3/31 Morris AMPS 281; +9 448; PMPS 468 - gave dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Active Member
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10631

So, do you think this is still bounce??? Yesterday, Sienne was thinking that his last bounce had cleared & he was having a new bounce! I asked last night how we should fix this (I assume another dosecrease up) & when I should consider doing this (he has had a few dosecreases lately.....is there a 'rule' for how many and/or how often to increase?). I also asked a few days ago, I also asked how often I should be testing for ketones (my vet had said I didn't need to do that anymore, but it was suggested to me here last week that I should still be doing this).

Morris had a great time at Shadow's party last night! Thanks again Pat for allowing all the kitties over! He even brought home some of that nice Florida sun with him!!!! After 2 days of dark/dreary rain, we are having a beautiful sunny start to the day here in BC!!!

WCR: Seems to be 1 happy & content little kittie these days! We had an almost tragic accident last night....Morris managed to 'escape' unnoticed outside as I put the trash out!!! He was outside for about 15 mins or so until we noticed. Thankfully, he had not wandered off too far & came running back inside the house when we called his name.
 
Re: 3/31 Morris AMPS 281; +9 448 - bouncing again

Gwen & Morris said:
is there a 'rule' for how many and/or how often to increase?). I also asked a few days ago, I also asked how often I should be testing for ketones (my vet had said I didn't need to do that anymore, but it was suggested to me here last week that I should still be doing this).

My knee jerk response when I'm not sure of what to do, is to go back to the dosing protocol.

Tight Regulation Dosing Protocol said:
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

Generally, you can increase in 3 days unless there are some blues or greens popping up and then you want to hold the dose longer (5 - 7 days). If numbers are in the pinks and reds, I'd test for ketones weekly as a precaution.
 
Re: 3/31 Morris AMPS 281; +9 448 - bouncing again

Thanks Sienne! I have reread the protocol & found this:

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

I think I will try another 0.25u dosecrease starting this evening & see what happens. I have to work tomorrow, but then will be home for a nice 4 day long weekend!!!! I will be able to monitor him better on those days (plus, it usually takes a few doses before his numbers start moving).
 
OK....I went ahead & gave Morris another dosecrease this evening....perhaps this will be the right dose for him?!?!?!

I am feeling extremely frustrated this evening. I had rather unpleasant news from my doctor today about my shoulder (although I had expected the news) & everything is just bothering me more than usual today. Since I don't expect to see any great changes in Morris' numbers right away, I think I am going to take 1 of my heavy-duty sleeping pills, head to bed early & cry myself to sleep.

Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day. :YMSIGH:
 
((((Gwen)))) Sleep always helps. I hope things seem better tomorrow.

Good luck with the dosecrease. Maybe it will bring Morris his breakthrough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top