3/4 Sam - vet visit day

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Member Since 2010
AMPS - 453
+3 - 298

We're up to 1.5 units now and still not getting the kind of results I've been hoping for. I really feel strongly that something else is going on with Sam, be it his teeth or whatever. Today the vet is going to run some bloodwork and see what we can find out. I'm going to push for the dental too because I fully believe it will help.

I'll post when we get back this afternoon with whatever news.
 
I hope you get some answers from the vet and a date for a dental. I think an infection or dental are the most likely culprits. He did very well in the beginning so it seems like something else may be impacting the numbers. Paws and fingers crossed for answers.
 
Paws crossed for a good vet visit! Not that you want to hope that there's something wrong, but hope they maybe find something easy that will explain Sam's stubborn #'s.
 
Sam had a good report from the bloodwork - no infection, no UTI, nothing out of the ordinary. His BUN was one number over normal, but nothing the vet was concerned about. She wants me to stick with the 1.5 dose for 7 days. If Sam's numbers stay fairly stable, she's going to schedule the dental. He also gained a little bit of weight, which she was happy about. All in all, a good visit.

Ultimately, she said some cats never really get "regulated" and you just have to look at the clinical signs - are they drinking a lot? peeing a lot? losing weight? mental state? As long as the other things are all in line, you have to take that as a victory. She thinks I stress out too much about every number (I don't think that, of course) but understands that I'm really pushing to get Sam in a good place since I have so much traveling to do this year.
 
That's good news that Sam is doing better. So hard to be satisfied with numbers that aren't where you want them when you want the best for your fur baby, but the vet confirmed you're making progress. Yeah!
 
This does sound like a good visit. I do agree that the goal should be regulation; remission is a gift that is not available for every cat. It is easy to forget that. Not to say that you can't be working toward remission, Kristen. While remembering that Sam is happy, healthy, eating well, at a good weight.......

I think we forget that there are lots of cats on this site that have been happily regulated for years. Just check out the Lantus ISG - there are many cats that have 200 ps and 100 nadirs and have posted for years. Those kitties are regulated. And Sam has been in those numbers lots of times since you started this journey.
 
And of course, on the first night after the vet visit when I'm supposed to be sticking to the 1.5 dose no matter what, Sam pulls a 246 PMPS. *sigh* I'm going to wait an hour, then retest in hopes of him being high enough to take that dose.
 
Ok I'm a dope, I just posted some comments for you on Sueandsamwise's thread.

Curious why you are waiting on a 246? I would go ahead and shoot. In fact looking at the SS I was thinking you might want to raise the dose. Of course don't do anything though that you think is dangerous, you are much closer to the #s than I am. Considering I can't even find the right thread to post on. :lol:

:dizcat
 
Ok, I see, it's b/c you shot on a 250ish PS a few days ago and got some greens. Hmmm. Maybe shoot the 1.2 again instead and get in a bedtime check? Personally I wouldn't wait - you have a nice PS, so I'd capitalize on that.
 
The last time you had a pre shot of 247, you shot 1.2. He went into the greens but nothing dangerous. Not that we can consider any past behavior to be repeated with our darling Sam. Or if you are not comfortable, wait till it comes up a bit and shoot your 1.5

Edited to add- Joanna, "great minds" haha_smiley haha_smiley think alike....
 
20 mins later and he's at 371. I shot the 1.5. Never a dull moment with this cat!

Thanks for the input all. I hope he's not too squirrely tomorrow as I'll be out during the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top