Margaret and Pearl (GA)
Member Since 2020
Good morning! Pearl doesn't seem to be her usual GREEN self on this dose. And I don't know what to do - do I have room for increase with some of her AM cycle NADIRs? It honestly looks like she is 2 different cats AM and PM cycles (so of course that makes me wonder whether she needs 2 different doses - I know this is crazy given Lantus, but I think I have heard of sometimes cats who need 2 different doses AM and PM?)
At any rate, do you think I have room for an increase? If patience at the current dose is what is needed, I can do that. Her patterns are just looking pretty wonky and I don't want to lose the good ground we have gained. Pearl doesn't usually go up into the blues. She isn't bouncing, she is just too high (she has minor Pred blips every 4th day, but I expect that. This post is about the unexpected blues not associated with her Pred).
I also don't know if we are in a Pancreatitis attack. I suspect not since her AM cycle BGs are still in the green but it's her PM cycles that are in the blue (usually Pancreatitis for Pearl puts both AM and PM in blue). However, she does have some symptoms and I am doing supportive care as if she is in an acute attack.
(PS I can't get rid of regularly feeding the 3% carb food right now - which is a higher carb FOR PEARL who is ultra sensitive, because she still isn't wanting to eat well and this is the only way I can get food into her right now). But I do recognize that this could be part of the reason her numbers are a bit high.
Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-30-pearl-pmps-96-2-75-90.245454/#post-2769764
Thank you so much!
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie
@Tina Marie and Jan
At any rate, do you think I have room for an increase? If patience at the current dose is what is needed, I can do that. Her patterns are just looking pretty wonky and I don't want to lose the good ground we have gained. Pearl doesn't usually go up into the blues. She isn't bouncing, she is just too high (she has minor Pred blips every 4th day, but I expect that. This post is about the unexpected blues not associated with her Pred).
I also don't know if we are in a Pancreatitis attack. I suspect not since her AM cycle BGs are still in the green but it's her PM cycles that are in the blue (usually Pancreatitis for Pearl puts both AM and PM in blue). However, she does have some symptoms and I am doing supportive care as if she is in an acute attack.
(PS I can't get rid of regularly feeding the 3% carb food right now - which is a higher carb FOR PEARL who is ultra sensitive, because she still isn't wanting to eat well and this is the only way I can get food into her right now). But I do recognize that this could be part of the reason her numbers are a bit high.
Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-30-pearl-pmps-96-2-75-90.245454/#post-2769764
Thank you so much!
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie
@Tina Marie and Jan
Last edited:
