3/5 Mac AMPS 186 +2 66 2.5 49 +3 42 +3.25 44 +3.75 58 +4 81 +6 135 PMPS 101

Mac is looking great Jill, I am so happy for you
Thank you!

we are coming to the conclusion that most likely he was experiencing steroid-induced diabetes and he was on an all dry diet with HC treats.
He has been off predisolone for almost 3 weeks and on LC for 2 weeks. So we are down to testing a drop dose.
Thanks again! Wishing you and Hendricks the best!! One day at a time!!
 
+2.5 49
Gave a tbsp of MC - 15 min ago
Just gave a 2 Tblsp of HC

I would love to avoid going with honey or sugar. I will test in 20 minutes and if I must I will. He is getting full
 
Last edited:
When dropping at the beginning of a cycle he needs higher carbs. You need to skip tonight and we need to try a food trial. Starting tonight you will feed only and keep testing to see what happens.

Why do you want to avoid honey or sugar? Hc is sugar. Both will raise the bg. Is it because he doesn’t like it?
 
+3 (20 minutes later) 42


Gave drop of honey in mouth. Test in 15 minutes

PS. Maybe we can go on a Pred free , LC diet for a week and see what happens
 
When dropping at the beginning of a cycle he needs higher carbs. You need to skip tonight and we need to try a food trial. Starting tonight you will feed only and keep testing to see what happens.

Why do you want to avoid honey or sugar? Hc is sugar. Both will raise the bg. Is it because he doesn’t like it?
Going with honey and I had come to conclusion of Food Trial too :)
 
We can’t call it an otj trial quote yet. We need to see how he does on all lc and if you see almost all tests under 100. If his pancreas is working the bg will come down 3-4 hours after eating . Given the chronic pancreatitis I would try feeding at pmbg tonight and then don’t feed or test for 2 hours. At that point even if not coming down feed him. I don’t think he should go more than 2 hours without food. What do you think?
 
We can’t call it an otj trial quote yet. We need to see how he does on all lc and if you see almost all tests under 100. If his pancreas is working the bg will come down 3-4 hours after eating . Given the chronic pancreatitis I would try feeding at pmbg tonight and then don’t feed or test for 2 hours. At that point even if not coming down fed him. I don’t think he should go more than 2 hours without food. What do you think?

that sounds reasonable to me. I think this week was needed to get the BG down while he was switching foods and releasing pred impact. I will continue to test and feed, just no shots and we can see where he is at in a few days.

Now to get him through the next 2 hrs. :)
 
+3.5 58 - Yay!

How often to monitor to see if he stays up. 30 minutes or 1 hr?

I did give him HC food 2.5 so that is kicking in and he has been getting drops of Karo syrup so I suspect it will continue to climb.
 
+4.0 81

Thanks so much Elise!

I will start food trial only and test and keep spreadsheet updated and keep in touch.
 
Great. Good luck. :D
Maybe the bigger challenge! Getting him to eat on his own.

You don't know of any super fabulous group like this one that deals with "kitties not eating" do you? I am hoping if I quit force feeding so rigorously and let him get some hunger signals I will get more clues to what is going on. With giving him insulin I didn't feel like I could withhold food from him for any length of time.

Take care!

PS I will be making a PayPal donation to this fabulous group. The dedication is second to none!
 
I would try cyproheptadine. If it doesn’t work try the transdermal mirtazapine. Or try I’m the reverse order. I have also had luck with regular strength zyrtec, 1/4 or 1/3 twice a day. It worked for my two so well. I think you are on the best group, the iOS pancreatitis board.
 
Back
Top