? 3/4 - Xander | AMPS 132 - Another scary day (not the same thing). Should I reduce?

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
3/3/25

Added a "?" because of all the stuff that came up in the comments below the main post. Some additional information too: His cycle was weird. He dropped a lot starting even at +1 which is unusual for him. Now he's sky high, went from the 90s to almost 300 in less than 2 hours. He also hasn't gotten up from my desk to go drink or use the litterbox since his injection 8 1/2 hours ago. He is acting more normal (just sleepy) now that he's higher though.

Welp, another Libre failure. :rolleyes::banghead: I think this batch must've been a dud. The one I applied this morning is one that Abbott sent as a replacement for the one that didn't deploy. I'm picking up another set of 6 from the pharmacy today. Sure hope these ones aren't also a crappy batch.

Despite their readings not being considered accurate for the first ~12 hours, his AMPS was almost identical to yesterday's AMPS, which leads me to believe that it's probably accurate. So I gave him his dose.

The Mirataz must've started working, because he's happily eaten both morning meals today. :)

Have a great day!
 
Last edited:
OMG. :smuggrin: Can never get over this lil dude.

signal-2025-03-04-092237_002.jpg
 

Attachments

  • signal-2025-03-04-092237_002.jpg
    signal-2025-03-04-092237_002.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 199
He's been acting weird (groggy, lethargic, kind of unresponsive except for loud nosies or a lot of movement) enough for me to want to try to verify that he's not any lower than it says (lowest the Libre showed was 73).

He actually mostly let me do it which in itself proves he's not himself. However, all 8 test strips I attempted to use had error codes, so after all that work, I still have no number. I did, however, apparently raise him with the stress of being poked over and over to what it says is 150, but y'know, can't verify that either.
 
3/3/25

Welp, another Libre failure. :rolleyes::banghead: I think this batch must've been a dud. The one I applied this morning is one that Abbott sent as a replacement for the one that didn't deploy. I'm picking up another set of 6 from the pharmacy today. Sure hope these ones aren't also a crappy batch.

Despite their readings not being considered accurate for the first ~12 hours, his AMPS was almost identical to yesterday's AMPS, which leads me to believe that it's probably accurate. So I gave him his dose.

The Mirataz must've started working, because he's happily eaten both morning meals today. :)

Have a great day!
Hi Brianna, from your spreadsheet it looks like the new sensor picked up right in the same kind of blue numbers.

So that makes me think it’s accurate when it does that.

And he’s on day 3 of an increase, so it seems you’re seeing some action on the dose.
Good job attempting to get an ear reading.
It takes time and practice for both of you.
(I still am not so good at it, and Ivy gets very mad at me).

I hope you all have a good surf. And great job with that Libre application!! (I’ve done it in the middle of the night many times, too. It’s why you much have several at home ready to go!)

:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Brianna, from your spreadsheet it looks like the new sensor picked up right in the same kind of blue numbers.

So that makes me think it’s accurate when it does that.

And he’s on day 3 of an increase, so it seems you’re seeing some action on the dose.
Good job attempting to get an ear reading.
It takes time and practice for both of you.
(I still am not so good at it, and Ivy gets very mad at me).

I hope you all have a good surf. And great job with that Libre application!! (I’ve done it in the middle of the night many times, too. It’s why you much have several at home ready to go!)

:bighug::cat::bighug:

It did look like yesterday morning, which is why I thought it'd be safe to shoot. I figured his day would probably be about the same as it was yesterday. Would there be that drastic a difference between day 2 and day 3?

The only reason he even let me try testing is because he felt bad (otherwise he'd've run away the instant I tried to go for his ear, like always). I wouldn't have been particularly worried about the number it was giving me if it weren't for the fact that he was clearly not himself. Drooping, staring with his inner lids halfway out, barely responsive to being touched or talked to. Not limp like the weird sleeping incident yesterday, but very off. He didn't even seem like this when he hit 44 in the past so this was weird and upsetting.

He's skyrocketed now, probably more in relation to stress than the MC I was feeding him. It didn't shoot up like that until after the testing and he doesn't usually seem to have too big a reaction to food.
 
Those greens are looking good! Are they "real" greens? I know things are different with the Libre, but do you think he went that low today?
 
Those greens are looking good! Are they "real" greens? I know things are different with the Libre, but do you think he went that low today?

Based on his behavior and how high he is now I think he went significantly lower, but I wasn't able to find out by how much. :(
 
Okay, gotcha. How scary! And it looks like (almost) everything that could go wrong today, did.:nailbiting: I'm so sorry!! I hope you've gotten everything worked out with the Libre now.:bighug:

Yeah, it's been a bad day. The Libre's got another couple of hours before it hits the 12 hour mark, but he's super high now so I guess it doesn't matter lol Not sure what I should do tonight though. I don't have any confirmation that he actually went too low, and I don't want to mess up what we've got going if not.
 
Yeah, it's been a bad day. The Libre's got another couple of hours before it hits the 12 hour mark, but he's super high now so I guess it doesn't matter lol Not sure what I should do tonight though. I don't have any confirmation that he actually went too low, and I don't want to mess up what we've got going if not.
I'd put that question mark up to get some advice.
 
Doesn’t the Libre usually read a bit higher when BG is in the low range? Those numbers look good!
 
Doesn’t the Libre usually read a bit higher when BG is in the low range? Those numbers look good!

Normally, yes, but this was in the first 12 hours after application, where it's not necessarily accurate. Since his numbers seemed right this morning based on how he'd been yesterday, I figured it was probably pretty close. But then his behavior this afternoon seemed like he was much lower than it said.
 
Normally, yes, but this was in the first 12 hours after application, where it's not necessarily accurate. Since his numbers seemed right this morning based on how he'd been yesterday, I figured it was probably pretty close. But then his behavior this afternoon seemed like he was much lower than it said.
I have a feeling the response you’ll get is we can only dose based on numbers we see. It is strange about the behavior though… let’s see.
 
I suspect the skyrocketing is a bounce, been a while since he last saw green. I would hold the dose, nothing on the previous cycles on this dose says he was going low. As said above, we dose by what we see, not might have/could have/may dids.

On the up side, doses with green nadirs are held 10 cycles so you have a few cycles yet to see how this dose is doing.
 
I suspect the skyrocketing is a bounce, been a while since he last saw green. I would hold the dose, nothing on the previous cycles on this dose says he was going low. As said above, we dose by what we see, not might have/could have/may dids.

On the up side, doses with green nadirs are held 10 cycles so you have a few cycles yet to see how this dose is doing.

I kinda suspected the bounce too (albeit not mid-cycle like that, but he does seem to react strongly!) I just worried about his behavior since it's not like anything I'd seen before. Maybe after yesterday and his playing dead incident I was even more on edge. If you don't think how he was acting was enough to worry about though, I'll hold the dose. Thanks for your input!
 
Hi Brianna, I hope you had a safe night and Xander did well. Hope he has a very gentle slide down today from his bounce.
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top