Jen&Eddie
Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114987&p=1210768#p1210768
Happy Friday! Finally! drinking24
Yesterday, we had two very nice cycles, with yellow pre-shots! Where are those coming from? We did shoot an hour early in the PM in an effort to try to get back to our regular shot time. I shot a 1.8u rather than the 2u, as an experiment. It looks like the 1.8u is enough to get a high green number at nadir. I think I might shoot 2.0u or 1.8u on those pre-shots in the 200's, based on whether I can monitor or whether I want to be a little conservative.
I'm curious to see if those yellow pre-shots are because the reducie isn't taking Eddie quite so low at nadir, so he's not coming back up quite so rapidly. I'll take yellow pre-shots over pink or red pre-shots any day as long as nadir looks good. :smile:
Today:
AMPS (+11.5) = 238 (1.8u)
+1.5 = 253
+6 = 65
+6.5 = 68
+10.25 = 42/60 :shock:
+10.75 = 374/324
Eddie did come up pretty rapidly from the HC so leaving out some HC would probably be about the only option in an emergency situation. I might be able to pack him up and drag him to the office if I needed to monitor him, so long as I didn't have any court appearances or anything.
Thank you so much for the input on this issue Sue and Deb. I'm pleased as punch that we have been able to regulate Eddie as tightly as we have been lately, but those numbers in the 30's freaked me out. That's a great example of why the no-shoot number for new beans is 200. Even with data having shot numbers like that several times before, and a pre-shot of 174, Eddie still surprised me. :shock:
I've been studying and thinking about possibly moving to Lantus since Eddie likes to surf for hours at a time, so I thought it might be a good match for him. The primary thing that keeps me from going that direction is how low those kitties run at times. I have no problem handling low numbers in the evening, but if he were to have a low cycle during the day....I think there are a lot of people that work full time doing Lantus, but I don't know how one would do that. Plus, I love all the people on the PZI board.
To wrap up this opus, I will say that splitting the meals has been an interesting experiment. When our schedules allow, we feed 1/2 of the breakfast before the shot, and the second half about an hour later. If we can't do that, we do still feed 1/2 before the shot, and the other half after the shot. All of the kitties eat slower, they don't gorge themselves, and there's food left over for them to snack on as needed. I don't know what, if any effect, it has on Eddie's BG yet, but I "think" that he might not be going up quite as much between pre-shot and onset.
Happy Friday! Finally! drinking24
Yesterday, we had two very nice cycles, with yellow pre-shots! Where are those coming from? We did shoot an hour early in the PM in an effort to try to get back to our regular shot time. I shot a 1.8u rather than the 2u, as an experiment. It looks like the 1.8u is enough to get a high green number at nadir. I think I might shoot 2.0u or 1.8u on those pre-shots in the 200's, based on whether I can monitor or whether I want to be a little conservative.
I'm curious to see if those yellow pre-shots are because the reducie isn't taking Eddie quite so low at nadir, so he's not coming back up quite so rapidly. I'll take yellow pre-shots over pink or red pre-shots any day as long as nadir looks good. :smile:
Today:
AMPS (+11.5) = 238 (1.8u)
+1.5 = 253
+6 = 65
+6.5 = 68
+10.25 = 42/60 :shock:
+10.75 = 374/324
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
After yesterday's low numbers, I do wonder if there's an "emergency" contingent I can fall back on if I am home for lunch, catch a number that's too low, and can't hang around for hours to test and feed repeatedly. Thankfully yesterday it wasn't a big deal for me to take a two-hour long lunch break, but that's not something I can do very often.
The only thing I know, Jenn, is to leave food out so he can bring himself up. It's not a perfect situation as you'd probably have to mix some high carb gravy with lower carb and even then, he might drop lower. Also you could have a possible higher number to deal with, because of the higher carb.
Eddie did come up pretty rapidly from the HC so leaving out some HC would probably be about the only option in an emergency situation. I might be able to pack him up and drag him to the office if I needed to monitor him, so long as I didn't have any court appearances or anything.
nckitties3 said:Personally, if I had to leave and was concerned about him dropping too low, I would do as Sue said and make sure he has food to snack on, but I would also reduce the dose by just a tiny touch. Maybe you could get that Evo Cat and Kitten dry that is low carb. I don't remember if you have other cats besides Eddie. My memory is about this ---- long. :lol:
We have four of our own kitties including Eddie, and one foster kitty. cat_pet_icon I've been considering trying some of the dry low carb as a "stop-gap" in the event that DH and I decided to go out of town for a weekend or something. I haven't tried anything yet for fear of wrecking Eddie's nice cycles. :roll:
I am fortunate, being disabled (if you can find ANYTHING good about that) I don't HAVE to go anywhere. I have cancelled Dr's appts, Atty's appts, you name it. I don't care what I have to cancel if my boy is running too low for me to be comfortable leaving. I am soooo glad, that if I HAD to be unemployed, it was before his dx. I had been working anywhere from 9-14 hour days prior to that. I don't know how ya'll manage it, but then, no one else has a 'Lucian'.:lol:
Thank you so much for the input on this issue Sue and Deb. I'm pleased as punch that we have been able to regulate Eddie as tightly as we have been lately, but those numbers in the 30's freaked me out. That's a great example of why the no-shoot number for new beans is 200. Even with data having shot numbers like that several times before, and a pre-shot of 174, Eddie still surprised me. :shock:
I've been studying and thinking about possibly moving to Lantus since Eddie likes to surf for hours at a time, so I thought it might be a good match for him. The primary thing that keeps me from going that direction is how low those kitties run at times. I have no problem handling low numbers in the evening, but if he were to have a low cycle during the day....I think there are a lot of people that work full time doing Lantus, but I don't know how one would do that. Plus, I love all the people on the PZI board.

To wrap up this opus, I will say that splitting the meals has been an interesting experiment. When our schedules allow, we feed 1/2 of the breakfast before the shot, and the second half about an hour later. If we can't do that, we do still feed 1/2 before the shot, and the other half after the shot. All of the kitties eat slower, they don't gorge themselves, and there's food left over for them to snack on as needed. I don't know what, if any effect, it has on Eddie's BG yet, but I "think" that he might not be going up quite as much between pre-shot and onset.