3/7 Eddie AMPS 238, +6 = 65, +10.25 = 42, +10.75 = 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114987&p=1210768#p1210768

Happy Friday! Finally! drinking24

Yesterday, we had two very nice cycles, with yellow pre-shots! Where are those coming from? We did shoot an hour early in the PM in an effort to try to get back to our regular shot time. I shot a 1.8u rather than the 2u, as an experiment. It looks like the 1.8u is enough to get a high green number at nadir. I think I might shoot 2.0u or 1.8u on those pre-shots in the 200's, based on whether I can monitor or whether I want to be a little conservative.

I'm curious to see if those yellow pre-shots are because the reducie isn't taking Eddie quite so low at nadir, so he's not coming back up quite so rapidly. I'll take yellow pre-shots over pink or red pre-shots any day as long as nadir looks good. :smile:

Today:

AMPS (+11.5) = 238 (1.8u)
+1.5 = 253
+6 = 65
+6.5 = 68
+10.25 = 42/60 :shock:
+10.75 = 374/324

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:

After yesterday's low numbers, I do wonder if there's an "emergency" contingent I can fall back on if I am home for lunch, catch a number that's too low, and can't hang around for hours to test and feed repeatedly. Thankfully yesterday it wasn't a big deal for me to take a two-hour long lunch break, but that's not something I can do very often.


The only thing I know, Jenn, is to leave food out so he can bring himself up. It's not a perfect situation as you'd probably have to mix some high carb gravy with lower carb and even then, he might drop lower. Also you could have a possible higher number to deal with, because of the higher carb.

Eddie did come up pretty rapidly from the HC so leaving out some HC would probably be about the only option in an emergency situation. I might be able to pack him up and drag him to the office if I needed to monitor him, so long as I didn't have any court appearances or anything.

nckitties3 said:
Personally, if I had to leave and was concerned about him dropping too low, I would do as Sue said and make sure he has food to snack on, but I would also reduce the dose by just a tiny touch. Maybe you could get that Evo Cat and Kitten dry that is low carb. I don't remember if you have other cats besides Eddie. My memory is about this ---- long. :lol:

We have four of our own kitties including Eddie, and one foster kitty. cat_pet_icon I've been considering trying some of the dry low carb as a "stop-gap" in the event that DH and I decided to go out of town for a weekend or something. I haven't tried anything yet for fear of wrecking Eddie's nice cycles. :roll:

I am fortunate, being disabled (if you can find ANYTHING good about that) I don't HAVE to go anywhere. I have cancelled Dr's appts, Atty's appts, you name it. I don't care what I have to cancel if my boy is running too low for me to be comfortable leaving. I am soooo glad, that if I HAD to be unemployed, it was before his dx. I had been working anywhere from 9-14 hour days prior to that. I don't know how ya'll manage it, but then, no one else has a 'Lucian'. :o :lol:

Thank you so much for the input on this issue Sue and Deb. I'm pleased as punch that we have been able to regulate Eddie as tightly as we have been lately, but those numbers in the 30's freaked me out. That's a great example of why the no-shoot number for new beans is 200. Even with data having shot numbers like that several times before, and a pre-shot of 174, Eddie still surprised me. :shock:

I've been studying and thinking about possibly moving to Lantus since Eddie likes to surf for hours at a time, so I thought it might be a good match for him. The primary thing that keeps me from going that direction is how low those kitties run at times. I have no problem handling low numbers in the evening, but if he were to have a low cycle during the day....I think there are a lot of people that work full time doing Lantus, but I don't know how one would do that. Plus, I love all the people on the PZI board. :-D

To wrap up this opus, I will say that splitting the meals has been an interesting experiment. When our schedules allow, we feed 1/2 of the breakfast before the shot, and the second half about an hour later. If we can't do that, we do still feed 1/2 before the shot, and the other half after the shot. All of the kitties eat slower, they don't gorge themselves, and there's food left over for them to snack on as needed. I don't know what, if any effect, it has on Eddie's BG yet, but I "think" that he might not be going up quite as much between pre-shot and onset.
 
Re: 3/7 Eddie AMPS 238

He is doing beautifully and those numbers continue to drop. Just a good example of a cat who REALLY takes his time adapting to the insulin.......
 
Re: 3/7 Eddie AMPS 238

Whatever experiments you are doing, sure seem to be working for Eddie. :thumbup

As for meals, I think it is a good idea to have several smaller meals instead of 2 or 3 large ones. Only because that's how human diabetics keep a more stable bg level rather than yo-yo'ing. In kitties, it seems to reduce the overly high bounces and keep the lows from dropping too far and that's always a good thing. :-D

Of course, with Lucian, I don't have a choice. :lol: He eats every 2-3 hrs 24/7 and won't let you forget about it! (or sleep thru it!) :lol:
 
Re: 3/7 Eddie AMPS 238, +6 = 65

+6 = 65

We used to feed two meals a day to everyone (including dry food) based on what we always thought was sound advise in terms of keeping weight under control. We've now been doing at least four meals a day - sometimes more, for about a month and a half, and it not only has had a positive impact on keeping Eddie's numbers a bit more even keeled, but I think our civilians are getting some benefit from it too - our fat civilian has lost a little weight, as has our mildly overweight foster kitty.

Glad I went with the 1.8u this AM! Looks like it was just right, assuming +6 is approximately nadir. I did feed some extra just to give me a little peace of mind. After over two months of religiously testing, I still never know for sure when Eddie's nadir is going to be.
 
Re: 3/7 Eddie AMPS 238, +6 = 65

That's cause only Eddie knows when he's gonna nadir and he ain't tellin'!! Gotta keep momabean on her toes! ;-)
 
Re: 3/7 Eddie 238, +6= 65, +10.25= 42, +10.75= 374

Ok, Eddie's definitely not telling mom bean what is going on today....

Need some help figuring this out...

Before I got home, DH tested at +10.25 and got a 42. :shock: Retested immediately, and got a 60.
DH then tested a half an hour later at 10.75 and got a 374. I tested immediately after and got a 342.

How on earth do I interpret this? If it were just one low reading, I'd probably assume it was a fluke but two in a row seems like it would be strange.

If I were certain those low readings were correct then I'd have to assume that Eddie went a fair bit lower after +6 and is bouncing wildly by +10.75??

So, today went as follows:
AMPS = 238
+1.5 = 253
+6 = 65
+6.5 = 68
+10.25 = 42/60
+10.75 = 374/342
 
Looks like Lucian when he spikes. But I gather that isn't the norm with Eddie.

Maybe he is finally bouncing off that 30? I have seen some cats that appear to bounce a couple cycles AFTER the lows, not when you expect them to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top