAP.
 
Thanks, Wendy! Tomorrow at the follow up I will request the cardio referral and ask about dental. I believe there is a specialist that this vet works with, they were telling me about them yesterday.
 
You will need to get the heart checked out before anaesthesia for a dental.
Okay, so tomorrow at the vet I will prioritize asking about cardio/getting that specialist appointment, and tackle the dental second once the cardiologists have had a chance to see her. There is an animal hospital with specialists that handles these types of things that they were telling me about.
 
@thornmallow__
Morning Z Falafel is really responding to Lantus .
What a nice start this morning (3-8)
I was looking at your spreadsheet for last night, anytime you see a +2 much lower than the pre shot which it was quite a drop that could indicate that it could be an active cycle, meaning she could have dropped lower than 115 last night. If you ever see that again I would get another test in whether it be in the AM of PM .
You don't want to miss any reductions.
She's really doing great so far
 
@thornmallow__
Morning Z Falafel is really responding to Lantus .
What a nice start this morning (3-8)
I was looking at your spreadsheet for last night, anytime you see a +2 much lower than the pre shot which it was quite a drop that could indicate that it could be an active cycle, meaning she could have dropped lower than 115 last night. If you ever see that again I would get another test in whether it be in the AM of PM .
You don't want to miss any reductions.
She's really doing great so far
Thanks Diane. I knew I should have gotten more tests last night, but we were both so tired I let us just sleep :arghh: This is the first night I got a few hours of decent sleep since the DX. So thankful for Lantus!!

I will keep that extra testing protocol in mind if I see another drop.

Will be able to test today until +6 (that's when we go to for the vet follow up). Can I update this same thread after or should I start a new one with the numbers from today?
 
Hi Z start a thread for today on the Lantus board and just link your thread from 3-7 to the new one
I see you weren't quite sure what SLGS meant
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Good luck with the vet visit :cat:
 
I'm glad you got a decent sleep last night ,much needed I'm sure .
Tyler wakes me up every morning at 4:30 or 5:00 AM to eat.
I can barely drag myself out of bed lol,then again at 7:30 or 8:00 AM
I would get an auto feeder but the noise would probably scare him, he's afraid of his own shadow. I can't even open a new garbage bag by him or he takes off . He's such a scaredy cat!
He did have a brother named Perry ,my heart kitty but passed away 4 years ago due to kidney disease. I named them after my favorite rock band Aerosmith lol Steven Tyler and Joe Perry .
@thornmallow__
 
Back
Top