3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156 +2 102 +3 60 +4.5 68 +5.5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 311 6th cycle 1u
+2: 316
+4: 305
PMPS: 274 7th cycle 1u
+2: 271
+4: 262

Good afternoon LL and Happy Friday. Sending healing vines to all our kitties who are not well: Rocket, Butthead, Willow, Whiskers, Buddy, and Tori with prayers they will get better soon.

WCR: 5 Ps in place. She seems to be feeling fine but I am not liking these high numbers. She seems to clear her bounces quickly when she's on a good dose and seems to carry them out for 3 or so cycles in a hard bounce or in between doses. But it's sunny here and she's happy and playful. This break in action gives me the chance to let her ears rest and give them some extra neosporin.

Question: I know bounces can last up to 72 hours (6 cycles) and Gracie did get down to 40 on 1st cycle of 3/2 on 1u far enough out from the c1u that I don't believe there was carryover from that higher dose. I thought the flat pinks yesterday followed by flat yellows last night would give us some action today but nothing....so this is the 4th cycle of bouncing. The protocol says to take the kitty right back up in dose on a failed reduction but how do I know if these numbers are still from bouncing or from not enough insulin? Should I take her up tonight if I don't get a lower yellow or blue PMPS and I'm assuming I'd just take her up to our "chubby" 1u because she got below 40 on the f1u? She just hasn't done anything since that nice cycle on Mar 2. Thanks!!

As usual for days when Mike is gone, I'm running late....lots to do especially because this week at work was crazy. I've got to get out and get some errands run so I'm headed out the door and will check condos later this afternoon. Have a great day.

BTW, Gracie saw Mannie's nanner pics so she wanted to share one of her own. :lol: :lol:
 

Attachments

  • Gracies Nanner.jpg
    Gracies Nanner.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 537
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Hi, I don't know about the dose question... I thought I understood that the bounce can last up to 72 hours (like you stated) but then the part that leaves me confused is.. the other day Jill said in my condo that when you consider the reduction failed.. take them back up to the last good dose but pointed out to me ... the last dose that she was on took her down in the 30s & that was not a good dose :roll: soooooo.. what dose do you take kitty back up to? None of them were good, or they wouldn't have been increased/decreased. I am more confused than ever :lol:
Good luck with better #s & Happy Friday Marjorie & Gracie!
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Hi Marjorie, It's a dilemma, for sure. I think I would be inclined to wait the 72 hours and then go back up if needed. You only have to wait another day, right? But you know Gracie!!!!!
Thanks for the Wellness food empathy! Do you think that your bounce and our weird numbers over the last few days resulted from eating food for weeks and weeks that didn't have sufficient vit. B1? It might have finally caught up with us (but neither of our kitties really has the "symptoms" they mention).

Love Gracie's "nanner" pic.!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Moonie usually waits the 72 hours before coming down from a bounce, so I too would wait & see...
Then add a drop on to the dose if you want & see what that does--You know it's trial & error to find the perfect dose for them--Heck, I'm still looking for Moonie's after 3 years :lol: ;-) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hugs & hope she comes down tonite!!
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

I love the nanner pic, too. Gracie looks so sweet! I hope you can find the answer to the dosing. Yes, I'm still looking for the Wellness, but I have one other place to check. In the meantime, Maggie is enjoying the FF Seafood Feast.
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

I think this is still a bounce from the 40, be patient. ;-)

I glanced through yesterday's condo - are you still feeding Wellness, just from different lots? Reason I ask is that Jill has found that whenever she changes Alex's food she has higher numbers for a few days.
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Libby...thank you so much for checking in. I'll hold the dose. I did not have to change off WN. We had enough and found unaffected lots right away so the bounce is a bounce. She seems to feel fine.
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Interesting dose discussion - I am with Nicole - as confused as ever. I know with Mannie I need to wait. Normally a bounce for him will clear in a day, but... some times not. Just when I am ready to increase we have 2 solid days of good things, numbers where they should be, etc. It's a dilemma for sure, and ECID.

Sorry I missed your condo this morning... I was out early.

LOVE the nanner picture!!! Mannie would be SO PROUD!

have a great night. Gracie - be good, and give your bean some nice numbers - no diving, just nice numbers. :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Thanks, Michelle! I was wondering if anybody would comment on that ;-) you caught it.. good girl :-D
How do you take them back up to the last good dose when there was not a last good dose.. a good dose indicates (to me) no need to increase or decrease :roll:
Confused!
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Hi Marjorie,

Love Gracie's nanner pic! She looks like she's really into it. We ought to have a nanner hall of fame. :-D

Hope she clears these higher #'s soon.
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

nanner hall of fame is a great idea...but i'm wondering if the facilitators at Nanners Anonymous would veto the idea?? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Fingers and paws crossed that Gracie's extended bounce clears soon, and that you are able to find the right dose to keep her in the low numbers!! Hope all is well... sorry for not stopping by the past couple days!!

Have a great weekend!!
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Nicole & Baby said:
Hi, I don't know about the dose question... I thought I understood that the bounce can last up to 72 hours (like you stated) but then the part that leaves me confused is.. the other day Jill said in my condo that when you consider the reduction failed.. take them back up to the last good dose but pointed out to me ... the last dose that she was on took her down in the 30s & that was not a good dose :roll: soooooo.. what dose do you take kitty back up to? None of them were good, or they wouldn't have been increased/decreased. I am more confused than ever :lol:
I was looking for a condo for Baby in which to reply, but I didn't see one so I'll post here. I would have to read Jill's comment in context to see if I can tell what she meant, but my guess is that she was saying that at that time the dose that took Baby to the 30s was not a good dose. That doesn't mean you can never, ever go back there if it is needed, but you for sure don't want to rush to go back to a dose that left her in the 30s. That is quite low (especially because Baby is fond of LOW 30s), so you want to be sure to give plenty of time for any bounce to clear before going back to a dose that left kitty that low. You would also have to be aware that if you increase back to that dose, they may only need a few cycles on that dose before getting their momentum back and earning the reduction again. It's usually not really a "good" dose for the cat, so you would need to do that increase only when you are able to handle any consequences.

Does that help at all?
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Hi Marjorie, I'm not a dose commentater (commenter?). I have the same question that Nicole has. I still don't understand it either. If the dose was good, we wouldn't have left it. :smile:

Love the 'nannner picture too. Gracie is so beautiful. :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie AMPS 303 +2 291 +4 322

Libby... yes! That does make complete sense... thank you sooooooo much :YMHUG:
& you are right... sorry to hijack Gracie's condo :roll:
Baby did not have a condo most of this week.. but you have educated me & some others I am sure too.. as always.. thank you! You are correct.. Baby in the low 30s & fond.. so that definitely was not a good dose & I understand for future!
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156

Thanks to the wise ones, Libby, Ella, and Roni about letting the bounce clear. It has. I had already planned that if she had a low yellow PMPS, that I would not increase her dose but it's also very good to know (and what I asked) that if her numbers had been high tonight, to continue to let the bounce clear before raising the dose.

Thanks also to all of you who posted today (I was actually trying to keep track of our condo on my DROID X...wooo hooo) about Jill's comment on Baby's condo the other day. And Nicole...you didn't hijack our condo...I have been waiting to see if there was any clarification to this as well because we were in the same boat and have been a few other times.

Here's the link to Baby's condo where the discussion was: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=37672

Here's what Jill said in Baby's condo:
dosecrease for sure! i know we say when a reduction doesn't hold to go right back up to the last good dose, but the last dose wasn't a good dose because it dropped her into the 30s. kwim? and don't be tempted to take the dose back up without giving the expected bounce time to clear, k?

Sooo...I want to be sure I understand, Libby. If the kitty gets a number in the 30s, you dosecrease, they bounce, then you wait for the bounce to clear and all they do is pump out low yellow or blue, can you take them back up to the dose that gave them the 30s? What if you dosecrease, no bounce, and all they do is give low yellows, high blues...then can you take them back up to the dose that gave them the 30s? What is plenty of time if they have a failed reduction?? We have done this because we thought the last good dose was the one where they had nice green cycles. I will add that each time we've taken Gracie back up in that circumstance, she spends less time at that dose like Libby said.
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156

makes my head spin, but am grateful for the explanation, and precisely why I need to wait for Mannie to make sure he has cleared the bounce.

have a great night - looks like Gracie will. It is nice to see the bounce clearing.

(had to laugh - on the DROID X - that was me today....)

GRACIE!!!!!! We have the same number! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156 +2 102

How is it that the nanner pics here look all nice and bright yellow, and the one I have is a limp dirty grey turd-looking thing with lots of holes in it?
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156 +2 102

MJ: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: great laugh for me considering PJ PARTY TONIGHT!!! Here's my secret: it was new...brand new out of the bag. You should see it now. Also full of holes but still retaining it's sunny yellow color.

Michelle: I'm surprised Mannie's look like Capt D's and Butthead's....mostly because Mannie has SO MANY to choose from! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156 +2 102

MJ+Donovan said:
How is it that the nanner pics here look all nice and bright yellow, and the one I have is a limp dirty grey turd-looking thing with lots of holes in it?


ROTFLMAO!!
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156 +2 102 +3 60

oh HAHA on all the nanner stuff.

Gracie is looking great tonight - hope i isn't too long for you. Mannie's @ 114, close to nadir... so fed the boy a little and we are off to bed.
 
Re: 3/4 Gracie PMPS 237 +1 156 +2 102 +3 60 +4.5 68

Hey Michelle....just trying to get her to surf. She's still 1.5 hours from nadir. I'm tired....may try to test/nap for a little bit. Haven't had to work too hard to keep her up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top