3/6 Moe: AMPS = 508;+9=471;PMPS=361;+2=169;+3=116;+4=123;+5=119;+6=151

Erin and Moe (GA)

Member Since 2019
Good morning all. Moe’s BG is still jumping around. He vomited over night last night and this morning his appetite is low. He nibbled a little (maybe an ounce total) and drank some water. I increased his dosage last night and this morning to somewhere between 0.5 and 0.75. The end of the plunger was right between the 1/2 and 1 lines on a half-unit syringe.

I’ll continue on this higher dose this weekend and do a curve. Hoping to get this under control a little. He’s just all over the place right now.
 
Black = bouncing. Those Red's are also bouncing.
So you need to count from the time you increased the dose, for 3 days or 6 cycles total.
That is the number of cycles you hold the dose with TR to see if this dose is enough insulin for Moe.
Bounces count as part of your total cycle count.

If you see a string of yellows, that is an indication that the bounce is clearing.

You don't want to increase as the bounce is BREAKING, unless you are home to monitor, because the BG's can drop more than normal and you may need to feed and give a simple sugar substance to help bring those numbers back up to a safer >68 level. (68 because you are using the Alphatrak. >50 if using a human meter.)

If you skip a shot, give a greatly reduced dose (one of the stalling options), or increase the dose, the cycle count starts over.

I would not give this fat 0.5U dose more than 4 more cycles, before you increase to 0.75U. Although from your description of the syringe plunger placement, it sounds to me like you are already at a 0.75U dose.

p.s. You have on comment on your SS, below the 3/6/2020 row that belongs with the 3/5/2020 row of data. Would you fix that please?
 
Last edited:
You don't want to increase DURING the bounce,
Not quite true. You don't want to increase on the same cycle the bounce is breaking as that can be an active cycle. Otherwise it's find to increase during a bounce.

With the numbers you are seeing, I would forget the >.5 unit dose and go straight to 0.75 units (if there is a difference). When cats come back from remission, it can be harder to get them back OTJ. You have to be a bit more aggressive and try to get them into regulated numbers as fast as safely possible.
 
I gave Moe a fat 0.5 dose again for his PM shot, and +2 he is at 169. I love to see that blue number but it’s such a fast drop after bing at 508 AMPS. I wonder how his numbers will go tomorrow... Husband and I will be gone most of the day tomorrow, and no one is home to monitor Moe. Should I go back to 0.5 for his AM shot?
 
+2 was much lower than the pre-shot, so that was your warning that you would need to monitor more closely. Can't stay with you all night to help you guide the numbers. Let me see who is signed on.

If it drops below 68, you'll want to guide Moe with some food, to bring the BG's up as needed.
 
+2 was much lower than the pre-shot, so that was your warning that you would need to monitor more closely. Can't stay with you all night to help you guide the numbers. Let me see who is signed on.

If it drops below 68, you'll want to guide Moe with some food, to bring the BG's up as needed.

Thanks Deb. Just checked again and +4=123. I’ll be checking again at +5.
 
Back
Top