3/6 Coda AMPS 306

Status
Not open for further replies.
Unfortunately yes. But two things helped me. First, Neko was on Levemir so she wouldn't onset for 5 hours, so I had quite a while to get food into her. Second, I knew I could assist feed and get the calories/carbs in her. From experience I also knew that if I could get at least her meal in her early in the cycle, it would be OK to shoot and I could get the rest of the food in her later. Since you are continuing to skip insulin, I would make sure you get a ketones test in. :bighug:

How is Coda doing tonight? Do you think he would be receptive to assist feeding? Often if I got a little bit of food in Neko, it would "prime the pump" so to speak. I also had antinausea meds on hand (very handy for pancreatitis too) and dealing with nausea would also get her to eat. Sometimes I needed to use both cerenia and ondansetron - they work on different nausea receptors so one or the other or both might be needed.

Did the vet include the SpecfPL test in the bloodwork so you can see if it's positive for pancreatitis? I've often seen a cat look fine on visual inspection of the mouth and have something brewing below the gum line. You need dental Xrays to verify. Mouth pain can also cause reluctance to eat.

Thank you, Coda and I had a stressful time yesterday and last night. Tried to syringe feed but that was a little short of a disaster. He will be seeing the vet again today to see what to do. It'll be same clinic but different vet, going to be asking AGAIN to please just look at his teeth because I'm convinced they are the problem. Unfortunately due to being a poor student, the decisions are at the mercy of my parents, especially my mom. I'm trying to get an appt for Coda tomorrow elsewhere in Charlotte NC that have state of the art machines and said they are willing to look at Coda and see if he's well enough for a dental and diabetes isn't an issue.. Luckily last night Coda ate some of his YA dry kibble and a little Friskies canned but I watch him and he's dropping the kibble and throwing his head and breath smells like death.. hoping today the vet will look and confirm painful mouth as the issue because I'm really not sure that this is pancreatitis...
 
Poor little guy. :bighug: Sending you tons of good vetty visit vines. The stinky mouth does sound telling. Neko's first dental, she was still a fan of the 400's. :rolleyes: Make sure whatever vet you go do does dental X-rays. Some don't and miss half the picture.
 
Poor little guy. :bighug: Sending you tons of good vetty visit vines. The stinky mouth does sound telling. Neko's first dental, she was still a fan of the 400's. :rolleyes: Make sure whatever vet you go do does dental X-rays. Some don't and miss half the picture.
Back from the vet, Coda received fluids and increase in bupe dose. I found out today why the vet has been avoiding talking about a dental.. when Coda was 9 months old he ate a poisoned rat and burned his esophagus and lining of his stomach, he made it through surgery, and has scar tissue all along his esophagus and trachea (It's been so long and I was only 8 years old when it happened so I didn't even think about it). This would make intubation impossible with scar tissue and he wouldn't survive the surgery in his condition. They didn't find anything but tartar and plaque, but that doesn't mean he isn't hurting :( going to continue with antiseptic gel and pain meds and keep trying to get him to eat, but at this point we have to try to make him as comfortable as possible... I feel at such a loss
 
Last edited:
Couldn't they even do a kitten sized tube for intubation? Many acrocats have soft tissue growth on their esophagus (Neko did in her pharynx) so need to have smaller sized tubes. It's probably more expensive, but a dental specialist vet or board certified anestheoligist vet might have other solutions. There can often be infection below the gum line, which can't be seen on visible inspection. If they really can't treat, might a round of antibiotics help? That's what they have to do for kitties with heart of kidney conditions that can't undergo anesthesia.
 
Couldn't they even do a kitten sized tube for intubation? Many acrocats have soft tissue growth on their esophagus (Neko did in her pharynx) so need to have smaller sized tubes. It's probably more expensive, but a dental specialist vet or board certified anestheoligist vet might have other solutions. There can often be infection below the gum line, which can't be seen on visible inspection. If they really can't treat, might a round of antibiotics help? That's what they have to do for kitties with heart of kidney conditions that can't undergo anesthesia.
Hmm I'll ask again on the appt on Thursday to see how he's doing and the other options for intubation or antibiotics
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top