3/5 BooBoo amps 192 +3 63 +5 66 +9 74 +12.5 105?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BooBoo Kitty

Member Since 2011
Hello Everyone!

We have been very busy over here with starting school again and the addition of my best friend and her 6 year old now in our house. I went back as far as I could on my spreadsheet and filled in the blanks, but some dates are missing because I couldn't go back any further on the meter. BooBoo has been doing great even went OTJ for almost 2 days (the weekend of Feb 19/20th) once and almost another 24 hours recently! Ketones still negative and lots of greens and blues for her as well!!!

I hope I didn't worry any of you, we have just been really, really busy! I will try to hop on every now and again but probably won't be a daily thing anymore, or at least til I get another break in school!!!

Hope everyone is well... :smile:
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo pmps 151 +3 84 +4 90 +5 100. Hello again!

Hi you guys and so happy to hear how well Boo Boo is doing :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo pmps 151 +3 84 +4 90 +5 100. Hello again!

Yay for BooBoo Kitty! Wonderful to hear how well she is doing! I hear ya on life catching up on you! thanks for checking in! have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo pmps 151 +3 84 +4 90 +5 100. Hello again!

I'm glad to hear that BooBoo is doing well! I'm a little confused, though. You said you didn't shoot on the weekend of Feb 12/13. Your SS indicated you shot 0.75u those days.

I'm not sure why you shaved BooBoo's dose. If it looks like the numbers aren't holding, increase the dose back to 0.75u. Remember, dose reductions are earned when numbers drop below 50 in a cat within the first year of diagnosis.
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo pmps 151 +3 84 +4 90 +5 100. Hello again!

hi, guys!

nice BooBoo report!

best of luck in school!
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo pmps 151 +3 84 +4 90 +5 100. Hello again!

I don't like when BooBoo gets too close to 50 because most of the time I am not here and it scares me when she drops so low at times that i might not be here to watch her in case of a hypo. That is why I shaved the dose. Besides, it's only like a few drops anyway... Stilll pretty the same just can't see a "space" between the .5 line and the .75 "line" (although there isn't one) if that makes any sense at all. She had gotten to 51 one day and if I hadn't had been here to give her some 23% food, not quite sure what would have happened. i'm just trying to keep her at a safe level so I can leave my house and not worry about her the whole time i'm gone! Also I had to miss school one day because she was dropping so low at only the +3 mark and that is not a good thing for me this early on in my semester!

Oh and woops... it was the weekend of the 19/20th of feb that BooBoo went OTJ. It was really nice of her too because we were hosting a bday party for my best friend that moved up here. it was almost as if BooBoo wanted to give us some peace of mind for a while!!! Thanx BooBoo!!!
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo amps 192 +3 63!

BooBoo is pretty low at the +3 mark. Now I am glad I shaved the dose a bit! Sometimes You just gotta go with your instincts when it comes to this diabetes business! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo amps 192 +3 63!

Nice bit of surfing happening here!!

Just to offer a slightly different perspective... If you let BooBoo's numbers drop below 50, she earns a dose reduction.

Most cats do not experience any hypo symptoms when their numbers drop. You do exactly what you did -- you feed some HC food to help the numbers come back up. I can understand your being apprehensive about numbers dropping when you're not home, though. Are you able to leave food out for BooBoo? Had you thought about getting a timed feeder?

I know a drop of Lantus doesn't seem like it would make a difference. In reality, it does. Any time we "fatten" or "skinny" a dose, it has an effect on the shed and an effect on BG levels. As it stands, I would hold this dose rather than make another adjustment.
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo amps 192 +3 63 +5 66

Definitely gonna hold this dose for sure as i am comfortable with it. I am going to get an auto feeder as soon as I get some money to get one. When I leave food out for her she basically eats it all at once I think because I have come home early one day from school and everything I left out even the frozen had been eaten all in like 2 and a half hours! Little piggy, she sure can eat!!! :lol:
 
Re: 3/5 BooBoo amps 192 +3 63 +5 66

Glad that BooBoo is doing well. I guess you do have to do what is comfortable with her dose. I know on my cat a drop of insulin makes a big difference though. Just be careful with thinking that a small amount isn't going to make much difference, it does. Goes for the other way too.

Have a nice night and good luck with school.

jan and sara
 
WOW!!! BooBoo is at 105 at =12.5! I will not be giving her a shot tonight as this is way to low for my comfort!!! I was even a half hour late checking her! Gave 0% carb at +8 so maybe that is helping her float???
 
If BooBoo's pancreas is, in fact, working, food at +8 may bring numbers down. What you're seeing is that numbers are heading back up (i.e., there' s a rise from your +9 to your PMPS).

Maybe not tonight, but I'm hoping that at some point you will be more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. You'e shot at 150. Maybe shooting somewhere between 100 and 150 is the next step. You do need to be prepared -- have strips and HC food.

Another option for tonight is to wait until +13 and see if numbers have come up to a level you're more comfortable with.

I'd also suggest that you take a look at this post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top