3/5 Minnie PMPS 259, +2 248,+7 204, +9.25 237 - acro test questions

s it normal for numbers to stay so flat with the human meter (I know, I know ECID ;)) but 290 @+9 and 295 @AMPS? I almost want to take extra readings because I'm struggling to believe the numbers are not fluctuating, ha!

During a bounce, numbers can be high and flat. Let's see what today brings. Am off to bed! Good luck! :-)

P.S. I can see you were able to advance the shot time finally this AM!
 
Question - should we get an IAA test at the same time as acro?

The IM vet only recommended fructosamine and acro test for Minnie. It seems people get tests for acro and IAA at the same time and I just read in another post from @Wendy&Neko that both tests are done in Michigan so I wondered if it makes sense to do both, since the sample is going anyway?

IM didn't mention IAA and I am too ignorant to know if it's even warranted. Also I am switching to a new IM but they can't see us til end of April for our first consult. Should I go ahead with the tests now or wait?

thanks
 
Yes, if you are getting the IGF-1 test, add on the IAA test. It's a very cheap add on and you'll save on shipping and blood draw costs if done all at once. I've seen cats tested for acro and it's come back negative and caregiver is stuck wondering why high numbers without knowing the IAA number. IAA is insulin auto antibodies, think of it like an allergic reaation to the injected insulin. Be prepared that the vet might not know about it. We've also had vets decide on their own it wasn't necessary. Insist on it. Not sure why the fructosamine though? If you are wondering about whether Minnie has it, I'd get the tests done. If she does, the sooner treatment started, the better.
 
Not sure why the fructosamine though? If you are wondering about whether Minnie has it, I'd get the tests done. If she does, the sooner treatment started, the better.

Thank you!

Last guidance from our current IM was 16Feb for the increase to 3.5u and her next step was to order the fructosamine and acro tests. I asked what we would get from the fructosamine that we weren't already getting from my readings and this was her reply
Should Minnie be stable at home with stable water consumption, weight and eating well then it may not be as important to so tightly monitor her blood sugar levels. The fructosamine gives us the averages of her blood sugars and may allow us some comfort that we are adequately controlling her diabetes in spite of her sporadic readings

Since we're finally seeing some progress after the increase to 4u and 4.25u under guidance here, I'm now in process of switching to another IM. They can't get us in for initial consult til end of April, though I'm on a waitlist. I figured I'd get the tests run now by my primary vet but will work with the new IM on a treatment plan.
 
Yes, but a cat cat seeing numbers ranging from 450 to 50 might average out to the same as a cat seeing 250 all the time. They mean something completely different in terms of what you'd do with the dose. The first case you'd either hold the dose or even reduce, the second you'd increase. Some vets seem bent om trying to reduce the number of times people test. As long as Minnie is OK with it, it's the best way to keep her safe. I lost track of the number of times Neko surprised me on random spot checks. :eek: Followed by a bounce or course, which would raise the average BG.

I agree, get your primary vet to go ahead with testing, and you should get results back before end of April, which may or may not change the consult with the IM.
 
. Some vets seem bent on trying to reduce the number of times people test. As long as Minnie is OK with it, it's the best way to keep her safe.
I did get that impression! I sent her the s/s and a simplified version pasted into an email and she said it was too much data
"There is just a lot of data and it is challenging to pick out the needed information"
I was surprised at how infrequently they checked BG when she was in the ICU, when I looked back at paperwork yesterday - 3x/12h shift, a bit more when they put the Libre on her.

Minnie was down to 109 @+5 which is when she was dropping a couple of days ago, so I gave her a little 10% MC based on what Bhooma suggested last night. 110 @+6 so I gave her some more.

I am desperately trying to learn how to read these charts - do these blues indicate she is clearing the bounce resulting from the 61 on 3/3? Is this what you call an active cycle?
 
Numbers do wobble around during a bounce, but that streak of blue does look promising on breaking the bounce.

Instead if MC, next time you see low blue, or even upper greens, try a couple tsps of LC. That can help them surf, or hang out in that good healing range.

This is not an overly active cycle, more like a normal Lantus cycle.
 
Minnie did clear the bounce today. Often when I cat is giving to clear a bounce a couple of things happen. Sometimes there’s a high and then they cone day. Other times you see a flat yellow cycle. I think Bhooma told you to feed a little mc at+5 a couple days ago because she was down to 79. At +6 today lc would have been my choice but 10% isn’t a very high mc so it was fine.
 
Instead if MC, next time you see low blue, or even upper greens, try a couple tsps of LC

M At +6 today lc would have been my choice but 10% isn’t a very high mc so it was fine.

I was too scared to just give LC! (also I had an open can left from last night) - and that's why I kept on taking readings every hour...plus I wanted to see what was going on in there. Was so relieved to see it pretty stable but also couldn't quite believe my eyes. I haven't seen her consistently in numbers this low since she was diagnosed 11 months ago.

I am so grateful to have landed here!!:joyful:
 
Either she wants to make sure I sleep all night or she's just being cranky - she pulled away while I was giving the shot! There was 1u left in the syringe which I got in her about 10min later, and I'm hopeful at least 2u made it in. We shall see...
 
Have you noticed her pulling away from the shot previously? Just wondering if the acid base of Lantus is starting to sting her. It happens with some cats.
 
First time - but we're on Levemir, previously Lantus (I'll take the Lantus reference out of my signature now I've been on here with few weeks Levemir data)
 
248 @+2, tiny decrease since PMPS...do you think I need to get up in the night for any more readings or should be ok through to +9/10? She'll have food available. Thanks.
 
I did get that impression! I sent her the s/s and a simplified version pasted into an email and she said it was too much data
"There is just a lot of data and it is challenging to pick out the needed information"
I was surprised at how infrequently they checked BG when she was in the ICU, when I looked back at paperwork yesterday - 3x/12h shift, a bit more when they put the Libre on her.

Minnie was down to 109 @+5 which is when she was dropping a couple of days ago, so I gave her a little 10% MC based on what Bhooma suggested last night. 110 @+6 so I gave her some more.

I am desperately trying to learn how to read these charts - do these blues indicate she is clearing the bounce resulting from the 61 on 3/3? Is this what you call an active cycle?
HI Liz, did you have time to look at the explanation i made the other day to Minnie's charts? it is a simplified version since we are beginners as well but i believe it is sufficient for you to be able to understand them better. It was here

Today i got some additional explanation to our numbers, so it is a work in progress but i believe the drop down information in the post i made a few days ago is a good place to start :)

It's very nice to see Minnie surf the blue so steadily :) good luck further
I am so grateful to have landed here!!:joyful:
This is exactly what i think every single day and with every small progress Chico makes :cat::cat:
 
id you have time to look at the explanation i made the other day to Minnie's charts? it is a simplified version since we are beginners as well but i believe it is sufficient for you to be able to understand them better. It was here
Hi Marina - Going to look at it today (it's now early Saturday morning here at my PMPS+9). My brain was really not functioning well yesterday with lack of sleep and in between testing I was filling out paperwork for the new IM and ordering my first round of Levemir from Mark's Marine Pharmacy - oh my goodness, they are wonderful to work with and so efficient! Ha, excuses excuses I know but now I have a nice day of numbers from the human meters to include when I look at your explanation. I will keep you posted!!
 
Hope you are advancing your AM shot again by half an hour? :)
Mind-reader! Yes, snatched the food up 15min ago. Question for you - does it make sense to make that our new shot time (9:00)? It means I can get up and get a reading, give her a bit of food at +10? Or just bring it forward to 7:30/8:00, in which case I wouldn't give her food at PMPS +10.

I did get the automatic feeder which I will set up today though I'll have to figure how to stop her brother scoffing the food.
 
You can fix your shot time at your convenience. Depending on whether you are an early riser or a night owl :-)
Whatever works for you in terms of being able to get tests later in the cycle and feed at +9, if necessary and lift bowls at +10 etc.

No hard and fast rule as far as shot time is concerned.
 
Hi Marina - Going to look at it today (it's now early Saturday morning here at my PMPS+9). My brain was really not functioning well yesterday with lack of sleep and in between testing I was filling out paperwork for the new IM and ordering my first round of Levemir from Mark's Marine Pharmacy - oh my goodness, they are wonderful to work with and so efficient! Ha, excuses excuses I know but now I have a nice day of numbers from the human meters to include when I look at your explanation. I will keep you posted!!
Don’t worry, i know how overwhelming all this is in the beginnjng, it took us a long time as well to get thru all the relevant articles, to purchase everything we needed, we went thru a diet change 3-4 times because if Gi issued and we changed the vet as well, i realy understand how it is. I just think it is very helpful to see some patterns in the daily BG, you will anyway need advice, just like we still do, no doubts abt it, but understanding the basics keeps us a bit calmer as well :) take your time and good luck
 
Back
Top