3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86 +2 199 +6 261 +9 323 dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86

Goodness gracious! Went ahead and fed -- will re-test in .5 hr and shoot normal dose if >100. Have been working towards getting our test time to 9:00 or after anyhow -- KiKi must have known that :lol: Such a good boy!
Or do I need to wait 1 hour after he's eatten?
 
Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86<--ADVICE?

Donna:

If you are stalling, you don't feed. Otherwise, what you will be interpreting as a rising number may be a food spike.

You shot a 90 at a higher dose. If you have strips and HC in the house, you can shoot whenever you are ready.
 
Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86<--ADVICE?

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you are stalling, you don't feed. Otherwise, what you will be interpreting as a rising number may be a food spike.
I was going by Table 3A:
If blood glucose at the time of the next insulin injection 50-100
mg/dl

b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose
concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the
normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not
increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU
or 0.5 IU (as above).

That's the only reason I fed him. Figured we tried option A. already and since I wanted to delay shot anywho . . . nailbite_smile
But then while he was eatting -- I thought about food spike also -- so then I was confused. but it was too late :oops:

Shot the full dose 1 hour late. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86<--ADVICE?

That may work if you don't mind your schedule being shot to wherever. Generally, what we advise is a variation on this. The options are:
  • Stall for 15 -20 min and don't feed. Re-test. Repeat this process until you get a clear surf in a shootable range or the numbers are rising.
  • Shoot a reduced, big chicken sh*t (BCS) dose.
  • Skip the shot.
What you want to try to avoid is stalling for a long(ish) time and shooting a reduced dose. It has double the effect on the shed. Each of these options has it's pros and cons.
 
The delayed option I chose certainly didn't do us any good :evil:
+9 and we are already @ 323 and he's hungry, so fed more.
Here is my question -- if >300 @ +11 would it be ok to shoot one hour early ? since that would have been the original time (had I not delayed PM shot) ?
The one hour isn't that important -- my goal is to get the numbers back down now nailbite_smile
 
You could shoot early. However, will you be around to monitor? In looking at Kiki's SS, she comes down from a bounce pretty quickly. Remember, an early shot is like a dose reduction. Unless you are able to get a +2 and will be around to test, I wouldn't move the time by more than 30 min. at once and shooting 15 min. early each cycle may be a better option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top