3/31 FRED AM=326(.8);+2=400; 4=387;+8=419;PM=380 (1.0)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Active Member
Was prepared to shoot 1.0 but decided to shoot .8 when numbers were lower than expected. Will test throughout day as possible. He's moving around more. Still weak but legs are getting stronger. Giving Forti Flora 2-3 hrs after antibiotic. Appetite is good.

I'm afraid to hope, but the emergency vet said the "brain tumor" would cause more and more paralysis. Fred's getting stronger. Could the antibiotics be hitting an infection? Blood work won't be back from Unvir. Color. until later this week.

BTW, are spinal taps (even under anesthesia) painful for cats. He got one on Friday along with an MRI. Should he have gotten pain meds. I have some. Too late to give?
 
Re: 3/31 FRED AM=326(.8)

Glad he is doing better. We never know how much time we will have with our companions. Be in the 'now' and enjoy what you can.

I would hope they numbed or anesthetized him first. (My only reference is that when they did an epidural on me, they numbed me first; it was sore later, but not too bad)
 
Re: 3/31 FRED AM=326(.8);+2=400

Hi Kathy,

Basically, to create a sliding scale, you pick a pre-shot and a dose that worked well together - that got a nice cycle. Then, you assign varying doses to other pre-shot ranges. For example, what I do with Eddie (and this is always subject to tweaking) is shoot based on what his pre-shot is, so my current scale is: +175 and rising (1.8u), 200-250 (2.2u), 250-300 (2.4u), 300-350 (2.6u), 350+ (2.8u) - disclaimer - sliding scales are very individualized and should not be copied from one cat to the next.

I think when you first started posting, Sue and I had made some general suggestions regarding a sliding scale for Fred, but he has done pretty well on a flat dose since then. For now since Fred's sitting as high as he is, you may want to do 1.0 or maybe even nudging him up a bit from there, if he's not coming down mid-cycle, till he starts coming down into better numbers again.

I'm really glad to read that Fred seems to be doing better. We are sending more healing vines your way!
 
Re: 3/31 FRED AM=326(.8);+2=400; 4=387;+8=419

Is it time to start 1.0 unit?

Just a thought....Fred's teeth need scaling. Could bad teeth cause a serious infection unnoticed by blood work? University of Colorado report came back negative for infection, so the vet is calling this an "unknown infection", since he is slowly responding to the antibiotic. Other reports not in yet. Should I consult an Internist?
 
Decided to go wit 1.0u to see if we can get below those 400's in the cycle. He doesn't feel well, and these numbers aren't helping. Hope it works! nailbite_smile

Oh dear.....now he's stopped eating. I gave him his shot and the antibiotic pill, but he just looks a food and turns away like you would if you had the flu. This doesn't look good.

He felt well enough to take a little walk outside this afternoon. Maybe that was too much for him.
 
I was so sorry to read your earlier posts and hear Fred isn't doing well. He seems to have a lot going on and that always complicates the diabetes.

If he isn't eating, it may be the meds are making his tummy upset. Have you tried offering him food on your finger? Sometimes that works. Another thing sick kitties will sometimes eat is meat baby food. Beechnut is a good brand with no spices or onions.
 
Thanks for your encouraging suggestions. I finally got him to set about half what he normally eats. He's sleeping on my bed and I'm here reading to keep him company. I will try a little more food in about an hour so that he can get in his Forti Flora. He may have over-done his short outing today, but with warm temps, sunshine and birds singing, what cat would not want to try!!
 
Antibiotics are notorious for triggering stomach upset. Probiotics can be helpful in correcting that; they are given at least 2 hours after the antibiotic so they can work. Examples include Forti Flora, Intelliflora, and 1-2 teaspoons of plain yogurt with active culture (if the can is not dairy sensitive)
 
he'a just finishing his Forti Flora snack!! so glad you suggested it yesterday. they may extend his antiobiotics so I got an extra supply of FFlora. scares me when he doesn't eat, but he seems to like this stuff.
 
Its beneficial microbes in animal digest. And many cats love it, so it really helps with post-antibiotic GI upset.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top