3/4 Simone AMBG=85, PMBG=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zipdrive

Member Since 2017
No injections since AM dose (1u) on March 1st.

Today was a green day.

6:00 AM - AMBG=85 (4.7)
6:00 PM - PMBG=68 (3.8)
9:00 PM - +3=77 (4.3)

Gave her a few HC treats after dinner and will test just before bed at the +4 mark.
 
Last edited:
Simone is looking great! Cats off insulin often test in the 40's, but we don't want to see it when they are on insulin as it gives no margin to drop. Just feed her regular low carb food. If she stays green after 14,days of no shots, she is considered in remission.
 
Hi. You don't need to give hc since you didn't shoot. Without insulin she can't hypo.

Thanks tiff - I just mentioned the HC treats as info since Simone deserved a little treat for having low numbers without her insulin dose.

Simone is looking great! Cats off insulin often test in the 40's, but we don't want to see it when they are on insulin as it gives no margin to drop. Just feed her regular low carb food. If she stays green after 14,days of no shots, she is considered in remission.

Fingers and paws crossed Wendy. Can a cat go into remission from only being on insulin for 3 weeks or so. With the high numbers Simone was showing to all of a sudden dropping to "in the zone" type numbers. I mean since I started regularly testing back around Feb 23 her numbers were high just at dose time then on March 1st in the AM Simone was in the red at 452 (25.1) and was given her 1u dose. Her PMPS number was green at 97 (5.4) so that 1u dose was skipped. Since then her numbers have been dropping on their own without any doses, which I'm happy to see.

With this week being the week the vet wanted Simone on a strict 1u dose in both AM & PM I wonder what she will say when I do a curve around mid week and bring it (and the weeks numbers) in showing that the only shot given was at the beginning of the month.
 
Wow, Simone is realllly looing good Some cats respond very quickly to a diet change and a short time on insulin. Hopefully, Simone is one of those kitties. :cat: :):D
 
Wow, Simone is realllly looing good Some cats respond very quickly to a diet change and a short time on insulin. Hopefully, Simone is one of those kitties. :cat: :):D

Thanks Bobbie. I know her little body must be felling better. That Fancy Feast LC wet diet has really helped her, which thanks to the members here on the forum is why shes getting it.
 
On the 28th feb you swapped to LC ff, were you by any chance feeding higher carb dry/wet? (I can't remember what you were feeding before)

If you swapped her on to a LC diet from a HC diet that might well be why you are seeing such an improvement in numbers.

Treats are great, but I would stick to the LC variety now she's not on insulin;)
 
On the 28th feb you swapped to LC ff, were you by any chance feeding higher carb dry/wet? (I can't remember what you were feeding before)

If you swapped her on to a LC diet from a HC diet that might well be why you are seeing such an improvement in numbers.

Treats are great, but I would stick to the LC variety now she's not on insulin;)

Thanks for the treats suggestion Gill. Nan mentioned a few LC treat suggestions a few days ago and thinking I'd remember their names when I went out yesterday I'd check them out, but I didn't, so I have written them down for when I go out tomorrow. PureBites and Life Essentials. Don't know if I can find them locally but we'll see.

Yes, during the transitioning to the Fancy Feast LC I was mixing in some of Simone's Royal Canin diabetic dry that she was on since her Dx back the beginning of Feb. Then after joining the forum and finding out about the benefits of the wet diet I started mixing the wet with the dry from about Feb 21 - Feb 27 each time lowering the amount of dry and increasing the wet. As of Feb 28 Simone has been on an all wet LC diet and getting multiple smaller meals throughout the day.

Feb 6 - 20 = Royal Canin diabetic dry only
Feb 21 - 27 = Transition mix of diabetic dry and Fancy Feast
Feb 28 - present = Fancy Feast wet only - small meals throughout the day
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top