3/5 Zener PMPS 401;+2 323;+3 269;+5 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Well, well, well. Zener is still green this morning after his PJ party last night (down to 38!). We reduced from a skinny 1.0 to 0.75u since our guy does not hold reductions well. Paws crossed on this one. Appy is a little feeble this morning, probably because he ate so much last night plus his honey-laced treats that he just loves. Expecting a bounce today so probably won't get it. :lol: :lol: Crazy cat.

We are thinking of switching to a pen from a vial. The hospital pharmacy sells individual pens for $55 compared to a vial for $135 at Walgreens. Any suggestions about the switch? We know not to inject air into the pen.

Thinking of ailing kitties and beans. Happy Tuesday LL!
Liz
 
Re: 3/5 Zener AMPS 76

Wow, you must be sleepy or was Anne the night Bean? Congrats on the skinny reducie. That was some pj party, huh Zener, and look at all the good fuds, too! I still use the vial, but that sure would be a savings with the pen. I think most here use the pen. Have a great day and Zener, surf safely today for yur Beans.
 
Re: 3/5 Zener AMPS 76

Nice green start for Z man again this morning! Congrats on the reducie!! I hope you all got a little sleep anyway.

We switched to pens a year ago and love it. The vial was $125 and only lasted us about 45 - 60 days at the most. I can use the pens to the last drop. The cost here is $225 for 5 pens at Sam's. It seems less volatile and a little more protected than the vial. I have dropped a vial before and lost it all. I have dropped the pens a few times and no incidence since it is in plastic and a little more protected. (I am not recommending dropping insulin, but I am a dropper.)

Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 3/5 Zener AMPS 76;+1.5 171;+3.5 246

Ah well, pokey break for today. We're off to the vetty shortly for a dental exam. We are hoping we can hold off on a dental until school is out. We'll see what our vet thinks about his mouth. Paws crossed things are stable.
 
Re: 3/5 Zener AMPS 76;+1.5 171;+3.5 246

I hope everything went well at the vet today and Zener can wait on the dental. Congrats on the reducie. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401 vet report

Well, we were hoping the dental could wait but not to be. His breath is pretty stinky and he had some tender teeth and several bleeding points and plaque on all teeth. We discussed going with a round of ABs now and seeing if that would buy us a little time trying to wait until May when school is out, but together with our vet decided we shouldn't wait. We'd prefer to use the most minimal amount of ABs because of his GI issues, so we might as well work that around the dental and not anymore than necessary. Several teeth looked like they might need to come out, but she won't really know until getting to the nitty gritty of the procedure. So, we have the dental set for a week from Friday, the day before spring break, so we have the next week off to stay and take care of the big guy. Liz is planning a trip to visit Marje, Mike, Gracie and posse in Tucson (and her DS and DBIL) leaving here early in the week, so paws crossed all the drama is over by then! And I'll be around to be the BIC. ;-)

We feel so lucky to have a good vet in such a small town, and one who believes in the team approach - the patient, the bean and the vet. She went through all the possible ABs, pros and cons and I looked back at Zener's condo from his first dental in Dec 2011, and saw that both clindamycin and clamavox caused pudding poo. We briefly considered using the Covenia injection (he had that for an post-cat fight infection pre-FD diagnosis with no side effects) so that we did not have to use oral ABs and mess with his GI system.Our vet was not eager to use the Covenia but was also concerned about his bout of inappetance after his last dental. She feels like we have his GI system much more stable now though. After I got home, I also found a post on Zener's condo in 2011 about Sienne's vet using an injection of Clindamycin for Gabby. So I got in touch with our vet about that option and she was good with using the injection of clindamycin rather than the Covenia or the oral ABs. We are so grateful to LL for such knowledge here! :YMHUG:

@Ann & Maggie - I (Anne) am plum tuckered! It was a wild night, and I had to be at school at 10am thankfully and not 8am! Thanks for the vetty vines, dental couldn't be avoided. We will be much better prepared this time and we have a well-informed vet.

@Melissa & Mr T - thanks for the info! Liz is hoping for a pen lesson from Marje and Gracie next week. We're going to get a prescription from our vet for one pen, and see how it goes after the dental is done. If we like it okay, we'll probably switch too. That's good to know the pen is resistance to dropsy! We dropped one vial and broke it, then got these handy dandy little neoprene sleeves to protect the vials. The most we've gotten from a vial is three months, so we still leave quite a lot unused.

@Anne & Muffin - woo hoo! Now, time will tell how this reducie holds. Patience....

@carla - we hoped to wait on the dental too, but it wasn't our best course of action for a healthy Zener weiner. So, we're off to see the tooth fairy next week.

Thanks all for stopping by today and all the congrats on a reducie and the vetty vines. Appy is happy this evening, yard rounds completed and Zener is probably tucked away in Liz's lap for a post-dinner nap. We are a little nervous about the dental, but also feel much better prepared this time to deal with complications, which paws crossed, we won't need to worry about!
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401

Yep, Zener is getting some lap time. :-D :-D :-D He used to be a big lap kitty then stopped and is now back. So dinner will be late tonight.

True confessions: I dropped the vial. :roll: :roll: :roll:
Liz
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401

Too bad that Zener needs a dental, but I think you figured that was coming sooner rather than later. Good that you can schedule it around time off and maybe get some abs that'll cause few complications this time. It does sound like you have a great vet.

It looks like Zener is going to let the night bean catch up on some much needed rest. I hope you got a nap in today Anne - that was quite the night. :shock:

Anne - The physio clinic I'm going to is run by a physio who has worked the last four Paralympic games. And she's worked with the national women's wheelchair basketball team. :-D

ETA: I started with a vial and then switched to cartridges (the refill inside the pen, not avail in the US)
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401

Wendy&Neko said:
Too bad that Zener needs a dental, but I think you figured that was coming sooner rather than later. Good that you can schedule it around time off and maybe get some abs that'll cause few complications this time. It does sound like you have a great vet.

It looks like Zener is going to let the night bean catch up on some much needed rest. I hope you got a nap in today Anne - that was quite the night. :shock:

Anne - The physio clinic I'm going to is run by a physio who has worked the last four Paralympic games. And she's worked with the national women's wheelchair basketball team. :-D

ETA: I started with a vial and then switched to cartridges (the refill inside the pen, not avail in the US)

Thanks Wendy, this vet is our 4th or 5th since arriving in Flagstaff 16 years ago. I am hoping to catch up on sleep tonight, no nap because of our vetty visit. How great for you to have a physio who works with athletes who use wheelchairs, she will know her arm stuff like no one else! And the Canadian women's wheelchair basketball team rocks! Poop on the US not having the cartridges, you are way ahead of us in Canada!
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401

Feel like I'm a little late to the party...but, I just wanted to say I switched from the vials to a pen and I like it a lot better. In fact, I dropped my first pen in the parking lot when I got it :oops: The fool thing lasted all the way to the end!! Seems like a tighter little package to house such a fragile little payload.

Hope Z-man has a good dental - sounds like he's a pro!

And, btw Zener - time to come down from there! I know you like to be dramatic, but really... :lol:
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401

Hi guys, sorry Zener needs a dental, but you've really done your research on everything, including the AB's and sounds like you have a wonderful Vet, too. Zener is a very lucky kitty. Have a great nap and hope you can get some rest, Anne, with lasy night's wild night.
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401

Hi Liz and Anne - sorry to be so late in visiting you today, and my MIA in general. I don't know where the time goes...

Wonderful cycles for Zener, excluding that pmps tonight. Zener - since you and Mannie are in the same general area maybe you two can find the way down together. Congrats on the reducie too - way cool!

Sorry for the needed dental, and I hope it all goes well. I so remember the last one he had. and the appy issues. It does sounds like your vet has thought it all out, lots of options and that all three of you can come up with a plan.

have a great evening!
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401

I'm sorry Z needs another dental, but it sounds like you guys have the ideal plan and ideal team in place! We'll be thinking of you guys as that day approaches. In the mean time...pet more, worry less!!

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 3/5 Zener PMPS 401;+2 323;+3 269

I dropped a (Canadian) cartridge last fall and it cracked! (But I still prefer the cartridges because they are small and easy to hold when drawing a dose. I think the pens are clunky.)

Sorry to hear that mighty Z needs a dental, but you are wise to have it done as soon as possible. He'll feel better with the bad teeth outta there. Good luck with the A/B decision.

Have a good evening with your sweet kitties,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top