3/4 Klinger

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hello,
Well...I'm at a loss. Klinger's AMPS was 99 this morning and all day he's been pink or red. I did decrease his dose thinking that the higher AMPS & PMPS lately were rebound based on the 99 this morning too. I'm thinking about holding the new dose (1.0) for tonight and see if it clears the bounce and if not then based on the ss it looks like his last great curve was 1.35u, right? Any suggestions???
Thanks,
Marcy & Klinger
 
Could this morning's shot have been a fur shot? It's like there is "bounce" on top of no insulin... weird. I guess see if his BGs are any better tomorrow - if 1u is settling at all. After that if he isn't settling , you could go back to 1.35 and see what happens.
 
Thanks for responding, Sheila. It could have been a fur shot...although I can usually smell the insulin when that happens. (we need a shoulder shrug smilie)
It was nice to atleast see the drop from +10 410 to PMPS 346. I'll get a few before bed checks in tonight to see if this 1u is working at all.
Sheila, how's your arm?? It sounds like Jeddie gave you a good slice. Ouch!
 
Paws crossed that he gets some better numbers this weekend.

My arm is fine, thanks. I seem to have a lot of small scratches from him. He paws at my hand when I pill him. And he stands on his hind legs, plants one paw into my thigh (claws out for support) when he reaches for treats with the other one. He is such a character!
 
Thanks! He was still in the 400s last night so I increased this morning to 1.35, but now I'm wondering if I should have gone up to 1.5 to rebuild the shed...
We're going on two months with this vial...maybe it's lost its punch??
 
I have never experienced loss of potency with lev and I use the came cart/pen for 6 months. I would think a vial would be the same...?

Do you mean give one dose at 1.5u and then drop back to 1.25u? I have not really tried that (not in a "planned" sort of way), but it makes some sense to me. I would only do it with data and/or being available to monitor, I think.
 
Hi Marcy,

Well I took a long study of your ss and Klinger is quite the little mystery boy.... I guess Im feeling 1.5u was eventually the best place for him, but it took quite a while to fill that shed- (like most of January with doses up to like 3u wasnt it?....)

My rule of thumb for lev vial duration is about 40-45 days. I have noticed a drop in effectiveness after that on several vials. I recently dropped to 12 ish units and by the time the vial was near its end at 6 weeks, I saw some disappointing cycles, and decided to pop the next vial. You really should get the cartridges. I can get you the info to order the cartridges from Canada if you are interested. I think friends are paying $125 for 15ml (5 x 3ml) delivered.

I would love to see how his numbers would behave if he was on a steady meal schedule where you are measuring and subdividing frequent meals, and feeding heaviest right before nadir. Didn't we talk about that last time I popped in? It might be good to try it when he's still in higher numbers, so you don't worry as much about leaving food out for those surprise lows. I just don't get why he is so unpredictable.... :roll:
 
Good morning,
Klinger finally hit some blues last night and he was 98 when I woke up and all of his food was gone.
I tested again to make sure he was going up.
AMPS 122 1.35

I think the problem was that I reduced his dose to fast. Especially from the 1.35 to 1.3 to 1.25 to 1u. When really I didn't have the data to support those decreases.

Nancy, I worry about the timed feeding because he's not a hoover and what if he missed the rotations. Also, I've been trying to get the feeder to rotate and it's still doing that 1/2 rotation deal. It's feels flush to me. So, that's another concern. What if it doesn't rotate and he has no access to his food. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top