3/5 Checkers pmps 126+1/179+2/255 +7.5/323

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Holy Cow... 3rd cycle Lev....he's screaming for breakfast.......never had such low amps..(59)
Make him wait to eat, than test again?

waited 20 minutes...raised to 68. I'm assuming it was okay to feed, as he was rising......it could have been meter variance, I know.

Now what to do about shot. Give regular .5?.......I don't know lev....this is only 3rd cycle!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. NEED HELP..59 AMPS...SHOOT?

Sorry, I was reading another condo. Yes, do not feed and test again in 20.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. NEED HELP..59 AMPS...SHOOT?

Barb --

I'm off and on the Board right now. The low AMPS is no doubt due to the late nadir with Lev. Did you get any PM tests last night?
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68.....SHOOT??

since his nadir was so late, can I assume there is plenty of time now, for it to onset?

I'm not afraid to shoot......I'll be here all day.....lots of strips

3 tests so far....59...66......68 ....with no food
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68.....SHOOT??

I would shoot, but let's see what Sienne says. The onset of Lev is usually around +4, and you are prepared and will be home to monitor.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68

I'm going to shoot as he is feeling great. His numbers were coming up slightly.....or it could have been meter variance.
I'm taking the chance, fed a litte, am going to shoot, his normal .5.
I'll monitor closely. I don't know Lev.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68.....SHOOT??

It looks like Sienne is busy, so if you want to test again, let's see where he is at, even though we know he has eaten.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68.....SHOOT??

Good, that's what I would do.

A nice exciting start to your day :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68.

You're doing great. Lev can scare you with those late nadirs. Hope you and Checkers cope easily.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68.

Well, that was interesting.
Strange morning. Normally Checkers sits on sink,quietly waiting for me to get up.

This morning, I heard him vocalizing. Not right. When I got up, he led me to kitchen, telling me all about how I never feed him and look what a starving cat he is.

Suspicious of behavior that's different, I tested....58! Great number any other time, not half hour before shot.
I wouldn't have been so freaked at lantus, but I don't know lev, didn't know if he was dropping, or rising. :o

I know that Gracie has a very late nadir on lev....could this be his nadir from last night's shot? Yikes!
A few tests showed slight rise, but meters will give 5 different numbers from the same drop of blood. sigh

All the time, Himself was yelling at me, for abusing him...so I gave a teaspoon of lc.

Now 40 minutes after food, and 20 minutes after shot, he is rising.

Wow, nervousness can make one chatty. :lol:
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106

Wow Barb! our boys are keeping us on our toes aren't they! Nice (but scary!) number for Checkers. seems like he likes the Lev! I hope Rupert him somewhere on the middle/lower floors at some point today!!!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79

Should I try to slow this down, or see where it's going first??? He just ate a litte tuna and FF LC chicken, so I guess I answered my own question.

eta; I know these are beautiful numbers, but I just am nervous, since I don't know how lev will work on him.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79

WOOHOO!!!!!!!

SOME LIL GREY BOY LIKES HIS LEV!!!!!!!

dk8.gif
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79

You're doing the right thing by feeding a bit of LC and testing in 30.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3/74

Hi guys and GOOD MORNING CHECKERS! Wow barb, how exciting! I can only imagine your nervousness as like you said, you aren't familiar with lev .. but dang .. look at checks go!!!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3/74

Does the 5 second rule apply to strips? :roll:
I dropped a brand new canister, and they spread out on kitchen floor. nailbite_smile

I'm so excited....I haven't seen a nice surf like this, since last summer. I can't stop trembling this morning.
I know, I'm a big baby, but but but....he's been so high for so long.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3/74

Hi Barb,
You are doing great. When I shoot a low number at PS, I figure I am not shooting for "now", but for where Rusty will be in 4 hours or so. This is a great opportunity for you to see whether or not there is overlap and when his onset from this morning's shot will begin. It is very possible that this dose is producing a late nadir and that your AMPS number may have been the nadir from his shot yesterday evening. Rusty does not have this type of overlap (therefore, I don't really know how to deal with it), but I know that Gracie does and I hope that Marje will be along to give you some input.

In any event, it's good that you are around today. I'll be keeping an eye on Checkers, too.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3/74

Ella, overlap is exactly what I think i'm dealing with. He gave a 58 this morning, which was +11 from last night, so Omigosh, I hope that isn't going to always be his nadir...+11 :!:

We're just getting to know, lev.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3/74

Wow Barb! I'm so impressed! you are doing so well, as is Checkers!!! I hope these numbers are going to stay with him now for a long time!! Will be interesting to see how he reacts, bounce-wise, to the Lev vs Lantus. Given that he seems to have handed his bouncing title to Rupert for the time being, we are watching closely!!! Way to go Checkers...I hope Rupie misses you enough to join you soon! Hang in there Barb, you are our inspiration!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68.

Barb & Checkers said:
When I got up, he led me to kitchen, telling me all about how I never feed him and look what a starving cat he is.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Poor Checkers.

What a funtastic morning for you guys! Lots of hope for many more exciting days (not nights...ya hear that checks?! ;-) )
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3 /74+4/66

Thank you all for the support. :-D

I'm a bit confused right now. I don't want to stop his fun in the lagoon, but how low do I let it go, before trying to stop the dropping?

I love that it is slow, so far. I'm afraid to believe it will last, and fear that awful dive, that I'm used to seeing.
So far, I've been giving very low carb treats for testing.

Should I be stopping the descent?

sorry, I get chatty when nervous
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3 /74+4/66

You are asking all the right questions barb .. I wish I knew some of the answers for you! I can't believe how well checks is doing, and so soon too! How exciting .. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3 /74+4/66

I understand where you are coming from, Barb.
Right now Checkers is surfing. If you factor in meter variance of 20% his +4 is basically the same as the +3.
You are probably getting to the point where the insulin will start kicking in from this a.m.'s shot.
You are wonderful with testing and Checkers is too (especially when there are treats involved!)

If you are nervous, test at 4.5. Keep posting. I can be around. All Im doing is looking for jobs online and waiting to pick up my car from the shop.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+.75/106+2/99+2.5/79+3 /74+4/66

Hi again, Barb,
What and how much do you normally feed at this time (+4 and after)? I would probably give Checks something in the 5-7% range to keep him from dipping, since onset should be beginning, or have begun. With Rusty, I give him "lunch" usually at +5.5 (after onset has begun) and this tends to keep him surfing. If he is low (like he is today: 49 at +5.5) I give some FF T&G (ca. 7%) along with his usual Wellness Turkey (4%), about a heaping teaspoonful of each. This will bring him up, but not too much. ECID, but it's a strategy you might be willing to try.

Good luck. I have to go out for a while this afternoon, but I'll check in on you again before I leave.

Hang in there. You are doing GREAT!

Ella
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+2/99+4/66+6/75

I edited initial subject line. Most numbers were unnecessary.

amps 80.......original numbers of 59, 66 and 68 were actually +11 from last night. Heaven only knows how low he dipped.
+.75/106
+2/99
+2.5/79
+3 /74
+4/66

Point is, he's been green so far today.

Ella, I don't have a plan of feeding for Checkers. I always give a lc treat of some sort after tests, otherwise, he feeds on demand. When he wants to eat, I feed, because of his weight issue.

Carolyn, I don't know yet, when onset is, of lev. Seems like he's been surfing since last PM cycle.
How in the world do I know when today's has kicked in? He's had only LC food today. Nothing to bring him up or keep him surfing.

I'm wondering today, if this is lev action, or if I had a whole bad box of Lantus pens all this time.

I'm looking at his journal, and see a few good days in early Feb, but those were not good surfs, just a few hours of too low , with me struggling to get his numbers up.
this is the best day I can remember for many many months.....but my memory is lousy :lol:
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+2/99+4/66+6/75

Hard to say on the box of lantus .. I would wonder that too .. but in the meantime, I'd be grinning from ear to ear with these numbers!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+2/99+4/66+6/75

I think so too, Dyana :smile: .
Thanks for support this morning. :-D I really was scared, never having had a amps that low. It was +11 from last night, I was seeing.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+2/99+4/66+6/75

Wow, nice on Checks response to the Lev! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Tess usually onsets about + 4 or +5, occasionally it will be earlier if she is having a very active cycle.We don't get the carry over Gracie does, nadir is usually between +8 and +10. Again, there are exceptions. One thing we do is spread her meals out mor, the last one being at +6 to prevent too fast a drop once the Lev is in full force.
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 68+2/99+4/66+6/75

Hi again, Barb,
This is a perfect place to be at +6 or so. He's surfing nicely. Lev is known for a "flat" curve. I think you need to edit your initial subject line again to reflect the true AMPS number of 80. The edit you did apparently didn't register. It is good to know that Checkers seems to have a late nadir (+11?), but sometimes there is a "double dip" late in the cycle, so earlier numbers (+9 or +10) may have been somewhat higher than the 59, 66, and 68 that you got at +11. It will be interesting to see what happens this afternoon.

You are doing wonderfully. I can "hear" how excited you are.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 80+2/99+4/66+6/75+8/84

. Today was weird, because I got up early, tested early and didn't know which number to claim for amps. By +12, I had fed a little, because he was demanding.

This day has been so flat, I dont know where onset began.
Looks like I'm gonna be losing sleep tonight. I got no numbers after +3 last night, 'cause I had no idea to expect a reaction to Lev, so quickly.

Tomorrow will be interesting.

And yes Ella, I admit to shedding a few tears today. :-D
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 80+2/99+4/66+6/75+8/84+10/105

PJ PARTY!!!! That's a possibility, but look at those numbers--Pretty great!
I like lantus for our needs, but hope you have great success--sure looks like it--
Know how devoted you are-Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 80+2/99+4/66+6/75+8/84+10/105

What a fantastic day Checkers!

Wonderful job taking care of your boy, Barb!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers. amps 80+2/99+4/66+6/75+8/84+10/105

HI Barb

Sorry I'm just getting to all the excitement. This is what you want....all this glorious overlap that you can get from lev where you don't know where the next cycle starts :-D

A couple things people have already mentioned but a late nadir is great but you have to learn how to deal with it and it's going to take some adjustment from lantus. Jill, Ann, and I have all shot numbers in the 40s because we know there will typically be a delay in onset for that shot; even when Gracie gets great overlap, she usually (but not always) comes up just a tad at the end of one cycle and before she starts the next. I also don't worry about feeding between +10 and +12 because the food spike is not as big an issue with lev as it is with lantus due to the delayed onset.

This is absolutely beautiful and just what you want to see!! How fantastic!!! It's going to take some testing to gather data to see what he's going to do and I wouldn't want to speculate just based on a couple cycles. Let's give it a little bit more time and see if a pattern really develops. Trying to figure out how to feed a lev cycle is not as straight forward as lantus especially because there seems to be so much variability from cat to cat with onset and nadir. You will have to experiment with it but even if Gracie throws me a low number near her nadir, I feed it with 8-10% because of her overlap; like today...she didn't really come up much before she onset and I don't want her at 50 when she onsets. So good overlap is a wonderful thing but you just have to watch it unless the kitty is super flat all the time.

I know Jill feeds Alex two portions at PS and then two portions before onset. I feed Gracie at PS, +2, +3 to keep her from dropping too low for her nadir. I give her a LC chicken snack at +4 as that is about the time she'll head up if she's going to. And then I give her the last portion at about +7 or +8 for when she onsets. That last portion is a movable feast for her as I use it to respond to onset since she is not necessarily habitual about it....sometimes it's +6 sometimes +7 etc.
I also know that Jill has changed Alex's feeding over time as they all seem to change patterns a bit...I know Grace has since we started lev.

The one thing that I would encourage you to do is shoot your PSs without stalling unless he really is too low. I probably would not shoot under 47 or 48 and I've only shot it once. But that is just me. I definitely shoot absolutely everything 50 or above because stalling doesn't work with a cat who nadirs as late as Gracie does. I need to get food and insulin in her so she gets that overlap. It's definitely a mindset change to see a 50 at PS and know you can shoot it. One word of caution....just be extra vigilant on testing after his shot until you can tell whether he nadirs after it or not.

You will eventually be able to pick out the patterns. You did absolutely awesome today!!
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers pmps 126

Oh my gosh, this is a lot to digest. :roll: Thank you Marje. :smile:
I was shocked to see a 58 when I got up at Check's +11, and didn't know if I could feed, being an hour away from amps.

I'l get it, little by little, as I go along. Luckily he is good about poking, cause he's getting plenty of it, while I gather data.

No sleep tonight. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers pmps 126

Barb, this has been an awesome cycle. You and Checkers should be proud of yourselves. I hope you were kidding about not getting any sleep tonight. You've gotta get sleep!! Try setting an alarm or two tonight to check on his bgs. Do you have an auto feeder? Now would be the time to use it!

You got lots of good input from Marje. After a few days you will be able to determine better what Checkers' patterns are going to be and it will all get less puzzling and even easier.

Have a good evening and give Checkers some scritches for us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers pmps 126

AMAZING day for Checkers! Hope you get some sleep. Looks like Lev is what really works for him! I'm jealous! Please tell Checkers to shout up the elevator shaft to Rupie who is still waaaaaaaaaay up there on the red floor, he's probably wondering where his buddy is!

inurelvator.jpg
 
Re: 3/5 Checkers pmps 126+1/179+2/255 fun while it lasted

Hmmm, this will be interesting to see when and if, he starts coming down again.
I was obsessive with the testing today, not knowing how lev works for him.
I'll get spot checks tonight, of course, but not every hour, like today.

Thank you all for visiting our condo, and offering advice and encouragement. I very much appreciate it all. :-D

Special thanks to Marje for writing all that out for me. I never had to worry about overlap with lantus, because it wore off before next shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top