3/5 Kaia AMPS HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBat75

Member Since 2022
I was so hopeful that the ProZinc was starting to work. Her HI reading at preshot this morning had me really down. I can't get her in the vet for a few weeks to get insulin switched. What if new insulin causes these bounces too?
 
We can only do the best we can. Some cats just do not play by the rules. When was the last time you went to your vet? Do you really need a vet visit to get glargine prescribed?
My Wiggles played by the rules for the first year on about 0.4 units Levemir. Then either I would get not real response and if I raised the does hie would get a like 50 preshot. He had a dental with with teeth extracted but no change in regulation. The vet, w/o a visit prescribed glargine (Seemglee) with no change. Then tried Proinc, again w/o visit. The ProZinc was worse so went back to the glargine. I have gotten a few HIs wich is disconcerning.
 
Help!! I can't find any Dr. Elseys chicken flavor dry food anywhere!! Sold out!! What else can I give her? She loves her crunchy food.

Also, why are Kaia numbers so HI today? It hasn't typically been this high at +3 and +6!
@FrostD
 
Last edited:
We can only do the best we can. Some cats just do not play by the rules. When was the last time you went to your vet? Do you really need a vet visit to get glargine prescribed?
My Wiggles played by the rules for the first year on about 0.4 units Levemir. Then either I would get not real response and if I raised the does hie would get a like 50 preshot. He had a dental with with teeth extracted but no change in regulation. The vet, w/o a visit prescribed glargine (Seemglee) with no change. Then tried Proinc, again w/o visit. The ProZinc was worse so went back to the glargine. I have gotten a few HIs wich is disconcerning.
I'm sorry to hear about Wiggles struggles! I hope you can get it worked out! My Kaia has always been pretty HI, even the vet said she just runs hi... but today is making me nervous. I'll message her and see if I have to have a visit
 
Kaia numbers are so weird today!!! She was high all day, now preshot at PMPS is about 296 then keeps dropping still.... im really nervous

@FrostD

Anyone??
 
Last edited:
Shes bouncing from the greens last night!

You do need to reduce to 2.5U since she went below 90.

(Also reminder that when you edit a post, or add tags in an edit, it breaks the tags. I didn't get the notifications, sorry!)
 
These highs are all probably bounces from the lows. Remind me of the feeding schedule?

Chances are since she's seeing these drastic drops on ProZinc she'll see similar on Lantus/semglee BUT it should be easier to control, and not quite as drastic.
 
Thank you FrostD, I really appreciate you. Her feeding schedule is preshot... then +1 and +2. She doesn't eat a lot at +3....
 
Same thing during nighttime cycle? Because the nights are the bigger "problem" with the bigger drops
 
Yes, I do nothing different
Ok. Tell her to switch her nights and days at least so you can sleep!

Perhaps you can experiment - start with a PM +1.5, and if that shows a drop try a medium carb food around 12% and see if that helps slow her down.
 
Ok. Tell her to switch her nights and days at least so you can sleep!

Perhaps you can experiment - start with a PM +1.5, and if that shows a drop try a medium carb food around 12% and see if that helps slow her down.
Haha! I've had that conversation with her. Told her mama can't stay up with her every night.
I'll give it a go... keep you posted
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top