3/4 Pat's Shadow AMPS=385

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
3/3
AMPS=337 ~1.25u Lev (32nd cycle)
+4=189
+8=126
PMPS=245 no shot, no eat
+4=287 syringed food finally
+8=330 syringed food
AMPS=385 ~F.5u BCS didn't eat until after shot time

Yesterday
Morning! Shadow has 3 Ps so far today. We had a tough day yesterday. I had food bowls all over the place it seems. He just did not want any flavor I offered. I had given him pepcid in the morning before breffis and he ate so I gave him his regular dose of insulin. Later on at +8 he turned away from the bowl and didn't eat anything then or for dinner. I did not shoot last night but did give him some Bupe in case he was in pain.

Finally, at +4 i syringed some food and then again at +8 i syringed some more. i found a hairball this morning on the floor next to the table so while it was not gigantic, it was a thinish inch long....could that have been his problem? Who knows.
I am so upset when he doesn't eat though. This morning it started out the same was was yesterday as far as food is concered. I gave him Mirtzapine and then kept offering different flavors of food. He ate some boiled chicked and some Nautre's Instinct rabbit.
So, I opted for a BCS dose of F.5u since he managed to eat a little. I was encouraged though since he met me in the bahtroom when i first got up. He was all chipper and seemed back to normal. I was disappointed at first when he didnt eat. But he has been wandering around, checking on me now and then and being qute verbal. At least there is something in his stomach. I am praying that he will continue to eat today.....

I will be giving him Pepcid before his +4 snack and again later tonight. Twice each day I was told. (I guess there have been times that he did not eat and I assumed it was because of a hairball. I gave him Omega 3 oil both yesterday and today and he ate that right up. Maybe that helped pass the hairball. After the bout with Pancreatitis though, I worry when he doesn't eat. I worry when i cannot give him his regular dose of insulin too because then he doesn't feel well when his numbers get higher. It is a vicious cycle and I am so sorry that he ever got this Pancreatitis....nowadays I think of that first before I assume it is a hairball brewing when he doesn't eat....)
So, I am thankful that he ate a bit this morning. Deep breaths. Hope for the rest of the day....
Sending hugs out to you all! :YMHUG:
 
Hi guys .. poor shadow .. poor momma! It is never fun to go through bouts of not eating with FD kitties .. I will keep you guys in my prayers that shadows appy turns around, that it was just simply a hairball he was brewing, and not P .. ((hugs)) Hang in there!
 
Hi Pat. I hope Shadow is eating better for you, today cat_pet_icon

When J.D. got cronic pancreatitis a year ago, I gave him Pepcid and Ondansetron and pretty much have since then.
It seems that everytime he is eating better for awhile, I try to take him off the Onda and within a few days he goes back to not wanting to eat what's being served :roll:

I know how you feel about the food issues. I feel like going out and finding another flavor out there at some pet store somewhere sometimes :lol:
 
(((Pat))), I hear your heart hurting. :sad:

I'm crossing all fingers and paws, that Shadow is feeling, and eating well for you, very soon.
 
((((Pat)))),
I'm so sorry that Shad-0 hasn't been eating well. It could have been the hairball (there might be more of the hairball to be expelled). I hope it's not pancreatitis again. Sometimes they just go through these interludes of not caring much for food and it doesn't matter what food you serve. So save-a-can and don't open all of them at once! Sending Shad-0 some strong, eat-your-fuds vines.

Sorry not to have visited your condo in a while: we were in NYC for almost a week, and before that Rusty had x-ray diagnostics and some other tests for his chronic breathing problem (which the vet thought had gotten worse). No dx as yet, but infections have been ruled out. We are happy that he is finally getting back down to better numbers after a series of bounces.

Have a good evening and try not to worry too much about Shadow. Do you have a favorite food that he will always eat? That's what saved us when Rusty had pancreatitis flares: FF T&G to the rescue!

Hugs from us to you, Raja (who I'm glad to see is doing fine) and our boy Shad-0,

Ella & Rusty
 
I hope Shadow is feeling better tonight! I know if my guys are hairball-ish, it does whack their appetite a bit...but it is still always so nerve-wracking. Many "please eat and eat well" vines coming your way!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top