? 3/4 Kit AMPS 195, +1 224, +2 130, +3 93, +10 128, PMPS 164, +2 82 ? about neuropathy

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's thread

Kit peed on the bed a little last night around 1030. No squatting, just laid there and peed a little then moved to sniff it. She eventually peed a huge amount into the litter box sometime after midnight, but she also got a fair amount on her hind end, so I'll do a was with some pet wipes here in a bit.

I tested at +1, but for reason absolutely forgot to feed her one of the 5-7% foods, which you'd think I'd remember since I've been doing it now for ages. She finished up her 3% that she hadn't finished from breakfast, but still a big drop between +1 and +2.

I'm also not sure if the adequan is helping. We've made it through the 4 weeks of 2 shots a week, and are in the first week of 1 shot a week. My vet is holding pretty firm to only using the vial for 28 days and no more than 10 punctures. Can diabetic cats have neuropathy when their numbers aren't wildly out of control. Like, she's not well regulated, and she has periods where she has more yellows than I like, but it seems like her numbers aren't neuropathy level? She does crouch walk a lot, and while she's not fully walking on her hocks, she's definitely pretty close to it. I have an email into her vet about the pee and the walking, just curious if anyone else has any thoughts.

Last question - I leave two weeks from tomorrow for a trip to Seattle for a conference. When should I start asking about vacation dose? I'm pretty sure the bf is only going to be able to do shots, but maybe I'll get lucky and he'll actually learn to do both.

Hope everyone has a good Monday.
 
Ohh Alicia, I'm sorry- what a way to start the week! I don't have any advice for the neuropathy; Mopem was on the zobaline but his numbers were high. It took a few months for him to respond if I remember correctly, and the walking improved, but not fully. I never had a pee issue with him though, so hopefully you get some answers soon! Sending hugs....:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ohh Alicia, I'm sorry- what a way to start the week! I don't have any advice for the neuropathy; Mopem was on the zobaline but his numbers were high. It took a few months for him to respond if I remember correctly, and the walking improved, but not fully. I never had a pee issue with him though, so hopefully you get some answers soon! Sending hugs....:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yeah, my small amount of research showed that neuropathy can happen for non diabetic reasons, but most of the info was diabetic related.
I think she was getting back at me for giving me a quiet Friday and Saturday night so I could get more sleep. She doesn't want me to get too complacent. It's for my own good, ya know. :rolleyes::joyful:
 
Oh Alicia, sorry for the peeing incident. Poor baby.
I don't know about the neuropathy answers. Ivy has it and walks on hind hocks for over a year now. No improvement. Was giving Zobaline 2x daily to no avail until past month, switched to Vitacost (1/2 capsule 2 x daily) and adding Folate 200 mg, both 2x daily. But Ivy's BGs are not what I consider regulated. Kit has much better regulation and better numbers overall.

Hoping Eric can learn to test...that would give you peace of mind in being away (we need to pry the gaming controller out of his hands). Boys!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Alicia, sorry for the peeing incident. Poor baby.
I don't know about the neuropathy answers. Ivy has it and walks on hind hocks for over a year now. No improvement. Was giving Zobaline 2x daily to no avail until past month, switched to Vitacost (1/2 capsule 2 x daily) and adding Folate 200 mg, both 2x daily. But Ivy's BGs are not what I consider regulated. Kit has much better regulation and better numbers overall.

Hoping Eric can learn to test...that would give you peace of mind in being away (we need to pry the gaming controller out of his hands). Boys!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yeah, I'm hoping it was a one off. But I'll be keeping a close eye, because I don't want her peeing all over while I'm gone. Just so Eric doesn't have to deal with it.
I don't know if arthritis can cause them to walk that way, or neuropathy caused by something else. My poor lil ol' lady.

I think it's more that he's worried she'll fight him/he'll hurt her. And like, I get it. But neither of them can get over being nervous about it if attempts aren't made. And since she's used to it, he'll have a much easier time than I would, by far. But I get it.
 
Yeah, I'm hoping it was a one off. But I'll be keeping a close eye, because I don't want her peeing all over while I'm gone. Just so Eric doesn't have to deal with it.
I don't know if arthritis can cause them to walk that way, or neuropathy caused by something else. My poor lil ol' lady.

I think it's more that he's worried she'll fight him/he'll hurt her. And like, I get it. But neither of them can get over being nervous about it if attempts aren't made. And since she's used to it, he'll have a much easier time than I would, by far. But I get it.
I get it Alicia. I’ve never even had DH try to test or give a shot. I really don’t have faith he could handle it. He’s so afraid to hurt her. (As if I’m not…. Moms just have to buck up ).
Hoping the peeing was a one time thing. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well, more tornadoes today. We had one touch down southwest of us and head northeast - just missing us to the west. Then I left work, and got a block away, and the sirens went off again. I figured everything was north of us, so carried on. Turns out there was one about 15 minutes to the east of my apartment - it was headed northeast, but so was I. I was so confused as to why the weather got better (I was sort of south), and then suddenly started getting worse. No chance of driving into it, which is good. Now it's just non stop rumbling for the last 10 minutes, with some big lighting strikes and booms. The rumbling doesn't seem to bother Kit, but the booms do, so I gave her a calming supplement that I have for her, and am just hoping it doesn't do too much to her BG. Well, that and the stress of the storm for her. Such crazy weather! We have some more moving through tonight, but I don't think tonight's is severe? For now it's mostly moved past us except rain and thunder.
 
Well, more tornadoes today. We had one touch down southwest of us and head northeast - just missing us to the west. Then I left work, and got a block away, and the sirens went off again. I figured everything was north of us, so carried on. Turns out there was one about 15 minutes to the east of my apartment - it was headed northeast, but so was I. I was so confused as to why the weather got better (I was sort of south), and then suddenly started getting worse. No chance of driving into it, which is good. Now it's just non stop rumbling for the last 10 minutes, with some big lighting strikes and booms. The rumbling doesn't seem to bother Kit, but the booms do, so I gave her a calming supplement that I have for her, and am just hoping it doesn't do too much to her BG. Well, that and the stress of the storm for her. Such crazy weather! We have some more moving through tonight, but I don't think tonight's is severe? For now it's mostly moved past us except rain and thunder.
Oh boy. Sounds scary to me! Please stay safe! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Angel had pretty severe neuropathy for a while that improved with B12 and better regulation. But one of my other cats walks pretty much the same way due to severe arthritis, so that could definitely be the cause as well!
 
Angel had pretty severe neuropathy for a while that improved with B12 and better regulation. But one of my other cats walks pretty much the same way due to severe arthritis, so that could definitely be the cause as well!
That's good info to have. Luckily my vet is pretty on board with trying lots of things, so maybe we'll try something that would work for diabetes and maybe it'll help some? Thanks much! I'm grateful that so many folks have experiences they can share, even if I'm sad for that same reason. The only reason I tested Kit for diabetes was because my best friend had her brother, who was diagnosed with diabetes and had the same symptoms Kit did, so told me to get her tested. Same thing with her kidney disease. Her brother got super sick and they found kidney disease, unfortunately too late for him, but that meant I tested her and could start troubleshooting at an earlier stage. :bighug::bighug:
 
I would suggest waiting a few days before you travel to deal with the dose. Unless you have someone staying with your cat who is able to test routinely, you'll need to reduce the dose. A lot can happen in 2 weeks so I'd suggest waiting until you're close to when you leave.
 
The last two pees have been in the litter box. Tonight's was almost heart shaped. Do you think she's trying to tell me she's sorry for peeing a little on the bed? :joyful:

I would suggest waiting a few days before you travel to deal with the dose. Unless you have someone staying with your cat who is able to test routinely, you'll need to reduce the dose. A lot can happen in 2 weeks so I'd suggest waiting until you're close to when you leave.
For sure! I was more checking in for a 3 days vs. 5 days (or right in the middle with 4). I'm still hoping I can get the bf to try testing.
 
Hi Alicia
Tyler had neuropathy , he was walking on his hocks just like a rabbit.
I would say it took about 2 months for him to totally to start walking normal, jumping on to the couch and running.
I used the Vitacost brand Methyl B-12 5000 mcg's a day
I did see a small improvement I would say about every 2 weeks
To me her numbers don't look like it's neuropathy
 
Hi Alicia
Tyler had neuropathy , he was walking on his hocks just like a rabbit.
I would say it took about 2 months for him to totally to start walking normal, jumping on to the couch and running.
I used the Vitacost brand Methyl B-12 5000 mcg's a day
I did see a small improvement I would say about every 2 weeks
To me her numbers don't look like it's neuropathy
Thanks, Diane. Yeah, the numbers are why I question it, but we are wondering if she had some level of it, and the bout with a UTI kicked it into high gear since it shot her numbers high? I'm asking her about using the Methyl B12.
 
Hi Alicia:)
Sorry Kit cat is poorly and that she peed on the bed. It happened to us once and it was not pleasant.
Fistuk is in quite a good place but he does have neuropathy. He gets B12 methyl cobalamin. I got him up to 20mg a day and that's been really helpful.
I hope you find what works for Kit cat and that she'll feel better soon :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just wanted to share... for some reason, Angel reacts badly to high doses of the B12 medicine, especially the shots. I've not heard anyone else had this experience, but it's worth keeping in mind and starting on the low end of the dosing spectrum. The recommended/prescribed dosage is only 0.25mg a day. While B12 is considered to be pretty safe as the excess is peed out, it can still cause side effects if taken in high dosages. I got her the 3mg methyl cobalamin pills and found that anything over a quarter of that causes her to experience side effects.
 
Back
Top