3/31 Jackson AMPS 290 +3 271 +6 350 PMPS 395 +2 385 +3.5 319

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-329-4-287-6-304-pmps-358-3-312-6-213.275885/

So……. with an overnight nadir of ~100, I guess no increase?

But I wonder why, after a whole week of pinks and higher yellows, he suddenly came down to the bottom of blues. And I believe that reading on the graph to be as least close to accurate, because while he dropped to the nadir fairly quickly (from 171 at PM+7 to ~100 on the graph at +8), the slope back up over the next three hours was much more gradual, not a sudden jump. He hung out in solid blue for over 3 hours. (Though of course the bounce really hit this past hour... :rolleyes:)

Why did the dose so suddenly start working? I mean, I’m glad, just… why now? I’m confused.

Hopefully his recent bounce pattern of not-too-long will kick in and nudge him back down to lower yellows and even blues again…
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-329-4-287-6-304-pmps-358-3-312-6-213.275885/

So……. with an overnight nadir of ~100, I guess no increase?

But I wonder why, after a whole week of pinks and higher yellows, he suddenly came down to the bottom of blues. And I believe that reading on the graph to be as least close to accurate, because while he dropped to the nadir fairly quickly (from 171 at PM+7 to ~100 on the graph at +8), the slope back up over the next three hours was much more gradual, not a sudden jump. He hung out in solid blue for over 3 hours. (Though of course the bounce really hit this past hour... :rolleyes:)

Why did the dose so suddenly start working? I mean, I’m glad, just… why now? I’m confused.

Hopefully his recent bounce pattern of not-too-long will kick in and nudge him back down to lower yellows and even blues again…

He's getting used to the lower numbers. I would hold the dose, unless a more experienced member thinks otherwise.

Nice AMPS though!!
 
Spoke too soon, heh. +6 of 350. But… last night and this morning still hopeful.

As they get used to lower numbers, they'll still climb midway and towards the end of the cycle.

This is when you can start noting feeding times to see if they need adjusting. That comment is based on my experience with both my previous diabetic cat and Sly. When you see certain patterns, you can use food to manipulate the curve. You're not decreasing the amount, just changing up how much and when from his alotted diet.

I see Jackson eats a similar diet to Sly. Try using more of the dry at the beginning of a cycle, and at insulin time, and then maybe periodically up to +6 (if that's when you notice he starts to rise).
 
My problem with his cycles so far (other than high) is that he hasn’t had a predictable pattern. He keeps having highs and lows at different points.

I will keep the food adjustment thing in mind if he does get predictable enough, although since I’m not home for long hours, up to now he’s been pretty much free fed on the dry. He kind of just nibbles periodically, not usually much at a time. The wet is given for his preshot meals and he eats more of that at one time.

Although giving him some carbs in his diet does seem to be helping. Since then is when we’ve actually seen actual curves in his cycles. And he does seem to be getting gradually better since then with shorter bounce times, even if he does still go high. I’m feeling some cautious hope.
 
Back
Top