3/4 Jose AMPS 201, 193 .5u +5/77 PMPS 199 .5u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebecca & Jose

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

It looks like even with no PM shot last night, this morning's AMPS isn't bad at all, 201 and fifteen minutes later 193.

I'm definitely thinking that yesterday's +3 nadir had something to do with overlap. I'm curious to see where it's at today without any insulin from last night.

I will test as much as I can but unfortunately I will be attending my boyfriend's grandmother's funeral today and won't be around after +5. I'm thinking just .5 again today, I'll see how much data I can get today.
 
Re: 3/4 Jose AMPS 201, 193 giving .5 u

I think that should work. That was a long ride and definitely indicates lower doses should be in his future. I would get a +3 or so, just to see how he is trending. If he is moving down, I'd leave out some food. If he drops low, he can eat to bring himself up.
 
Re: 3/4 Jose AMPS 201, 193 .5 u +2/131

Today can't be blamed on overlap. :lol:

Maybe he just needs less insulin. I realize he's on a low dose, but some kitties have to be micro dosed.

I would leave out a little food while you're gone.
 
Re: 3/4 Jose AMPS 201, 193 .5 u +2/131 +3/110

So far I think he's looking good! I will try to get in one more test before I leave probably a +3.75 rather than a +4. My mom is home today so she will be able to check on him as well.
 
Re: 3/4 Jose AMPS 201, 193 .5 u +2/131 +3/110 +3.75/82

Really looks great and would be ideal if he's stays that way. Makes for very nice cycles.
 
Re: 3/4 Jose AMPS 201, 193 .5 u +3/110 +3.75/82 +5/77, +8/10

Just got home from the service My mom tested Jose at +5 and he was at 77. I had asked her to test again at +6 and then to feed him his lunch and she forgot to do both! :-x so I tested him at +8 and he was 101 and then I fed him. Judging by how his numbers were looking I'm assuming he was fine and didn't get too low but it's frustrating. Now when I test him for his PMPS his numbers might be higher than normal because he wasn't fed at the right time. I have to leave again for a dinner with my boyfriends' family but I'll be back for Jose's PMPS and shot.
 
Re: 3/4 Jose AMPS 201, 193 .5 u +3/110 +3.75/82 +5/77, +8/10

Rebecca & Jose said:
...As for any other problems popping up and the question about his teeth, he doesn't have any other issues but his teeth are pretty bad. In July 2012 get had his first cleaning and ended up having 9 teeth extracted. Currently the vet wants to clean them again but wanted to wait until his diabetes was regulated better. At his next appointment I am going to ask her if we can get him in for a cleaning. I will admit I tried to brush his teeth but didn't push it too much. After his next cleaning I am going to follow the advice on catinfo.org about slowly starting a brushing routine with Jose.

Most cats are difficult to regulate UNTIL the dental is done. Push hard to get it done. With the dose you are giving, its possible that could get him off insulin.

Do NOT try to brush his teeth if they are painful; you will fight a losing battle and your cat will avoid you for causing pain.

Rebecca & Jose said:
...The only other issues I had had with him is crazy car sickness - vomiting, urinating and defecating the whole ride. ...
It may not be car sickness, it may be stress and fear. See if your vet might give you something for him to help manage the stress of transport.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top