Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good morning,
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119554
Yesterdays SS:
Not good enough. Still above renal threshold, going on 7 months now.
I increased Rocky's insulin shot today to 2.25u from 2.0u. He's had 7 cycles on 2.0u. Some of those shots were even given with an increase of insulin as well as an insulin overlap-- and he still did not see BG numbers that were consistently between 50 to 150 for more than a few hours. Extremely depressing..:YMSIGH:
I don't think that raising Rocky's insulin dose until he has 4 or 5 hours of BGs between 50-150, then he goes below 40 and gets an insulin reduction, does anything to help heal his pancreas. We're killing what remaining beta cells he has left, IF he has any left. :roll: A prolonged amount of days in BGs of 500, 400, and 300 from a larger amount of insulin that REQUIRES a front end carb load to not go below 40, and then the soon after drained dept, is a hell of a price to pay for a few hours of BG between 50 to 150..
Rocky is very poorly regulated. He doesn't have ringworm any longer at all. He does however have HORRIBLE DANDRUFF.
BTW, Rocky went below 40 two times on the 1.75u dose, (5/18 and 5/20). Thank God I did not lower his dose even more when that happened. Now we are back up to 2.25u.:roll:
The advise givers have all weighed in on the TID (three times a day insulin shot) and none of them want me to do it unless I am an expert like them at knowing how to read an SS. However, after looking at Rocky's SS, BJM concurred with me that Rocky is metabolizing his insulin pretty fast, and so Rocky is seeing those stinky pinky numbers at the end of only one cycle.
She also wrote as a precaution to me:
I will be out of town on June 12 and will need to take Rocky to the vet for an overnight medical board, as well as on June 19 through at least June 22, and most likely for a few extended days beyond that, but I am not sure yet for how many days. I have no one to watch and take care of Rocky while I am away because no one I know wants to deal with his diabetes. I will be way up in the mountains in the remote wilderness at Gomde CA, a Buddhist retreat center. It's a one-way drive 5 hours from my house. In addition, there are no cell towers where I am going so I will be unreachable by cell phone.
I am still thinking strongly to change Rocky's shooting schedule to 3x per day, instead of 2x per day but I will wait until at least the beginning of July when I am not scheduled to be out of town for the rest of the entire summer.
Do I sound unhappy? That's because I am. This TR protocol, so far, seven months into it, is not helping Rocky's pancreas to heal. I am making him worse.
I pray and HOPE that I get to eat crow and that an increase in insulin will help him to get regulated.
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119554
Yesterdays SS:
Not good enough. Still above renal threshold, going on 7 months now.
I increased Rocky's insulin shot today to 2.25u from 2.0u. He's had 7 cycles on 2.0u. Some of those shots were even given with an increase of insulin as well as an insulin overlap-- and he still did not see BG numbers that were consistently between 50 to 150 for more than a few hours. Extremely depressing..:YMSIGH:
I don't think that raising Rocky's insulin dose until he has 4 or 5 hours of BGs between 50-150, then he goes below 40 and gets an insulin reduction, does anything to help heal his pancreas. We're killing what remaining beta cells he has left, IF he has any left. :roll: A prolonged amount of days in BGs of 500, 400, and 300 from a larger amount of insulin that REQUIRES a front end carb load to not go below 40, and then the soon after drained dept, is a hell of a price to pay for a few hours of BG between 50 to 150..
Rocky is very poorly regulated. He doesn't have ringworm any longer at all. He does however have HORRIBLE DANDRUFF.
BTW, Rocky went below 40 two times on the 1.75u dose, (5/18 and 5/20). Thank God I did not lower his dose even more when that happened. Now we are back up to 2.25u.:roll:
The advise givers have all weighed in on the TID (three times a day insulin shot) and none of them want me to do it unless I am an expert like them at knowing how to read an SS. However, after looking at Rocky's SS, BJM concurred with me that Rocky is metabolizing his insulin pretty fast, and so Rocky is seeing those stinky pinky numbers at the end of only one cycle.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119507BJM WROTE:
It does look like the Lantus hits him really fast, he nadirs early, and then the insulin wears off quickly from the numbers above.
She also wrote as a precaution to me:
But, alas, unregulated diabetes will also slowly kill.BJM WROTE:
Remember: too much insulin can kill.
I will be out of town on June 12 and will need to take Rocky to the vet for an overnight medical board, as well as on June 19 through at least June 22, and most likely for a few extended days beyond that, but I am not sure yet for how many days. I have no one to watch and take care of Rocky while I am away because no one I know wants to deal with his diabetes. I will be way up in the mountains in the remote wilderness at Gomde CA, a Buddhist retreat center. It's a one-way drive 5 hours from my house. In addition, there are no cell towers where I am going so I will be unreachable by cell phone.
I am still thinking strongly to change Rocky's shooting schedule to 3x per day, instead of 2x per day but I will wait until at least the beginning of July when I am not scheduled to be out of town for the rest of the entire summer.
Do I sound unhappy? That's because I am. This TR protocol, so far, seven months into it, is not helping Rocky's pancreas to heal. I am making him worse.
I pray and HOPE that I get to eat crow and that an increase in insulin will help him to get regulated.