? 3/4 Harley AMPS 416, +6 178, +8 219 (CT)

Agnes and Harley

Member Since 2021
Hello,

New member here. I will post a formal introduction, but I wanted to get this out before I give Harley his dose in 40 minutes.

Harley is 12. Diagnosed Feb 17. No other health issues or ketones.
I have switched him to wet low carb at diagnosis. He started insulin on Tuesday March 2 at the vet and had curves done at the vet.

Vet started him at 1 Unit of Lantus 2x a day. I wanted to start at 0.5. (Start Low and Go slow)
Does it make sense to switch him down to 0.5? He is 15 lbs.

Please let me know if I should switch him to 0.5 today or keep at 1?



Thank you,
Agnes and Harley (CT)
 

Attachments

Last edited:
We can’t see your spreadsheet. Make sure you have shared it
Also you might like to remove the GA .... it means guardian angel or gone ahead. Applies to kitties that have passed.
 
Hi Agnes! Welcome!

GA means Gone Away, but is commonly mistaken for General Advice. I am relieved to see that Harley is well - please click on Edit Title and remove it. If you have a question, you can select the question mark instead. :)
 
Hi Agnes and Harley.
I am going to ask @Bandit's Mom to have a look at your SS and fix it up so it can be at the bottom of your posts.
There are only 4 cycles to look at but 1 unit looks as if it is OK
However if you are feeding a low carb wet diet, starting at 0.5 units is recommended on SLGS method.

Make sure you test during the PM cycle as well as the AM cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
It will take 5 to 7 days for the depot to fill and stabilise and for you to see the full effect of the dose.
If he drops under 90 you need to reduce the dose.

are you feeding a low carb diet and giving snacks during the cycles?
 
T
Hi Agnes and Harley.
I am going to ask @Bandit's Mom to have a look at your SS and fix it up so it can be at the bottom of your posts.
There are only 4 cycles to look at but 1 unit looks as if it is OK
However if you are feeding a low carb wet diet, starting at 0.5 units is recommended on SLGS method.

Make sure you test during the PM cycle as well as the AM cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
It will take 5 to 7 days for the depot to fill and stabilise and for you to see the full effect of the dose.
If he drops under 90 you need to reduce the dose.

are you feeding a low carb diet and giving snacks during the cycles?

Hi Bron,
Harly is getting Fancy Feast pate. I used to free feed kibble, so right now I'm free feeding the FF, but i make sure to take it away a few hrs before the shot times to make sure he eats with his insulin.

The vet didn't want to start him at 0.5; so I'm curious if I should just drop him to 0.5 anyways. Or since he's already at 1, stay there for the 7 days unless his preshot numbers end up below 200.

His reading tonight PMPS was 386.
 
We can’t see your spreadsheet. Make sure you have shared it
Also you might like to remove the GA .... it means guardian angel or gone ahead. Applies to kitties that have passed.

T


Hi Bron,
Harly is getting Fancy Feast pate. I used to free feed kibble, so right now I'm free feeding the FF, but i make sure to take it away a few hrs before the shot times to make sure he eats with his insulin.

The vet didn't want to start him at 0.5; so I'm curious if I should just drop him to 0.5 anyways. Or since he's already at 1, stay there for the 7 days unless his preshot numbers end up below 200.

His reading tonight PMPS was 386.
Thank you
 
Hi Agnes! Welcome!

GA means Gone Away, but is commonly mistaken for General Advice. I am relieved to see that Harley is well - please click on Edit Title and remove it. If you have a question, you can select the question mark instead. :)

Thank you
 
Back
Top