3/5/13 very strange AMPS today.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Active Member
AMPS were 546,407,365,334,392,365 This all within 10-15 minutes on both ears, I finally got a 365 on both ears so I went with that and gave him a 1.5 unit while he ate, also he had no food during the night. Checked ketones and they were negative.
Just did a +2 check and its 320
Have you guys seen anything like this? I think maybe a bad strip but all those #'s are so high. He is fine, walking fine, sleeping as he usually does during the day, alert, eyes clear. So I have no clue.
Thanks
 
The higher number is weird. I am going to guess a couple bad strips or bad readings. The fact that you got all the 300 readings (all within that 20% variance) suggest that was the ball park number. And your +2 supports that. I'd write it off as a bad test.
 
Ppossible reasons for sky high numbers this am are:

a) the rate of drop was very fast or
b) the amount of drop was great (he might've gotten lower than usual, which might not be that low, but not common for him). Do try to get a test before bedtime to see if he's heading down rapidly or far, just in case he's aiming for a hypo.

Either of these may trigger a 'bounce' or compensatory hormone release to protect the body by raising glucose.

The general idea is to have a dose you can shoot safely both am and pm. When you find you are having to skip a shot because he is too low, it may help to slightly (0.25 units) cut back on the dose being given, so that the next pre-shot won't be too low.

You may need a couple days for a bounce to clear, so don't consider changing the dose until you've gone a 3-5 days days and are reasonably certain the glucose isn't going to change further.

Also remember that glucometers are +/- 20% around the true value, so if the ranges overlap, the values are essentially the same
thus:
546 -> 436.8 to 655.2
407 -> 325.6 to 488.4
365 -> 292.0 to 438.0
334 -> 267.2 to 400.8
392 -> 313.6 to 470.4
365 -> 292.0 to 438.0
They do overlap each other (check test's 20% low vs next test's 20% high)
 
Thanks again guys, after reading your responses it feels like playing detective, seems to be that Loki should have been named "tigger" he seems to be a bouncy cat. And how do I help him with this, it seems when I change the dose he bounces a lot.
Can you take a look at his SS and let me know if I am off base here or do I need to do something else/different?
Thanks
 
Some cats do fluctuate a lot with a dose change - we even have a phrase for it - "new dose wonkiness".

It may help to make dose changes of only 0.25 units at a time. Are you using U-40 syringes or U-100 syringes? If using the U-40, it is possible to use the U-100 with a conversion chart, so you can make small dose changes. Alternatively, you can eyeball halfway betwwen half unit markings.

Then you nust have to ride it out for a few days.
 
Just did his +6 check and he is at 81 but it's his afternoon feeding time and he is hungry so I did feed him. Will post after his PMPS tonight.
I do have some u 100's but they are not marked but I found the conversion table and will be trying use them.
 
The formula for using U-100 for a U-40 insulin is

U-100 mark * 0.4 = U-40 dose
ex
U-100 syringe 1 unit mark * 0.4 = 0.4 units of U-40 Prozinc

If you put it in a spreadsheet, you can make a list of values like the conversion chart.
 
Wow, big drop, Michelle. I am thinking the 500 this am was a bad test. But even the 300s to 80 is a big drop. Wonder if he will continue to go down from the nadir? I think I'd get a +8 or so - he has gone long sometimes. Please get some input if he is under 200 for pmps.
 
I've done multiple tests on Xuxu's ears and got the same variance. especially in the low range though. I've learned to redo the test and not to panic unless both ears are low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top