3/4 Pearl PMPS 53/57, +0.5 66, +1 69, +2 60, +3 68

She is still getting lots of green, which is great. I would think you would hold the dose. But I never get Hercs to be this stable, so I don't know at what point you think abouit changing.
 
Good Morning Margaret
Nice start for Pearl I hope she surfs safely today.
Another beautiful day here today. Yesterdays high was +6 which would be 42.8F. I took the garbage out yesterday evening and heard the spring birds singing. Spring is here I hope have a lovely day :bighug:
 
Increases are based on how low the dose is taking the cat (nadir). I suggest looking at Pearl's nadirs to help you decide how much wiggle room you have for increasing her dose. With that 63 two nights ago, I'd probably see what happens today and tomorrow at the very least. Hopefully those blues will start to come down.
 
Pearl is looking very good. Don't worry that she isn't in a big rush; you are providing what she needs right now!

I don't look at just colors, but the actual number. A 102 is practically the same as a 98, but far different than a 185 for example. Your "blues" are mostly good and low. I know you know all that; just telling you why I think you and Pearl are doing great!
Overall, your hue is quite healthy and green:D:cool::D
 
Pearl is looking very good. Don't worry that she isn't in a big rush; you are providing what she needs right now!

I don't look at just colors, but the actual number. A 102 is practically the same as a 98, but far different than a 185 for example. Your "blues" are mostly good and low. I know you know all that; just telling you why I think you and Pearl are doing great!
Overall, your hue is quite healthy and green:D:cool::D
THanks, Jan, I needed to hear this. Her pattern is just so different now at this dose, I'm having a hard time really grasping what she is doing. I'm used to her pushing the envelope to get to the low greens - but maybe the whole time she was doing that at the higher dose, it was all in preparation for a reduction.

She may be becoming a late NADIR cat! And I appreciate you saying that we look good now, and the reminder that her blues are quite low for blue.
 
THanks, Jan, I needed to hear this. Her pattern is just so different now at this dose, I'm having a hard time really grasping what she is doing. I'm used to her pushing the envelope to get to the low greens - but maybe the whole time she was doing that at the higher dose, it was all in preparation for a reduction.

She may be becoming a late NADIR cat! And I appreciate you saying that we look good now, and the reminder that her blues are quite low for blue.
I feel you. Been going through this with Ruby for a few months, and her blues are even higher than Pearl's. Overall though if you start at the beginning of the year and scroll down, she has made amazing progress. :bighug:

How's mama bean feeling today?
 
@Marje and Gracie are you around? Is this an instance of I may need to skip tonight to take care of myself physically? She is 53 at PMPS, and lowest point in the cycle. Not sure if this might indicate she is going to continue a slide? I am happy to shoot and do what is best for her if this is a reduction coming, but want to check. I do not feel up to it myself at all, so perhaps may need to skip if you think a slide is what is happening.
 
Last edited:
@Tina Marie and Jan Do you remember the night Pearl got her reduction and you said later perhaps I might skip her PM shot if this happens again? Ok, so we are close again. She is 53 at PMPS and this is her NADIR, she is sliding down (I will test again in 15 minutes, but she might be int he 40s by then). I don't want to have another night where she is really low (I don't know if I can handle it physically again so soon due to Lyme). Do you think she is safe to shoot, or does this look too much like 2/24 to be comfortable with shooting and not having a repeat night? THanks!!
 
Last edited:
I'm sure Marje or Jan will respond if they are able:bighug:. I saw Wendy online recently so you may want to try her.
My thoughts, FWIW:
-When you ask whether she is safe to shoot: on TR anything 50 and above is safe to shoot. So she is safe to shoot at 53. She has had a lovely lantus cycle today! Her numbers aren't dropping anything crazy from what I can see.

-It's hard to know whether Pearl is going to keep you up all night or not. Late nadir cats, butters included, can be tricky that way. You shot a 60 on 2/22, not all that different from a 53, and her next cycle was not active. So hard to know.

-But you do need to think about whether you can stay up to test if needed. There is no shame in not being able to do that. I've skipped before, I've shot a token dose before. Sometimes we need to prioritize ourselves and our health (lol I'm terrible at this). Be aware that even if you skip, the depot could still be in play this next cycle. If you skip and her numbers still come down, you could be liberal with the higher carb food to keep her safe if you are not well enough to stay up with her. I wouldn't recommend this regularly, but again sometimes you need to take care of yourself.

I'm sure others will be along soon!
 
Margaret - take care of yourself please!

Today looks enough like the 24th that you could have another hard night. Yes, she ran a bit lower that day, but we are seeing a similar pattern.

You have my permission (haha) to skip for your own health:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Then take a reduction in the morning. First -- let's she if she really went under 50 ---

I'm looking at Lyla's comments too . . . you are a smart woman who needs to take care of herself!
 
Margaret - take care of yourself please!

Today looks enough like the 24th that you could have another hard night. Yes, she ran a bit lower that day, but we are seeing a similar pattern.

You have my permission (haha) to skip for your own health:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Then take a reduction in the morning. First -- let's she if she really went under 50 ---

I'm looking at Lyla's comments too . . . you are a smart woman who needs to take care of herself!
Ok, she went up to 57. So I shot her. Maybe it was stupid to do. I don't know. I got confused b/c she started going up (even if only a little, which she didn't on the 24th). At least now we will have 2 nights of similar patterns, for when this happens the 3rd time (which I am certain it must), so hopefully I will have more confidence then in skipping (if otnight proves to be a beast). I know what to do to keep her afloat. Just hope not up all night!!
 
Ok, she went up to 57. So I shot her. Maybe it was stupid to do. I don't know. I got confused b/c she started going up (even if only a little, which she didn't on the 24th). At least now we will have 2 nights of similar patterns, for when this happens the 3rd time (which I am certain it must). I know what to do to keep her afloat. Just hope not up all night!!

Awesome job! You are tough - putting your dependent ahead of yourself. Too many of us have done that!
You have learned enough, that you can steer with higher carb food if necessary.
I think you need those balls of steel!!! If you haven't seen them, maybe Marje can hand them to you, lol!!
 
Awesome job! You are tough - putting your dependent ahead of yourself. Too many of us have done that!
You have learned enough, that you can steer with higher carb food if necessary.
I think you need those balls of steel!!! If you haven't seen them, maybe Marje can hand them to you, lol!!
Yeah, I'm tough but I'm not so sure that's a good thing all the time for me. We will see what tonight holds! Thanks for your help!
 
@Marje and Gracie are you around? Is this an instance of I may need to skip tonight to take care of myself physically? She is 53 at PMPS, and lowest point in the cycle. Not sure if this might indicate she is going to continue a slide? I am happy to shoot and do what is best for her if this is a reduction coming, but want to check. I do not feel up to it myself at all, so perhaps may need to skip if you think a slide is what is happening.
I’m so very sorry I missed this. I would have agreed with Jan and Lyla that you could have skipped. One thing you might try if she’s dropping by +10 is to give her a small, LC snack and see if that will bring her up a bit by nipping the duration a little.

Then take a reduction in the morning.
Am I missing something? She’s doing TR and didn’t drop below 50 so I would not suggest a reduction.

In order to take care of you, go with your gut. If she’s dropping at PMPS and is in the 50s, you know you need sleep or just can’t stay up, then just skip. You come first.
 
I’m so very sorry I missed this. I would have agreed with Jan and Lyla that you could have skipped. One thing you might try if she’s dropping by +10 is to give her a small, LC snack and see if that will bring her up a bit by nipping the duration a little.


Am I missing something? She’s doing TR and didn’t drop below 50 so I would not suggest a reduction.

In order to take care of you, go with your gut. If she’s dropping at PMPS and is in the 50s, you know you need sleep or just can’t stay up, then just skip. You come first.

Nope, you're not missing anything. I expected her dropping below 50, but it hasn't happened yet. No reduction. I did shoot her, got confused again and couldn't decide. Will see what this cycle looks like, hopefully will give me more confidence in not shooting next time to take care of myself :)

PS - I tried a 0% snack at +9.5, no dice. I think next time I will offer the 3% and see if I get her to take it. Thanks!
 
Nope, you're not missing anything. I expected her dropping below 50, but it hasn't happened yet. No reduction. I did shoot her, got confused again and couldn't decide. Will see what this cycle looks like, hopefully will give me more confidence in not shooting next time to take care of myself :)

PS - I tried a 0% snack at +9.5, no dice. I think next time I will offer the 3% and see if I get her to take it. Thanks!
Sounds like a plan!
 
I am giving the 13% MC. I hope that is ok. She isn't in the danger zone, but she is pretty low (comparatively to what she has been on this dose) and I don't think the insulin has kicked in yet.
 
I am up for an unexpected low BG, and Marje's words are reasonating with me.... we do need sleep! and it is OK to make decision for you next time ;)
How are you doing? She seems to be holding on so far, but I won't be surprised if she earns a reduction soon (anti-jinx)
13%MC to catch a few intervals of sleep sounds like a good plan, because you may need to monitor though the night
 
Back
Top