3/31 Stella AMPS/183 +3/59 +5/44 +6/65 +8/80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Happy Easter!

Stella is doing nicely this AM. I had meant to cut a full .5 from Stella's dose, and I only cut .25 and she dipped again to 44 so today we have taken the full .5 and hope it sticks properly. Stella also had her first dose of High Blood Pressure medicine yesterday. When I went to administer it she did not like my trying to get the syringe in her mouth with the liquid so we struggled a bit. Once she tasted it though she looked at me like...ok, I want more please. It is labeled as tasting like chicken. Hahahaha

Stella was up too early for me again this morning. We stayed in bed as long as posiible but still got up before the alarm. Stella was chasing the lights coming in from the street lamps. Boo finally gave up and got up too. There has been a lot of 'playing' in this household lately, so the kitties must be feeling pretty good.


Thanks carfurby for the get well! The doctor has ordered 'rest' so I may be out for a week. Lots of antibiotics. :sad:

Thanks theBowHuntress for the Easter Eggs yesterday! :-D
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183

Morning Mary!! ~O) ~O)
Congratulations on Stella's reduction. I hope she does a great job with it!! GO STELLA!! and.. Sleep in Stella!!
I'm glad all the kitties are feeling well and i hope we can add YOU to that list soon. HAPPY EASTER!!
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183

Mary:

I'd really encourage you to stick with the protocol. A dose reduction of more than 0.25u is likely to not hold. Likewise, I'd encourage you to think about how long your are holding a dose. If you're seeing nadirs that are in a normal range, holding the dose makes sense. If nadirs are higher than you'd like, then you need to increase. You may need to get more PM tests, especially on the days when you're not home to test during the day, in order to know where Stella's nadirs are falling.

[url=http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm:286ot314][b:286ot314]Tight Regulation Protocol[/b][/url] said:
Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183 +3/59

Thanks Sienne. The first .25 was held 5 cycles if you look at Stella's SS. This new .25 (total .5) started this am and it looks as though it is working out. I am hoping Stella is in for some healthy healing in her new home. :-D
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183 +3/59 +5/44

Holy Smokes Stella is on a rip roaring roll. Lucky for her I am home sick this week to watch her closely! Is this our new home, her new-found security, her new mix of 0 carb cat food, or her new Blood Pressure medicine?

So our new adventure apparently begins... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183 +3/59 +5/44

I'm glad the kitties are feeling good and being playful. Hopefully the ABs will help you feel better soon.

Stella also had her first dose of High Blood Pressure medicine yesterday. When I went to administer it she did not like my trying to get the syringe in her mouth with the liquid so we struggled a bit. Once she tasted it though she looked at me like...ok, I want more please. It is labeled as tasting like chicken.
Hopefully she'll remember she liked the taste the next time you have to give her some and she won't fight you.
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183 +3/59 +5/44 +6/65

Thanks everybody! Yes, lots of variables for Stella. I hope my ABs work too. And cross your fingers Stella stays on her roll... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183 +3/59 +5/44 +6/65

Given that you reduced the dose more than 0.25u this morning, do not reduce Stella's dose again. The drop is most likely due to the depot still being at the old dose.
 
Re: 3/31 Stella AMPS/183 +3/59 +5/44 +6/65

I have a request.

I ask that during this time of transition no dosing 'advice' be given. It is unsolicited 'advice' that is not welcome. There are too many variables I am working with in my household and Stella is my family (cat) and I have taken incredibly good care of her and would never put her in jeopardy. Please trust that what I do is not haphazard but done with care. I am home sick and have the time to oversee and watch all that is taking place. I do respect everyone and admire everyone here. Stella would have been put to sleep if I didn't have this message board. All of Stella's vets are amazed and intrigued by Stella despite me. If we watch Stella we may all learn something. She is trying to teach me something and I am trying to listen to her. Please let me listen to her.

Stella came back from having Neuropathy. She is amazing. She has taught me so much that no human could ever teach me in this lifetime.

Namaste
 
BGenhkpCUAA_g0R.jpg:thumb


From Marje, Mike, Gus, Gracie, and Tobey
 
Sienne and Marje, I respect you both. Please do the same for me. Please don't send me PMs that may be negative and all knowing as though my experience although shorter than yours at 2 years is any less in this great world of ours. I do not know why I am a threat to you. The fact that you both are 'harassing' me by PM is not nice. I know you don't want me give anyone any advice or comment on any links and would like to bully me into a silence. I thought this board was to learn from one another. Please don't visit if you can't be nice. It is sort of 'two faced' what you are doing. To be posting such nice public posts and to be PMing me the way you are. Please. I am very ill and am only trying to heal both myself and Stella this week. This agravation you are causing on my Catholic holiday of EASTER is not nice.No reply needed. You had your say. I have had mine. On MY cats condo. thanks to all. I hope everyone else is feeling more peaceful today than I have been given the opportunity.

Stella is healing. Stella is fine. Stella is love. Stella is not mine...but a gift from GOD to me.
 
I haven't a clue what you're talking about. I did not send you any PM messages nor do I intend to do so. Your message was very clear. If you want to publicly chastise someone, at least get your facts straight.
 
There is nothing in my "Sent" box to you from this weekend. I don't think I've ever sent you a PM. Whatever PM you are referring to, I was not copied on. So, unless someone is capable of hacking the PM system, not that I can imagine why anyone would want to, I reiterate, I did not send you any messages.
 
I did send you a PM but it was not negative and I am sorry you felt it was. I was just "respectfully" asking that you give others the same respect you are asking for in dosing advice. I'm really fine with that since I haven't offered you any.

It just seems hypocritical to me if you give advice to others without knowing anything about their cat or without them specifically asking you for it but you do not want to take "unsolicited" advice given by someone who has many more years of experience and knowledge on how this insulin works than you do. She was only trying to help keep Stella safe. You could have just graciously thanked her. She gives an amazing amount of her time and heart to this board and the members in it.

I'm also sorry that you felt you were being bullied. You are not a threat to either of us. And you were not being harassed since I only sent you one PM and Sienne sent you none. And I'm sorry to take up this space on your condo but I don't appreciate Sienne and me being maligned.

I'm also not being two faced. I sent you an Easter greeting and then saw that you gave what I would consider to be unsafe advice to someone if they had taken it because you know nothing of her circumstances. Rather than say that on the condo, I chose to PM you. That doesn't mean I'm not sincere in my Easter greetings; the two things have nothing to do with each other.

From my heart, I wish you and Stella the best. I know how very much you love her and take your role as her caregiver very seriously. I am happy she is thriving.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top