3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357...+4-262 +6-217 News from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
3/3 condo

AMPS - 331
+2 - 291
+6 - 164
PMPS - 357
+2 - 365
+4 - 262
+6 - 217

Well, wound up needing to take Tip in due to loud breathing and not wanting to eat. Turns out her teeth are deteriorating and she has an upper respiratory infection. That very well could be the reason her bG has been in the 300's. I imagine that isn't pleasant to deal with. So far only one tooth is nearly completely gone. But I'm still pretty worried about her...discussed getting Tip tested and we're going to hold off on testing her for high dose conditions until at least her respiratory infection is gone.
 
Re: 3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357 +2-365 +4-262 News from vet

It also sounds like getting the dental issues taken care of once the URI is cleared up may help Tip's numbers, as well. FWIW, my vet suggested that with a URI, getting the bathroom steamy and leaving the cat in there for 10 min. can help to break up the infection.
 
Re: 3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357 +2-365 +4-262 News from vet

Definitely the dental issues will get taken care of once her URI is cleared up. I'll have to try steaming up the bathroom to help her. The vet suggested using a bit of tuna juice to entice her to eat some more. Just started the antibiotics tonight, can't remember what she got but I can check in a little bit.

I'm not too sure what can/should be done for her teeth though. This is a first for me with both. Hopefully she gets feeling better real soon.
 
Re: 3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357 +2-365 +4-262 News from vet

Sending healing vines to Tip! Hope her URI clears soon!
 
Re: 3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357 +2-365 +4-262 News from vet

I hope her URI gets better soon...poor Tip.

She will have to have a dental under anesthesia so they can remove the bad teeth.
 
Re: 3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357 +2-365 +4-262 News from vet

Sorry for the news on Tip. I hope she gets over it soon. Is Christmas showing any signs yet? You might want to get some l-lysine powder to add to her food. It acts as an immune booster. You can try other brands, but a lot of them have other ingredients in them.
 
Re: 3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357...+4-262 +6-217 News from ve

Oh my. I know she's gone under once to get rid of some tartar before. So at least she should be fine there. Not sure if the tests should be done before or after though.

So far Christmas is acting fit as ever. But it would be a good idea to take some measures to protect her from it, especially since they some times swap which food bowl they're eating from. Thanks for the link. I'll look in to getting it tonight if not then tomorrow. How much should I give her? Also, I found some nearby that's L Lysine from L Lysine Monohydrochloride, is that the same thing? It has no other ingredients.
 
Re: 3/4-Tip-AMPS-331...PMPS-357...+4-262 +6-217 News from ve

You can give 1/8 to 1/4 tsp twice a day, just mixed into food. I think what you have is the same. I just made sure I got some that says it has no added lactose, gluten, preservatives or sugar. Mine were capsules that I break open and give the contents. From the Now website "L-Lysine (from L-Lysine Monohydrochloride)". If it's diabetic friendly, Tip could get some too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top