3/4 Willie +13.5~46, +14~44, +14.25~53, stalling a bit more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

I increased Willie to 1.5u a few cycles ago, and it appears to be helping him to lower. after yesterday's exceedingly flat yellow, i'm hoping for some solid blues and maybe some greens today.

Vetty appt for a urine culture at 5pm... we'll be there at dose time, so taking our supplies and some fuds with us. we'll find out real quick what the new vet knows about hometesting and lantus!

okay, btb for a bit! thoughts and prayers for all kitties and beans needing them...will be catching up with everyone soon...but for now willie says it's cuddle time!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie AMPS 218

Good luck with the vetty appointment, and I bet you teach them a thing or two about Lantus and handling FD
 
Re: 3/4 Willie AMPS 218

For some kitty's a flat yellow cycle means action for the next one.
Good luck at the vet's.
Have a nice day Christie. :smile:
 
Re: 3/4 Willie AMPS 218

Good morning guys ... I hope that flat yellow cycle leads to some exciting blues and greens for you .. good luck at the vets .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie AMPS 218, +2~197

Hi guys! I hope the new dose is helping Willie - maybe some blues and greens today. paws crossed!

Good luck with the new vet. I goes it goes well - what a way to see how on board he is. I hope to hear that it went well.

Hey Willie!! Dude - you wanna get together before you go to that vetty place? uhhhhh - sorry for the vetty visit.... Let me know - I can pick you up! See you ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75

Back from the vet!! :)

Clearly didn't phase Willie. We had two of our best car rides ever, and I actually gave him his poke and shot AFTER they took his urine and while we were waiting for the initial test results... that 10.75 was right before we left the house... and he went down!

Love the new vet. She is younger and is very cool. Said I was the most "on top of it" pet owner she'd ever met. :) We discussed the protocol and she said that if I was cool with it, she was cool with it... and seemed interested in learning. I think we have a keeper... and they are open until 8 twice a week and are open all day until 5 on Saturdays!

Initial urine results came back with a whole lot of nothing... not even any sugar. I apologized for being overly cautious, but she said I was smart.... as Michelle experienced with Mannie, most often a sudden spike in BG in a regulated cat is the result of a UTI. We are sending out the culture anyway so we can be sure. Hoping that he doesn't bounce back up and we can just chalk it up to a random aberration.

Gave Willie some 10% at +1 to slow the drop some. Hopefully he won't keep me up too late! Have to take my sister to her lawyer appointment tomorrow, then tennis in the afternoon. Hoping Willie cooperates!

Off to make dinner and then check in with everyone's condos! Hope you all have a great weekend in store!!

ETA: I don't know what Willie, Mannie and all the other kids were up to today, but when I got him out of the pet carrier at the vet, he had random specks of glitter on him. :shock:
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75 back from vet!

interesting numbers tonight. I guess Willie doesn't mind the vet! Jazzy dropped when I took her to the vet too. I was surprised (and unprepared, I didn't have my testing stuff with me. Next time I will).

See you at +2.
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75 back from vet!

wow! sounds like you had a great vet visit.
too funny on the "younger"...
We absolutely love Binks' vet...but she looks like Mandy Moore, and is about the same age! :lol:

greet numbers WW!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75 back from vet!

Great news Christie, and so nice to have a Vet that is open to the Protocol and learning. Nice to see Willie doing so well at the Vetty, too!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75 back from vet!

You sounded so relieved to find a vet you can work with! Great numbers for Willie, too. What a good day for you guys.
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75 back from vet!

LOL, Celi! I actually had hoped for one of the other vets because she is more of a cat person at home (this vet actually has bios on all their website of all their vets, including what pets they have at home!). I did like, though, that this vet had graduated from vet school in 2008... I figured maybe less "old school" diabetes stuff to overcome? She is actually adorable, and does seem very good at her job and very open to learning.

And I am ashamed to admit it, but I loves me some Mandy Moore!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75 back from vet!

Willie and Christie impress the new vet!! Sounds like the title of a kiddie book!! What a good report and good numbers, too. Enjoy the weekend!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75 back from vet!

congrats on the good day - your comment on the glitter made me laugh. Willie's got some kind of action going on in his carrier!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

Thanks, everyone! Sienne, relief is right!! LOL

She said Willie was a perfect gentlemen when they took the urine sample, and as we chatted for 10-15 minutes at the end of our visit, Willie sat quietly next to me on the bench in the exam room, all furry purry. He loves to sit amongst people in a manner that makes it clear he is part of the conversation.

Libby, I'm actually glad I had to shoot while we were there, because it wouldn't have occurred to me otherwise to take my hometesting stuff and get a poke at the vet. It's a nice piece of data to have!

Sorry we didn't post the +2... I got it, but then was alternating between catching up on condos, catching up on cooking shows, and napping with willie in front of the heat dish. Multitasking at its finest!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

TOTALLY AGREED, CHRISTIE!!!

have you heard her album "Coverage"...i worked for Hastings for 11 years...and we voted it the best album of remakes EVER!

and she's a really good actress, also!

Southland Tales...great movie!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

Coverage is a great album... she is a vastly underrated talent. Have you heard her Alanis Morrisette-esque take on Candy?? It's actually quite good... taking the song that is the symbol of everything she hated about the start of her career and turning it into a dark twisty piece... very fun stuff!

Willie is out cold, nappy away with the sweet little whimpers he does when he's REALLY asleep. Such a good boy....
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

YAY! A keeper for a vet, great numbers, and I love the part about Willie sitting on the bench in the exam room. How great is that! I am glad all went well, and that you like this vet. good news! good too that Willie is fine.

have a great night!

pssstttttt - Willie.... mums the word on that glitter stuff, OK? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

uh oh...you gave me an opening to bring up one of the best shows i have EVER seen...
don't know if you are familiar with Portland, OR...but they have the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall...primarily constructed of marble...so the acoustics are phenomenal.

couple of years ago i was lucky enough to see Alanis Morissette perform there...that unbeatable voice in that wonderful venue...sent chills of pleasure up and down the spine!
LOVE those canadian performers!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

GREAT news on the vet!!!! Glad it seems all is ok but we'll all be anxious to hear the results. Willie looks great tonight....whooppee!!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

Wow, what a wonderful day full of good news! Awesome! Great numbers for Willie and I am really happy you found a vet you like. Sounds like things are looking good in Willie's world. Green numbers on a vetty day, even :mrgreen:

Willie, could you teach Chaos how to be a perfect gentleman at the vet and in the car? He has a lot of trouble with those.
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +10.75~107, PMPS 88, +1~75, +2~93, +3~116

LOL. Violet, it is easy. Chaos just has to believe, in his heart of hearts, that he is a drooler. Willie believes he's a german shepard. Or maybe a lab. Seriously, when we lived in Florida, the neighbors on each side had big dogs... pit bulls and mastiffs on the left, german shepards and labs on the left. Willie, in all his 20 some pounds, with no front claws, would march right up to the chain length fence separating the yards, with all the swagger he could muster, I swearing saying "What?!? I can take you $#!*&es!! You want a piece of me?!?"

All beans, of course, are put on the earth to give him pets and scritches, tell him how cute and sweet he is, and let him participate in whatever they might be doing. I should have more dinner parties... he would be over the moon. LOL

He really is such a good boy.
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +12/12.25~42...+13.25~43, +13.5~46 question ?

we're at 13.5 and still stalling... not sure what to do? I can keep stalling, or should I skip? is a BCS of 1.0 or .5 safe?

new territory for me! any thoughts are most appreciated!

he had a tsp of raw at +13.25.
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +12/12.25~42...+13.25~43, +13.5~46 question ?

I'm glad you gave a bit of food. You do want to feed the 40s. I shoot low and I won't shoot the 40s. So, please hold off on a shot right now.

Keep stalling. I think you might want to give a bit more LC to see if Willie would like to move into the 50s.
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +13.25~43, +13.5~46, +14~44 question???

Wow on these numbers. @-) :shock: :o Glad the bean is calm - I'd be in a bit of a panic. Has he earned a dose decrease with the 40 numbers?
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +13.25~43, +13.5~46, +14~44 question???

not sure if it is earned, but i'll prob take him down to 1.25. what is the general cut off for the "newly diagnosed" distinction? we're at 3 months from dx.

fed 2 tsp raw with a freeze dried treat on top. eaten with gusto!
 
Re: 3/4 Willie +13.5~46, +14~44, +14.25~53, stalling a bit m

I tend to skip if you're more than 2 hours past your usual shot time especially with numbers still hanging in this range. I'm not sure if the bump into the 50s is due to food. If you waited until +14.5, will this throw you too far off schedule? Your next shot will be in 12 hours.

Also, if you have a number that's too low to shoot, it's a dose reduction. It's up to you whether you want to reduce by 0.25u or if you want to shave the dose and shoot a fat 1.25 or a skinny 1.50u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top