3/6 Simon PMPS 304 +3 346 Advice, please!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I was hoping to see Simon at least in the 200's this morning, but on a positive note, Simon's AMPS are still a little lower than they were last night. I just want to thank everyone for being there for me yesterday. It was such a stressful day and I'm hoping today will be better. Simon seems to be fine this morning -- ate well and is purring and content. I don't see him drinking much but I am adding water to his food so he gets a little more fluid that way. The pancreatitis diagnosis is still a big question for me and I am going to explore and research more. It sounds like, based on your comments, that I need to have a more conclusive test before a diagnosis of pancreatitis can be put on Simon.

Anyway, today is going to be better and I am going to stay positive (that is my mantra for today!). Thanks again for all your help and support and prayers.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38182
 
Re: 3/6 Simon AMPS 304 +3 324

Ok, my mantra for today was to be positive but at +3, I am getting worried again. Plus, I tried to engage Simon in some play with his favorite toy, but he ran away from it and is behind the sofa. This is so unlike him. I am so confused about what I should be doing. He is still eating well.
 
Re: 3/6 Simon AMPS 304 +3 324

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: for you and Simon today, Georgia. I am so happy to hear that Simon was purring and content and doesn't seem to be in any discomfort. I agree, more conclusive tests should be done before you can say for sure that Simon has pancreatitis.

I'm sorry he ran away from playing and hid. Just stay positive; I believe kitties can sense how we are feeling and react to it. Could the +3 reading be a food spike?
 
Re: 3/6 Simon AMPS 304 +3 324

I'm wondering whether Simon just isn't feeling great since he's really not used to these kinds of numbers. I'm not sure how long it should take for the Tresaderm to clear Simon's system. I would keep an eye on him. If numbers aren't coming down by tomorrow, I'd suggest calling your vet. At the very least, get the blood drawn for a spec fPLI. (I'm presuming they don't have office hours today. It doesn't sound like there's any thing urgent going on but if something changes, you know your cat.)

If numbers are still running high tonight, you might want to increase Simon's dose. Just an FYI - you may need to monitor carefully. If it's the steroids that are raising BG levels, as they clear, numbers could drop quickly.
 
Re: 3/6 Simon AMPS 304 +3 324

Violet, you may be right that Simon is sensing my stress level and is not excited about playing. He has been coming up to me more today and following me around. Maybe he is trying to comfort me because he knows I am sad. The +3 could be a food spike because Simon ate really well this morning and then finished off his sister's food, too (lc also).

Sienne, I going out in a few moments to church but will be back and test again at +6.5 or so. Hopefully, his numbers will be down a little since this is the time he goes alot lower. My vet doesn't have hours on Sunday so I'll call him tomorrow if there isn't any change in bg numbers.
 
Re: 3/6 Simon AMPS 304 +3 324

I am glad that Simon is content, purry, happy this morning. Maybe he does sense your stress. It is nice that he follows you, seems to want to comfort you. I am sorry for the numebrs - I hope he comes down soon for you.
 
Re: 3/6 Simon PMPS 304 Dose increase

Simon's PMPS is exactly the same as his AMPS. I just can't believe that these numbers belong to Simon and I wish I could figure out what is going on. It just seems a little impossible that he is still showing the effects from the steroid ear drops. I went ahead and increased his dose to .25 from .10 and am hoping I see a little downward action. He is still eating fine and doesn't seem to be in any pain. In fact, this evening, he has been playing and acting like he always does.

Thinking of Cheryl tonight and sending her tons of prayers.
 
Re: 3/6 Simon PMPS 304 Dose increase

Wow. I wish I could help with any useful suggestions Georgia but I have none. I don't understand how its still impacting his BG levels. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

Hope the dosecrease helps bring him down some. Hang in there.
 
Re: 3/6 Simon PMPS 304 Dose increase

hi Georgia,
I had to do a double take on Simon's spreadsheet.
wow, im sorry for the numbers, but im hoping for good turn-around soon.
have a good evening
 
Re: 3/6 Simon PMPS 304 Dose increase

I need some advice on what to do. Simon's numbers at +3 are even higher at 346. His blood also looks a little more bright red than dark red. Does that make any sense and has anyone ever had that happen with their cat? I am just so depressed and worried because I just can't understand why his numbers have changed so much in a couple of days. At this point, I can't imagine that the steroid is still in his body. I only gave him a total of 12 drops in each ear over the 1 1/2 days he had the drops (4 drops at a time). I'm going to call the vet tomorrow.
 
Hi Georgia - I wish I could help you. I think if it were me I'd call the vet in the morning. Perhaps there is something going on with Simon, I just don't know. I don't know either how long it takes for steroids to clear. At least this response will bump you up in que, maybe Someone else has a better answer.

I know with Mannie sometimes the blood droplet will be a bright red, other times not. why that is I don't know. But he has always seemed fine either way.

I wish you well - you and Simon are in our thoughts.
 
I honestly don't know how long it takes steroids to clear. Here's my thinking though. When a cat's numbers bounce, it's because the liver dumps both a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream. Among those hormones is cortisol -- a corticosteroid, much like the dexamethasone that's in Tresaderm. We do know that it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, primarily due to the influence of the counterregulatory hormones. It's possible that it could take that long for the drops to clear.

If Simon does, in fact, have a pancreatitis flare, that may also be contributing.

And finally, the +3 may be higher because some New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) may be occurring. On occasion, when you raise the dose, rather than numbers coming down, they go up before they come down.
 
Sienne, thanks for your explanation and I am hoping that the 72 hours are the charm and he will be down in the morning. I didn't know that an increase in a dose may cause the numbers to go a little higher at first. I hope that is the case with Simon. Either way, I am going to call the vet in the morning to let him know what is happening. The urinalysis should be back tomorrow afternoon, so maybe I'll know something else that may explain what is going on. It just seems strange that this all happened right after I gave him the tresaderm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top