3/4 Monkey AMPS 544

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Nan & Amber (GA)

I am thinking if high number is because he did not absorb the insulin due to I inject on his neck for too many times. (Some source says scar can affect absorption) I may try another position. Do I need to adjust the dose?

Behaviorally, he is the same and eat a lot.
Hi Peter, I would increase the dose to 1 unit but make sure you test during the cycle please. Also test during the cycles at night. We need to see how low this dose will take Monkey.
I would try injecting on the side of the abdomen
4909F89B-408F-40FB-B40A-A7D8FFB077D4.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 4909F89B-408F-40FB-B40A-A7D8FFB077D4.jpeg
    4909F89B-408F-40FB-B40A-A7D8FFB077D4.jpeg
    57.1 KB · Views: 102
Looks like Monkey is bouncing. Continue the same for him. I would still do a couple of tests overnight with Monkey

Yes you need to be checking Pen Pens BG at least once during each cycle to see how low he is going. You would be surprised how much a drop can effect a BG.

It is so strange that it seems Monkey's BG do not drop at night:(@Bron and Sheba (GA) I was thinking if we should increase the dose to 1.25
 
Last edited:
It is so strange that it seems Monkey's BG do not drop at night:(@Bron and Sheba (GA) I was thinking if we should increase the dose to 1.25
No you can’t increase the dose yet Peter. We have only just increased it. The depot needs to fill to get the full effect of the dose.
That will take a couple of days.
Have you got the ketostix yet to test for ketones?
How is Monkey? Is he eating well?
Could Monkey be getting into any dry food that is stored somewhere?

did you get a test overnight for PenPen?
 
@Peter H
Looking at Monkeys SS, I think he is bouncing from the big drops he is having from up to 100 points in an hour or 200 points in 2 hours. Have a look at his SS and you will see drops of up to 100 points in an hour or 200 points in 2 hours.
Drops like that will trigger bounces and I think that is why you are seeing those reds and blacks and then dropping down to the yellows.
The way you can help with this is to feed Monkey well before the drop happens.
What we need to do is to slow down the drop and we can do that by feeding Monkey when he is high before he actually drops down fast. If we can get him to drop down more slowly, we can hopefully stop him bouncing up high again and he will stay in better numbers. It is not so much the lack of insulin that is causing the high numbers as his body responding to the big fast drops by dumping stored glucose into his system to try and safe himself from a perceived threat.....which actually isn’t there.
Does that make sense?
 
Back
Top