3/31 Shoes AMPS 361 +1.5 291 +2.5 199 +3 130, +3.5 178 PMPS 571 +2 512 +5 400

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was reading up on Shoe's story in yesterday's condo - wowsers he has been through a lot!

I'm with Amy on doing the increases in .25 units going forward too, adjusting in anything smaller is usually only useful if the kitty is really close to their ideal dose. And just you wait, you're probably going to end up addicted to those greens :D;)
 
I'm liking that yellow, Shoes!!! Sometimes a drop early in the cycle like this could mean it's going to be a very active cycle. You could give him a small snack of LC food to see if that does slow the drop down a bit. We do want to see him in lower numbers, but sharp drops are another thing that can cause bouncing, so if we slow the drop a little bit then maybe we won't see much of a bounce later.
 
I am working on manipulating Drevons curve/drops as well--this will bump up for you now.... I hesitate to give advice as I am still figuring out what works--Bumpity
 
I'm liking that yellow, Shoes!!! Sometimes a drop early in the cycle like this could mean it's going to be a very active cycle. You could give him a small snack of LC food to see if that does slow the drop down a bit. We do want to see him in lower numbers, but sharp drops are another thing that can cause bouncing, so if we slow the drop a little bit then maybe we won't see much of a bounce later.
Just in the nik of time!! Your like superman:cat:
 
I'm liking that yellow, Shoes!!! Sometimes a drop early in the cycle like this could mean it's going to be a very active cycle. You could give him a small snack of LC food to see if that does slow the drop down a bit. We do want to see him in lower numbers, but sharp drops are another thing that can cause bouncing, so if we slow the drop a little bit then maybe we won't see much of a bounce later.
Thanks Amy. I just gave him .75 oz of FF Classic. I just don't want a huge dive that he does so well!
 
Good deal! We want to get his numbers down, but without the big plummets so they STAY down. If you can test again in about an hour, just to see what's what and "data gather", that would be great!
 
((Sandi))) I just read Shoes story on yesterday's condo when I saw what Vyktor's Mum posted today. Sitting here with tears in my eyes and just thinking about all that shoes has been through. He really does have 9 lives and you are such a great bean to take care of him. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
((Sandi))) I just read Shoes story on yesterday's condo when I saw what Vyktor's Mum posted today. Sitting here with tears in my eyes and just thinking about all that shoes has been through. He really does have 9 lives and you are such a great bean to take care of him. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Bobbie! He really does have 9 lives! Many of our babies have hard stories too! I am just grateful that he is so docile and patient!
 
Gosh, I went to take a shower and look what Shoes did! Good job with the HC. See what the next test looks like. I have to go to the chiropractor and will check on you when I get back. Behave Shoes! ;)
 
I find that I needed to test Max hourly and feed small amounts depending on the BG to prevent him from dropping too low and bouncing. If I caught it soon enough lc and mc did the job. You will soon find out what works for Shoes. You are doing a great job!
 
Thanks everyone! I did post a ? in the Health Forum about steering with food creating a false result as to where the dose would have actually ended up? Would like your thoughts on it as well. Seems like every time I have had to prop the dives up with food, I do too much and he bounces hard. Most of the previous dives were on a lower dose of insulin than this one and the one 2 days ago.
 
For Max I had to steer with food to get him used to normal numbers. He would dive and then fail reductions. Look at his spreadsheets if you like. Of course every cat is different but many bounce from going too low or dropping too fast and leveling out often helps.
 
For Max I had to steer with food to get him used to normal numbers. He would dive and then fail reductions. Look at his spreadsheets if you like. Of course every cat is different but many bounce from going too low or dropping too fast and leveling out often helps.
Looks like Max had the same kind of scary dives as Shoes in 2014. I am unable to test every hour however. Have just taken a few vac. days this week to increase his dose and try to improve his numbers. Max sure is stable now!

Thanks,
 
Just steer with food when possible. An auto feeder for when you are gone might be a very good idea. If you can get a +2 or out the door test before leaving for work you could set up the feeder with food based upon your test before you leave.
 
Just steer with food when possible. An auto feeder for when you are gone might be a very good idea. If you can get a +2 or out the door test before leaving for work you could set up the feeder with food based upon your test before you leave.
We are working on using the auto feeder. Have just been feeding him out of the PetSafe5 with the lid up since yesterday evening. He eats from it so want to take baby steps with it as he was terrified of it when I first took it out of the box. Ran and hid. Left it out in room for long time for him to get used to. Probably Sat. or Sun. will put the batteries in it and set it to open and see what he does then.
 
Good job Sandi! It is quite a balancing act. What I do is I put the amount of food and what is was, LC,MC or HC in the cell with the numbers and it helps me to see how much of a hike the food did and I can go back to that the next time as a guideline. But, then again, these cats are going to do what ever they like because, they're cats. :);):cat:
 
Good job Sandi! It is quite a balancing act. What I do is I put the amount of food and what is was, LC,MC or HC in the cell with the numbers and it helps me to see how much of a hike the food did and I can go back to that the next time as a guideline. But, then again, these cats are going to do what ever they like because, they're cats. :);):cat:
Thanks. I did add some notes to the cells.
 
Most likely, it's a bounce off the 130 today....Shoes' body isn't used to being in those blue numbers so Mr. Liver panicked and released lots of stored sugar and hormones to bring him back up to where it's "used to" being

I know it's hard to see, but some kitties are just bouncier than others and all you can do is keep getting them into those "better" numbers and hope Mr. L re-learns that it's OK to be there
 
Most likely, it's a bounce off the 130 today....Shoes' body isn't used to being in those blue numbers so Mr. Liver panicked and released lots of stored sugar and hormones to bring him back up to where it's "used to" being

I know it's hard to see, but some kitties are just bouncier than others and all you can do is keep getting them into those "better" numbers and hope Mr. L re-learns that it's OK to be there
Thanks Chris. I guess the best I can hope for is that it clears quickly.
 
Awesome seeing those blues today!:cool:
Bouncing or NDW here?
Could also be a bounce from the fast drop. Some kitties bounce when they drop more than 50 points an hour. The other thing you are likely seeing is the effect of the high carb food. I think you would have been fine with continuing to feed medium carb. Usually we'll save high carb food for the greens. By feeding high carb, you put the brakes on the insulin action, shortening the duration and as a result you get those high preshots. High preshots can mean big drops = more bouncing.

By the way, you might want to put notes in the Remarks field about what food you gave when. So something like 2 tsp HC@+3 will help you keep track of what you've fed him. If you do go the path of steering with food, it's good to have a record of what worked (or didn't) previously.

I too liked the history of Shoes. I have a friend who does cat rescue from the local race track. People keep on thinking a barn is a good place to dump a cat - and there are coyotes living in the infield. :mad:

Another comment on yesterday's condo - it's really hard to get a cat to stay flat, below renal threshold and in sensible numbers, without seeing green. Neko was a very bouncy kitty when I started - I used to call her the Rainbow Queen. I've found over time that Neko will stay mostly under renal threshold, if she's getting a dose that gets her nadirs down to the 70's or 80's. Those numbers of course on my human meter so a little higher on the AT.
 
Awesome seeing those blues today!:cool:

Could also be a bounce from the fast drop. Some kitties bounce when they drop more than 50 points an hour. The other thing you are likely seeing is the effect of the high carb food. I think you would have been fine with continuing to feed medium carb. Usually we'll save high carb food for the greens. By feeding high carb, you put the brakes on the insulin action, shortening the duration and as a result you get those high preshots. High preshots can mean big drops = more bouncing.

By the way, you might want to put notes in the Remarks field about what food you gave when. So something like 2 tsp HC@+3 will help you keep track of what you've fed him. If you do go the path of steering with food, it's good to have a record of what worked (or didn't) previously.

I too liked the history of Shoes. I have a friend who does cat rescue from the local race track. People keep on thinking a barn is a good place to dump a cat - and there are coyotes living in the infield. :mad:

Another comment on yesterday's condo - it's really hard to get a cat to stay flat, below renal threshold and in sensible numbers, without seeing green. Neko was a very bouncy kitty when I started - I used to call her the Rainbow Queen. I've found over time that Neko will stay mostly under renal threshold, if she's getting a dose that gets her nadirs down to the 70's or 80's. Those numbers of course on my human meter so a little higher on the AT.

Thanks Wendy. I did put the food as a note for each test. I guess the remarks section is a better place as it is more readily seen. There are Canadian Geese all over Delaware Park Race Track where Shoes was when he was bitten by something. The geese are also protected by law and are a serious nuisance to the horses and people there as well as very very aggressive and mean! It's possible one of them attacked Shoes but we believe that it could have been a snake as there is a huge creek that runs through the backside of the track and always looks snaky to me. Whatever it was, it's venom was powerful! The vet that treated Shoes when they found him had to stop and vomit many times while trying to work on his face. Which track does your friend do cat rescue?

Maybe one day I will become more comfortable with the greens, but just not now. I appreciate your encouragement.
 
Which track does your friend do cat rescue?
Hastings Park Race Track. She and her partner also have horses there but there are several months over the winter when no one is around so she has to make a daily visit to feed them if she hasn't captured them yet. And there are raccoons too, which can make a mess of a cat.
 
Hastings Park Race Track. She and her partner also have horses there but there are several months over the winter when no one is around so she has to make a daily visit to feed them if she hasn't captured them yet. And there are raccoons too, which can make a mess of a cat.
I haven't been to any of the Canadian tracks. It makes me mad that the cat's barn connections do not take them with them when they move on. My friends never ever ever left Shoes or his late partner Socks at any track! They are/were family!
 
Just went back to yesterday's condo and read his story - Shoes sure is a lucky cat that he is not only alive but that he found himself such a great home for his golden years.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top