3/31 Rex AMPS 430, 12 hour curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy & Rex (GA)

Member Since 2017
Hi. I would love feedback on Rex's numbers. Except for the +2 and +4 numbers, he was in the 400's. He has been on Lantus since 3/27/17. Do I keep going with 0.5 units?

On a side note, I felt awful for him because I didn't draw blood on the first jab every single time today. :(
 
Good job on the curve today.:) Normally with SLGS you would wait to the end of the 7 days on insulin to increase, but I think with the numbers you are seeing, it would be OK to go up to 0.75 units tomorrow. Can you test mid day at all on the weekend?
 
I didn't draw blood on the first jab every single time today.
I still can't get a test completed with just one poke either. Maybe one day I will get it.
You'll get there! As you are poking, it's stimulating the growth of new capillaries in your cat's ear. After a couple of weeks of consistent poking every day, you'll get blood every time. In the beginning you think it's something you're doing wrong - but it's not. Hang in there and this will resolve.

Catgirl - I agree with Wendy. It looks like 0.5u isn't quite enough and I think you have enough there to suggest going to 0.75u.

@Vtambo & Rex The most important number on Rex's spreadsheet is that 203 on your Alpha Trak. The higher numbers around it are bouncing numbers, because his body has gotten used to being in the high numbers. I'd stay the course with the 1.0u for now, and if you can get a test before bed that will really help you get a better picture of what's going on. With Lantus dosing, you make decisions on increasing/decreasing/holding the dose based upon answering the question "how low can this dose make my cat's blood sugar go?" Focus on that and getting the cat's blood sugar into normal range, and the high numbers will typical resolve on their own.
 
You'll get there! As you are poking, it's stimulating the growth of new capillaries in your cat's ear. After a couple of weeks of consistent poking every day, you'll get blood every time. In the beginning you think it's something you're doing wrong - but it's not. Hang in there and this will resolve.

Catgirl - I agree with Wendy. It looks like 0.5u isn't quite enough and I think you have enough there to suggest going to 0.75u.

@Vtambo & Rex The most important number on Rex's spreadsheet is that 203 on your Alpha Trak. The higher numbers around it are bouncing numbers, because his body has gotten used to being in the high numbers. I'd stay the course with the 1.0u for now, and if you can get a test before bed that will really help you get a better picture of what's going on. With Lantus dosing, you make decisions on increasing/decreasing/holding the dose based upon answering the question "how low can this dose make my cat's blood sugar go?" Focus on that and getting the cat's blood sugar into normal range, and the high numbers will typical resolve on their own.

That is very encouraging. Thank you. Now. Just have to get the gumption again to get that testing done.
 
Can you test mid day at all on the weekend?

Thank you, Wendy and Julie. I didn't see this until now, but I'll start the 0.75 units tonight. I can test at midday. However, my husband wants me to try 1 unit. Is there any harm in doing that? He doesn't want Rex's bg to stay so high
 
Is Rex still getting some dry food? Or have you finished the switch? Starting dose for cats on dry food is 1.0 units.

Note that if he is still eating dry, that his insulin needs may come down when he switches to all wet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top