3/6-Cini Mini-PMPS 255,+3/260- Dosecrease tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

No break :YMSIGH:

Oddly enough Cini's +6 was the same as his +3 - 384

What does it mean when their numbers have no curve? Flat Flat.
 
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

Actually, a characteristic Lantus "curve" is flat. When you see the SSs of the cats that are close to remission, there's very little variation in their numbers.
 
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

Oh! OK, so flat is good :-D

But high numbers are not.

Should I increase his dose from 0.20 units to an even 0.25 units? Or, do you think he still has "bounciness" left to clear?
 
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

What does flat mean??

I'm 5'9" and weigh 120 lbs... :roll:
You tell me!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

come down, Mighty Mini-Man!!

celi
 
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

I would keeeeeeeel to be as flat as you!

I'm 5'3" and weigh 220 lbs (and I always have to follow that up with "But I've lost 10 lbs! :-D )
 
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

When Mookie's numbers are flat, which doesn't happen often, I see it as a reprieve from his normal bouncing. Maybe he doesn't feel any different, but it's a lot less stressful for me.

He'll come down -- won't you Cini?
 
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

Flat means just what you think: flat. I like to call it surfing.

Depending where that flat is located is more important.
If you see a cat just stuck up in the 400s, they are pretty flat, no ups and downs, and that cat may need more insulin. A flat curve in the 300s and 200s are pretty much the same... nice and steady but not going anywhere, this is the best I can do on this dose, and you may want to, need to adjust the dose if you want some better numbers.

Ultimately, you want to see some nice even numbers under that 100 mark. It's great if you can see an improvement in the numbers and are able to reduce the dose to just drops, but flat means all is steady where we are and likely not going to change.

You will always aim for flat, and preferably off insulin eventually, but if your cat needs the insulin and likes the dose, a steady under 120 curve is great, and that's even if your dose is 2units BID or 21units BID.
 
Re: 3/6-Cini Mini- AMPS 378,+3/384,+6/384 - What does flat m

Thanks Gayle.

I think I should increase Cini's insulin to 0.25 units tomorrow morning then. He's been on this run of 0.20 units for 6 days (including today) and he's cleared the bounce from March 3rd.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top