3/4 Luna PMPS 153 help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Walker Jones

Member Since 2021
Hi I’m new and not sure if this is the right place to post this. Trying to get caught up on lingo and protocol I appologize ahead of time if I’m wrong.

so I couldn’t get an am read this morning we tried and failed. Tonight I got 153 before meal should I give second dose? Normally she jumps to 200-300 after eating.

history:we have been on 2units lantus in the am for about 3 weeks then per research here, Facebook group and vet decided to switch to 1 unit twice a day starting yesterday.
 
Yay! I'm glad you made it. I'm Mallory from Facebook. I know you said you don't have a spreadsheet, yet, but are you able to add the data you have from Merck? I can also try to figure out how to help you set up a spreadsheet.
 
Any data is good for now! but definitely try to get your readings before meals and shots so the readings are influenced. I'm happy you got this 153 before meal!
 
845 am meal
9am 2 units lantus
9:20am - 224
11:00 - 228
1pm - 184
3:05pm 192
530: dinner
5:50pm -192
7:25pm - 260
10pm 266
 
Hi there, I've moved your post to Feline Health which is where we ask new people to post. The Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir forum can be pretty busy so we expect people to be set up with their spreadsheet when they start posting over there.

What you got for numbers for a 2 unit dose on Saturday won't be helpful for figure out what to do with a 1 unit dose on Thursday. For new people, we suggest they skip if they get a preshot under 200, provided Luna was not diagnosed with DKA. Any recent history of ketones/DKA for her? When you get up and running with the spreadsheet, and get some more data, then you'll be able to shoot lower numbers. Your other option, if you haven't fed her yet, is to wait 1/2 hour after you last test and test again and see if it's gone up over 200.

Here's a post to help get you started: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
I just wish I could get the spreadsheet to work on my phone. All I have is a work laptop and it’s not convenient to record data. I’ll try to get spreadsheet setup soon. I feel like I have to study to do it haha.

She has eaten. So if I test her hour after she is over 300 still wouldn’t give her pm shot?
 
She has eaten. So if I test her hour after she is over 300 still wouldn’t give her pm shot?
Possible you could shoot then. But your shot tomorrow morning will be also be delayed by one hours. After that, you can move your shot time up 15 minutes a shot, or 1/2 hour once per day.
 
Thanks! I’m going to get better at this. Outside of this life has been a lot lately. Trying to get a handle on things.
 
Tagging someone who can help you get that spreadsheet setup. Bhooma is in India so a different time zone. @Bandit's Mom
I just wish I could get the spreadsheet to work on my phone. All I have is a work laptop and it’s not convenient to record data. I’ll try to get spreadsheet setup soon. I feel like I have to study to do it haha.
Will send you a PM for the info I need to set-up your spreadsheet and signature. Will only take me a minute :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top