3/5 Chuck PMPS "HI"; 0.1U @+12.5; 414 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10

Oh, yeah! And I'll take upper 200's and lower 300's over the 500-600's we had on Sunday!!!
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5

<sigh!> Guess I'll be home at lunch for a test... He can't be bouncing, can he???
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

"HI" again on the meter at pre-shot. Anybody around to give dose advice?
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

I think you can go up a little bit. Would you be able to up the dose by 50% and make it 0.15? Like half a drop more?
I'm glad you can come home at lunch. Can you come home at lunch tomorrow? You'd have to get extra tests in.

Please let me know.
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

Let's see what Sienne says.. Maybe we should wait until the bounce is over.
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

I hadn't given his evening shot yet, but will try upping the dose a drop. Tomorrow I have an early doctor's appointment an hour away, so won't be able to test past +1. I can come home for lunch tomorrow, too. But I won't be able to get any more tests in during the day, other than pre-shot, +1 and +7 or +8...
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

OK, hold off on the shot for now. How long will the bounce last do you think?
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

Bounces can last up to 72 hours, but hopefully Chuck will come down sooner than that.

You can come home for lunch tomorrow, and you can do an AMPS, a +1, a lunch time test, and a +7 or +8?
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

The +7 or +8 would be lunch time -- his AM shot is 5:30... So I'd only be able to get 3 tests before the evening pre-shot test.

Should I go ahead and shoot the 0.1U now? He's coming up on 30 past due (+12.5+)...
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

Yes, go ahead and shoot the 0.10.
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

Shot 0.1U at +12.5.

Chuck had a UTI in December that seemed to be the cause of his higher numbers. We went through 4 antibiotics, the last one being Orbax. At that point, vet said it had to be diabetes again. There was no urinalysis after the last course of antibiotics.

So, should I take him back for a urinalysis and other bloodwork? He did have bloodwork in December, when we started the antibiotics for the UTI. The last urinalysis was January 9th with the following results:

Glucose 2,000
Bilrubin Negative
Ketone Negative
Specific gravity 1.030
Blood Large
pH: 6.5
Protein 30
Urobilinogen Normal
Nitrate Negative
Leukocytes Small to moderate
Microscopic results (this is handwritten) bactric cocci (not sure if this is right)

At that point, he was put on Clavamox drops. His dental disease was Grade 3 (we did a dental later in the month, even though his BG was over 300). The tests were urinalysis, ultrasound cystocentesis and cytology (that's probably not a test, probably the reading of everything).

His BG's for the month of December were in the 300's.

So, should I take him back for another urinalysis? Is it possible his high numbers are because of a UTI? Can they run a test that shows the functioning level of the pancreas, liver, kidneys, etc.?
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

A Spec fPL can show whether he has pancreatits. Has he been eating well? Does he act like he's in pain? Meatloaf?

Bloodwork should show how the liver and kidneys are doing.

Did he have extractions at his dental and if so were xrays taken afterwards to make sure all the root pieces were removed?

Let's see what others say.
 
Re: 3/5 Chuck 328 AMPS; 0.10; 478 +3.5; 494 +8; PMPS "HI"

He's eating well, using the little box normally. I've watched him urinate and he doesn't appear to be straining or in pain.

No meatloafing and he responds when I talk to him; normally purrs, but not when his numbers are high. Get him down below 300 and he wants lots of attention.

No extractions during any of the dentals - we've been lucky.

I'll be testing in about 15 minutes, it will be +2.
 
He's coming down, I hope it's not too fast. The BG meter manual only says that a "HI" reading is >600, so i really have no idea what his number was tonight. A drop of 186 in 2 hours makes me think bounce, bounce, bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top