3.4.15 Zoey AMPS 542

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Good morning!

I really don't have any questions. I have read and reread and read again about Lantus. It is clear as mud with a few pockets of spring water, but I'm sure as time goes by my vision and understanding will improve. Zoey loves to be tested because she gets a small piece of tuna each time. I should probably video tape it because people have a hard time believing it until they see her in action. Because of that, I was trying to test often to make up for those days that I will need to be away. I'm hoping that I will start seeing a pattern and understand her numbers so I will not be stressed about being away for hours at a time on those future days. I didn't test much during the night last night since she was alert and vocal every hour that I woke up and talked to her. If I wake up (evidently I snore so she knows these things LOL), she comes to me to be tested. True story. So I am able to see right away if she's wonky or lethargic or any other concerning behavior.

The numbers today are nothing like yesterday (so far) so I guess I'll just monitor it, try to catch nadir and go from there.

Please let me know if I'm supposed to post something each morning to remind you we're here and to look in on us, or if you only want me to post if anything unusual is going on. I figure guardian angels need rest, too.
 
Hi and welcome to LL. Just a heads up that many cats get vocal when their BG drops. That is true for my cat.
 
Welcome to LL! Yes, there is a lot of information to take in and although the protocols are pretty detailed there are always reasons to divert from them. It is good that you are here, just ask lots of questions when situations arise that you are unsure of.

Hi and welcome to LL. Just a heads up that many cats get vocal when their BG drops. That is true for my cat.
Same is true of Sammy.

Have a fabulous day.
 
There's no requirement on how often you have to post. We encourage new people to post daily, partly so we can get to know the kitty and partly so if we see anything going on we can mention it. As you know, sometimes when you're new to this sugar dance you don't even know what questions to ask! So if someone spots something, they'll let you know.

Don't worry about not getting it all yet. It takes more than a day!

So one fyi that i can see looking at her SS - she's bounced. From that wonderful streak of blue yesterday, her body reacted and that's why she's high today. The second post here has a long explanation of bouncing. She might be high for as much as 3 days from yesterday, so even as long as Friday's day cycle. If her body isn't too unused to those blue numbers, she might clear it sooner. No way to know at this point, but just don't be too worried if she is high til Friday.

Here's your post from yesterday. People link the last post so that if someone wants to look back and see what was already said, they can do it easily. I forgot that for about the first month, but people always just posted it for me. :) so don't worry if you forget. gives me a chance to pay back!

I think the thing that gave me the greatest peace of mind when i went back to work while punkin was diabetic was to buy a PetSafe 5 Compartment feeder. I LOVED that feeder! I just linked a post that has a few people talking about feeders that might be helpful for you. I don't remember who, but someone has 2 of them and they set it to go off every half hour when they anticipate low numbers.

If you were home and Zoey went into low numbers, under 50 on your meter, you would give some high carb food, wait 20ish minutes, retest and if she were still under 50, you'd repeat the process. We always had punkin's +3 snack at am & pm in the timed feeder. When I went back to work, if I anticipated punkin going low, I'd set the feeder with some food in all 4 compartments, then if i was really worried either DH or I would come home from work after the feeder had opened 4 times, test him and reset the feeder and let it go off every half hour for 4 more times. He could be counted on to eat so I never had to worry about it. I usually just put regular low carb in it, but if i were worried, i could put high carb in it. The timed feeder can be a lot of peace of mind.

I didn't see the suggestion about having 2 feeders until after punkin had passed away, but really, i thought it was brilliant. Anyway, since you're worried about being gone, I thought i'd throw that idea out there for you to consider.
 
thank you for all of the information, julie! and i'm very sorry that you lost your sweet punkin. i've read a bit of your past experiences and thank you for taking the time to document your journey. in addition to those of here, i know yours and punkin's story will mean a lot to people and kitties that you will probably not ever know you've touched the lives of. :spam:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top