? 3/5 PMPS 133 / +2 90 / +3 60 / What shoud I do?

the problem with glucose, as you know, is that it wears off quickly.

Right.
Pepe's 3/1 APMS +11 went up for a while, and just before that, he fed 3cc of glucose.
But it fell right away.
It will help in an urgent moment, but it doesn't seem to help Pepe, whose numbers continue to fall.
 
Right.
Pepe's 3/1 APMS +11 went up for a while, and just before that, he fed 3cc of glucose.
But it fell right away.
It will help in an urgent moment, but it doesn't seem to help Pepe, whose numbers continue to fall.
So maybe high carb mixed with the glucose? Or a different flavor high carb food that Pepe likes? Or even a little higher carb dry food on top of some wet food? I would experiment to see what works. The dry food takes longer to raise blood glucose, but it lasts a longer time in most cats.
 
The dry food takes longer to raise blood glucose, but it lasts a longer time in most cats.
Pepe loves dry food very much. Among them, RoyalCanin Diavetic eats well like a snack.
It became 52 again at PMPS +1.5 on 3/1, and eventually ate 15g of RoyalCanin Diavetic and went up to a very high number beyond safe green.lol
I think she should find a way to get him out of the low numbers properly.

Pepe is eating lunch well right now!
 
She thinks he's out of a little dangerous situation.
So, +4.5 will not be checked, but +5 will be checked.

If there's a dangerous situation again, I'll ask for help!
Thanks a lot!
 
I have a friend whose diabetic cat sneaked into some high carb dry food last night. He went into Red! He is usually green or blue. This morning he was still high (in pink). So the effects of the high carbohydrate dry kibble are taking a long time to wear off on him... but every cat is different.
 
but every cat is different.

YES! Here is:rolleyes:

My cat hates wet food so much that I still give him 19% Carb dry food only.
Fortunately, however, he mostly shows blue or green!

It'll be better if he eats wet food, but I'm very grateful for this.

I tried some wet food on him.
He ate one or two wet foods of low carb. But he vomited every time, so I stopped trying this. Perhaps some ingredients in wet food do not fit him.
I've tried something else, but he doesn't want any wet food.:banghead:
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Pepe pretended to come up with a safe number after lunch and fell back to 53 at +9.:arghh:
She will give him 1 tsp of HC and 1cc syrup.

I have a question, does she shot AMPS regardless of the number and feed him a little until a safe number comes out?
 
I am just seeing this now. I probably would have shot a more reduced dose for the am shot, but that’s just me. It was a long night for you all. I hope Pepe will do well today. You two are capable of handling lows though. I hope it won’t be necessary.
 
I am just seeing this now. I probably would have shot a more reduced dose for the am shot, but that’s just me. It was a long night for you all. I hope Pepe will do well today. You two are capable of handling lows though. I hope it won’t be necessary.

He ate 5g of dry food twice more(+10/+11).:blackeye:
 
He sneaked it?
Pepe's mom wasn't ready to take a shot at a low number(under 80), so she fed him a little more.
He ate 5g of dry food for +10, but he gave 5g more dry food because +11 was 61.

We don't know Pepe's pink is because of dry food or his favorite bounce, but she'll be a little more careful about dry food.

I had to sleep all day today because I was so nervous last night.:blackeye:
 
Pepe's mom wasn't ready to take a shot at a low number(under 80), so she fed him a little more.
He ate 5g of dry food for +10, but he gave 5g more dry food because +11 was 61.

We don't know Pepe's pink is because of dry food or his favorite bounce, but she'll be a little more careful about dry food.

I had to sleep all day today because I was so nervous last night.:blackeye:
Pepe is very bouncy. At least there is time to rest during a bounce. Best wishes to you and your friend and to DJ and Pepe!
 
Back
Top