3/31 Pearl PMPS 121, +2 146, +4.5 105

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning! Pearl doesn't seem to be her usual GREEN self on this dose. And I don't know what to do - do I have room for increase with some of her AM cycle NADIRs? It honestly looks like she is 2 different cats AM and PM cycles (so of course that makes me wonder whether she needs 2 different doses - I know this is crazy given Lantus, but I think I have heard of sometimes cats who need 2 different doses AM and PM?)

At any rate, do you think I have room for an increase? If patience at the current dose is what is needed, I can do that. Her patterns are just looking pretty wonky and I don't want to lose the good ground we have gained. Pearl doesn't usually go up into the blues. She isn't bouncing, she is just too high (she has minor Pred blips every 4th day, but I expect that. This post is about the unexpected blues not associated with her Pred).

I also don't know if we are in a Pancreatitis attack. I suspect not since her AM cycle BGs are still in the green but it's her PM cycles that are in the blue (usually Pancreatitis for Pearl puts both AM and PM in blue). However, she does have some symptoms and I am doing supportive care as if she is in an acute attack.

(PS I can't get rid of regularly feeding the 3% carb food right now - which is a higher carb FOR PEARL who is ultra sensitive, because she still isn't wanting to eat well and this is the only way I can get food into her right now). But I do recognize that this could be part of the reason her numbers are a bit high.

Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-30-pearl-pmps-96-2-75-90.245454/#post-2769764

Thank you so much!

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie

@Tina Marie and Jan
 
Last edited:
Hi Margaret! Lantus seems to work best when dosing is consistent, so two different shots isn't a great idea. I would see what the powers that be have to say about an increase. I think your instinct is right, but I'm not great in the patience department and Pearl is on meds and has issues that I'm not familiar with enough to factor in. I took Ruby up on 3/9 when many would have said not to and she got some really good numbers after that increase, but ECID.
 
but I think I have heard of sometimes cats who need 2 different doses AM and PM?)
In my time here, I haven't seen that the case for the cats on depot insulins.

I wouldn't worry about trying to lower her food to 0%. Some cats actually do better with a bit of carbs and I think most people feed in the 3-6% range. Feeding Low Carb vs Lower Carb Foods

If you can continue to monitor as you have, I'd be tempted to do an increase. It might just short term, but might also give her just that nudge she needs.
 
In my time here, I haven't seen that the case for the cats on depot insulins.

I wouldn't worry about trying to lower her food to 0%. Some cats actually do better with a bit of carbs and I think most people feed in the 3-6% range. Feeding Low Carb vs Lower Carb Foods

If you can continue to monitor as you have, I'd be tempted to do an increase. It might just short term, but might also give her just that nudge she needs.
Ok I can start the increase tonight. I monitor enough and that isn't about to change anytime soon, so I am confident with it. Would you do 0.25 Wendy or just an eighth? I don’t know the rule for when some people try the eighth. I have calipers so I can do anything!

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
The increase you do can be balanced by carbs. So if you give her a little bit higher LC, you could go with a 0.25 unit increase. I don't where you've tried a smaller increase before, it might be worth an experiment to see how Pearl would handle it. It's very much ECID.
 
The increase you do can be balanced by carbs. So if you give her a little bit higher LC, you could go with a 0.25 unit increase. I don't where you've tried a smaller increase before, it might be worth an experiment to see how Pearl would handle it. It's very much ECID.
Thank you so much for your input. I think I will experiment with the eighth and see what happens. I have never had to go back up from a reduction before so I love having this option, to see if somewhere between the two doses is the best fit for her.
 
Good morning! Pearl doesn't seem to be her usual GREEN self on this dose. And I don't know what to do - do I have room for increase with some of her AM cycle NADIRs? It honestly looks like she is 2 different cats AM and PM cycles (so of course that makes me wonder whether she needs 2 different doses - I know this is crazy given Lantus, but I think I have heard of sometimes cats who need 2 different doses AM and PM?)

At any rate, do you think I have room for an increase? If patience at the current dose is what is needed, I can do that. Her patterns are just looking pretty wonky and I don't want to lose the good ground we have gained. Pearl doesn't usually go up into the blues. She isn't bouncing, she is just too high (she has minor Pred blips every 4th day, but I expect that. This post is about the unexpected blues not associated with her Pred).

I also don't know if we are in a Pancreatitis attack. I suspect not since her AM cycle BGs are still in the green but it's her PM cycles that are in the blue (usually Pancreatitis for Pearl puts both AM and PM in blue). However, she does have some symptoms and I am doing supportive care as if she is in an acute attack.

(PS I can't get rid of regularly feeding the 3% carb food right now - which is a higher carb FOR PEARL who is ultra sensitive, because she still isn't wanting to eat well and this is the only way I can get food into her right now). But I do recognize that this could be part of the reason her numbers are a bit high.

Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-30-pearl-pmps-96-2-75-90.245454/#post-2769764

Thank you so much!

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie

@Tina Marie and Jan
Hi Margaret. What is the 3% carb food that you feed Pearl? And what is the lower carb food that you feed her normally? I hope you get Pearl settled and I sincerely hope she does not have a pancreatitis flare!
 
Hi Margaret. What is the 3% carb food that you feed Pearl? And what is the lower carb food that you feed her normally? I hope you get Pearl settled and I sincerely hope she does not have a pancreatitis flare!
She eats Wellness Core Turkey and Duck (0%) or the Venison blend (3%). Note that these are both veeery LC, but she is ultra carb sensitive. Most cats will not be this sensitive and you won't need to discriminate between these small percents. Most cats will be ok on a LC under 7ish% and then a MC of around 14% for when needed. Pearl just uses the 3% as a bit higher than the LC and not as high as a MC - due to her severe sensitivity. Thank you I also hope no Pancreatitis flare!
 
Hi Margaret I was wondering how you came to calculate Wellness Core Turkey and Duck as 0% carb? If I look at the food chart most of us use as a reference, it comes up as 5%?
 
Hi Margaret I was wondering how you came to calculate Wellness Core Turkey and Duck as 0% carb? If I look at the food chart most of us use as a reference, it comes up as 5%?
Hi Christie, Susanne and Marje helped me with it. Apparently, there are a few mistakes on the chart, and the Wellness foods are some of them. THe Venison blend also comes up at 13% but it is only 3%.
 
Last edited:
I see, thanks for clarifying. I also had trouble with Whole Earth foods when they changed the formula, they ended up making it more carbs, not less :rolleyes:
 
I see, thanks for clarifying. I also had trouble with Whole Earth foods when they changed the formula, they ended up making it more carbs, not less :rolleyes:
I cannot tell you how much it terrified me when I found out that the "MC" food I had been giving to stop Pearl's steep drops was really only 3% carbs. But thank God for that providential mistake, because Pearl is so ultra carb sensitive - I would have never figured it out without this miscalculation at first! Yes I think Wellness changed the formula thats what happened.
 
Last edited:
Margaret - thank you!
Pearl is beautiful :) we have several Siamese babies, too. Is she a blue point?
Please create a post if you can't find the spreadsheet so someone can help you out (I can never find it).

Pearl is lilac point! I had never seen one before her. I knew her before she was born (in my friend's garage), so watched her points come in and everything as a baby.
 
Back
Top