Sweeties-Mom
Member Since 2013
Previous Condo
Hey I finally figured out what is meant by the link to "yesterday's condo" and will start including it in my posts now.
This message board is such a great resource - I made a donation tonight and also ordered a T-shirt! Seems like a great thing to do with some of the money saved by not needing the vet's curve tomorrow. I talked to the vet on the phone today; she asked to see my curves so I sent her a link to the Google spreadsheet, and she agreed I didn't need to bring him in for a curve there. She said she didn't see why I increased the dose from 1 to 1.25, and I told her I am following the tight regulation protocol which has such a high rate of remissions. I guess she hasn't had much experience with it - apparently I'm the first client who even wanted to do any home testing.
She wasn't worried about the vomiting at this point - said that salmon is too rich for many cats and that I shouldn't try new foods right now. I probably will stay away from the salmon for now but I also just bought some new canned foods that are 5% carbs or less (plus on the budget side), so I'm still going to try introducing some new LC foods.
She also isn't worried about ketones "with his numbers". So she said it wasn't necessary to bring him in at all tomorrow. Not sure either one of us is all that satisfied with this client/vet relationship.
Well I was hoping to see a spot of blue before bed but it was not to be; the lowest bg I got today was 219 at +11. Hopefully he spent some time in the blues before that while I was at work; it doesn't look like he'll be there tonight with numbers of PMPS 291, +2 229, +4 246.
He still doesn't like to poop in the litter boxes (left a present on the carpet again just a few feet from 2 boxes which are kept immaculately clean following Dr. Pierson's excellent advice, and I have 4 boxes for 2 cats) :YMSIGH: . He only had the occasional out-of-box incident in the first 9 years of his life. At least he's been using the box for peeing lately.
Hey I finally figured out what is meant by the link to "yesterday's condo" and will start including it in my posts now.
This message board is such a great resource - I made a donation tonight and also ordered a T-shirt! Seems like a great thing to do with some of the money saved by not needing the vet's curve tomorrow. I talked to the vet on the phone today; she asked to see my curves so I sent her a link to the Google spreadsheet, and she agreed I didn't need to bring him in for a curve there. She said she didn't see why I increased the dose from 1 to 1.25, and I told her I am following the tight regulation protocol which has such a high rate of remissions. I guess she hasn't had much experience with it - apparently I'm the first client who even wanted to do any home testing.
She wasn't worried about the vomiting at this point - said that salmon is too rich for many cats and that I shouldn't try new foods right now. I probably will stay away from the salmon for now but I also just bought some new canned foods that are 5% carbs or less (plus on the budget side), so I'm still going to try introducing some new LC foods.
She also isn't worried about ketones "with his numbers". So she said it wasn't necessary to bring him in at all tomorrow. Not sure either one of us is all that satisfied with this client/vet relationship.
Well I was hoping to see a spot of blue before bed but it was not to be; the lowest bg I got today was 219 at +11. Hopefully he spent some time in the blues before that while I was at work; it doesn't look like he'll be there tonight with numbers of PMPS 291, +2 229, +4 246.
He still doesn't like to poop in the litter boxes (left a present on the carpet again just a few feet from 2 boxes which are kept immaculately clean following Dr. Pierson's excellent advice, and I have 4 boxes for 2 cats) :YMSIGH: . He only had the occasional out-of-box incident in the first 9 years of his life. At least he's been using the box for peeing lately.