3/6 Pearl PMPS 119, +2 82, +3.5 64, +4.75 69

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Well, yesterday night we had a mess and Pearl's BG skyrocketed. Between PM +3 and +4, she had an asthma attack (first one in 7 months). She was trembling a little, which is NOT like asthma for her. I thought it was all due to the asthma attack.

I didn't test her after. She's been a bit grumbly lately, and I didn't want to disturb her more. So, I don't know if Pearl fell below 50 and her resulting 187 at +6 was a reaction to that, or whether the asthma attack skyrocketed her BG. I felt awful, and really have felt she must have fallen low and I wasn't there to catch it.

The good news is, she is back to her beautiful green now.

Happy Saturday to all, surf safely kitties!

Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...d-she-drop-below-50-and-i-didnt-catch.244166/
 
Sorry about the asthma attack:bighug:. The higher number could be because of that, either from stress or did you happen to give her a steroid med for it?
There is also a phenomenon called the "high before the low" where kitty will go higher before numbers drop. Butters does this on occasion. I'd keep close eyes on Pearl's numbers today just in case this is what it is.
 
Sorry about the asthma attack:bighug:. The higher number could be because of that, either from stress or did you happen to give her a steroid med for it?
There is also a phenomenon called the "high before the low" where kitty will go higher before numbers drop. Butters does this on occasion. I'd keep close eyes on Pearl's numbers today just in case this is what it is.
THanks for the tip, Lyla. She gets inhaled steroids daily, I've never seen it affect her BG before, so I don't think it could have been that. I got so worried, since Pearl never bounces!
 
Good Caturday to you! Hugs for comfort.

Poor baby Pearl; I hope she feels a lot better now. I also tend to correlate the asthma attack to the increase in BG since it was a major stressor. I am sorry that happened to Pearl.
Your line of thinking also makes sense, especially since you hadn't seen her shakiness with an asthma attack before. And of course, with Pearl so close to the reduction point, it really makes you wonder.

Let her numbers be your guide, and please shake any guilt! It doesn't match your actions, dear Margaret! Pearl is lucky to have such a good caretaker.
 
Hope Pearl is feeling better today :cat: And I personally can get hung up on a number but if you take a step back and look at Pearl's SS, it's a thing of beauty. You two are doing fantastic. Keep on keeping on :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good Caturday to you! Hugs for comfort.

Poor baby Pearl; I hope she feels a lot better now. I also tend to correlate the asthma attack to the increase in BG since it was a major stressor. I am sorry that happened to Pearl.
Your line of thinking also makes sense, especially since you hadn't seen her shakiness with an asthma attack before. And of course, with Pearl so close to the reduction point, it really makes you wonder.

Let her numbers be your guide, and please shake any guilt! It doesn't match your actions, dear Margaret! Pearl is lucky to have such a good caretaker.
Thanks Jan! I actually was debating reducing her dose in the middle of the night, I had gotten so worked up. Appreciate the words of comfort, truly! This was her first asthma attack as a diabetic - it wwas scary and shocking to see how much it caused her fear!
 
Thanks Adrienne! Oh, wow, only sometimes? Pearl needs her Flovent daily. I had to administer Albuterol also a few times last night too.
Yes, I had quite a few smelly candles around. Once I got rid of those her asthma seemed better. She’ll cough maybe once a month. I’ll give her the Flovent DH and I both have asthma too.
 
Yes, I had quite a few smelly candles around. Once I got rid of those her asthma seemed better. She’ll cough maybe once a month. I’ll give her the Flovent DH and I both have asthma too.
I hear ya, no smelly anything here either! (neither her nor I can handle it). Last Spring her asthma worsened to the point when it's high pollen season, I have to change my clothes and shower whenever I come in from outside or else we have problems.
 
Back
Top